Skip to main content
Selected Data Sources
Data sources marked with * are limited to UCB access only.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce). U.S. Economics Accounts data.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S. Department of Labor). Includes data on inflation, productivity, (un)employment, and pay.
- Data.gov - Agriculture. Features data and statistics related to agricultural production, food security, rural development, nutrition, natural resources, and regional food systems.
- National Agricultural Statistics Service (USDA). NASS conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Included is the Census of Agriculture: uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States. NASS statistics are available via Quick Stats, which enables searching by commodity for data going back to the 1800s.
- *Statistical Abstract of the United States. Summary statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States with data from a variety of federal agencies. Earlier editions back to 1878 are also available.
- *SHELDUS. county-level hazard and losses data for the U.S. including 18 different natural hazard events types such thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and tornados
- USA Trade Online. A dynamic data tool provided by the U.S. Census Bureau that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. Create a free account to use USA Trade Online.
- USDA Economics, Statistics, and Market Information System (ESMIS). Collaborative project between Albert R. Mann Library at Cornell University and several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, including Agricultural Marketing Service, Economic Research Service, and Foreign Agricultural Service. It contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets on U.S. and international agriculture and related topics.
- Center for International Earth Science Information Network. Provides data and other information to advance understanding of human interactions in the environment. See especially the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center
- Centre for PRTR Data. Includes PRTR (Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers; U.S. version is the Toxic Release Inventory) data from selected OECD countries.
- Economagic: Economic Time Series Data - U.S. and International data; over 400,000 data files with charts and Excel files.
- *EMIS - In-depth coverage of company analysis, industry research, economic reports, forecasts, market dailies, macroeconomic statistics, deals and financial reports for emerging market economies.
- Environmental Data Explorer (United Nations Environment Programme Data portal). Portal to a wealth of international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including freshwater, population, forests, emissions, climate, disasters, health and GDP.
- FAOStat. A source of economic data for all types of agriculture around the world. Includes trade, production, price, emissions, and more.
- FluxNet. Long term measurements of energy, water vapor, carbon dioxide, and energy from hundreds of micrometeorological tower sites located on 5 continents and representing many ecosystems.
- Global Agricultural Trade System (GATS). U.S. foreign agricultural trade data (from the USDA’s Foreign Agricultural Service), GATS includes international agricultural, fish, forest, and textile products trade statistics from 1989 to present.
- Global Runoff Data Centre (GRDC). World-wide repository of river discharge data and associated metadata.
- Global Yield Gap and Water Productivity Atlas. Estimates the difference between actual and potential yields as well as water productivity for major food crops worldwide.
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Socio-economic Centre. Baseline and scenario data related to population, economic development, technology and natural resources for use in climate impact assessments.
- International Energy Agency. Detailed international data on coal, electricity, natural gas, oil, renewables, carbon dioxide emissions from fuel combustion, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development,world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies.
- International Household Survey Network (IHSN). IHSN's Survey Catalog is a searchable list of surveys and censuses conducted in low- and middle-income countries.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences and provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. One study is the RICE Model (Regional Integrated model of Climate and the Economy), which examines alternative outcomes for emissions, climate change, and damages under different policy scenarios.
- *OECD iLibrary Statistics. Gateway to Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development’s analysis and data. You can browse data by theme or country, or by database or indicator. Includes statistics from the International Energy Agency.
- World Agricultural Outlook Board (USDA). The WAOB maintains the monthly World Agricultural Supply and Demand Estimates report. This website also contains a weekly weather and crop bulletin.
- World Bank Data. Worldwide data about development. Development Indicators, Climate Change Data, and much more.
- World Input-Output Database. Time series of national and world input-output tables, socio-economic accounts, and environmental accounts for 27 EU countries and 13 other major countries in the world.
- World Resources Institute. Data from WRI, a global research organization that works to sustain natural resources, focusing on six critical issues at the intersection of environment and development: climate, energy, food, forests, water, and cities and transport.
More Data Sources
A multidisciplinary selection of databases containing data and statistics.
Economics data resources compiled by Jim Church, UCB Librarian for Economics.
List of climate data resources maintained by UCB's Earth Sciences Library.
Health Statistics and Data
Great resource for national and international data; compiled by librarians in UCB's Public Health Library.
Guide to Data and Digital Scholarship
UCB Library Data Acquisition Program
Library Data Lab
The Data Lab in Doe Library offers support to UCB data users across all disciplines. Services include:
- Research assistance in locating, recommending, and acquiring numeric data.
- Statistical software support for such packages as R, Stata, SPSS, SAS, and Python.
- Workstations and laptops loaded with commonly used data analysis software.
The Earth Sciences & Map Library supports geographic information system (GIS) software and data services across all disciplines for the UC Berkeley campus. The library collects GIS data for areas around the world, with an emphasis on the San Francisco Bay Area and northern California.
Geospatial Innovation Facility (GIF)
Part of CNR, GIF provides leadership and training across a broad array of integrated mapping technologies with the goal of helping people better understand the changing world through the analysis and visualization of spatial data.
Training and consulting on data analysis software and methods, and access services for restricted use data.