Library Guides: Education: Statistical Sources &amp; Data: Home

Article Databases

Find statistical information by searching article databases.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include all levels of education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. [1966 - present]
Indexes books, journals, reports, proceedings, statistical data, tests, dissertations, audiovisual materials, and ERIC documents on education research and practice.
Education Source (formerly Education Full Text ) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text education research, including an international array of English-language periodicals, books, yearbooks, and more. (Education Index) [1929 - present]
Indexes articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere on all topics related to education.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES): Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Rich source of data including:

ChildStats.gov
Data Planet: browse by subject education
Data Tools from The Education Trust
Social Explorer
US Census: Education: includes information about School Enrollment, Educational Attainment, and School Districts

Educational Opportunity Project at Stanford University: Racial, socioeconomic, and gender disparities in academic performance and educational attainment are stubborn features of the U.S. educational system. From the Stanford Education Data Archive (SEDA).

California: Data and Statistics (from the California Department of Education): with links to:

DataQuest: Facts about California schools and districts
Downloadable Data Files: data on schools, performance, student assessment, demographics and more
Financial Data
School performance

Ed-Data: from the California Department of Education, EdSource and the Fiscal Crisis Management Team (FCMAT)

Chronicle of Higher Education: Data
Faculty data, student data, compensation, etc.
National Science Foundation
Academic institution profiles and rankings
Integrated Post Secondary Education Data System (IPDS)
From the NCES. Gathers information from institutes of higher education that participate in the federal student financial aid programs. Includes data on enrollments, program completions, graduation rates, faculty and staff, finances, institutional prices, and student financial aid.
Table 315.20
Full-time faculty in degree-granting postsecondary institutions from the IES-NCES Digest of Education Statistics
Graduate Enrollment and Degrees
From Council of Graduate Schools. Includes data on graduate school enrollment, degrees, conferred, etc.

University of California: Quick Facts and Our Berkeley (From the Office of Planning and Analysis) | Diversity Data Dashboard (from the UCB Division of Equity & Inclusion) | About Berkeley: By the numbers | University of California System Information Center