Library Guides: Forestry: Articles

Top Research Databases

Use one or more of these databases to find articles, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials relevant to research in Forestry. CAB Abstracts, Agricultural & Environmental Science, and BIOSIS are good bets for Forestry topics.

Look for to link to the full text.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries. [1910 - present]
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/2023 due to library budget cuts. Covers topics including biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations to, plus some full text for, journal articles and books on a wide variety of environmental topics. [1888 - present]
Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine & freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, renewable energy sources, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Contains millions of records from over 2,500 U.S. and international titles, plus full text of over 1,100 journals and nearly 200 monographs.
Forestry Compendium This link opens in a new window
Reference work containing detailed datasheets on trees and forest pests, full-text of selected articles and reports, a multilingual glossary of forest terms, species distribution maps, and images.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Use these instructions to set up access to full-text via UCB subscriptions.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

Review and Tips from Bio 1B

Scientific Literature
Material from Bio 1B covering primary literature, literature reviews, peer review, etc.
What is Peer Review?
Peer Review in 3 Minutes (Video)
Searching by topic
Material (from Bio 1B) on how to find articles on a topic. Includes choosing keywords, broadening a search (truncation, etc.), narrowing a search, and more.
Finding full text
Material from Bio 1B on finding the full text of articles.

Keeping Current

To help you stay current with published research, set up automated alerts by topic, author, citation, or journal using these tools:

Using Alerts
How to keep up with your favorite journals.
Citation, Journal, and Search Alerts in Web of Science, BIOSIS, CAB Abstracts
See tutorials under "Staying up to date"
Citation and Search Alerts in Scopus
Citation and Search Alerts in Google Scholar
Search Alerts in PubMed using MyNCBI
How to keep up with the scientific literature
Article from Science with some good tips

For items not available at UC Berkeley

UCB Faculty, Staff, and Students:

Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) Request books, articles, and other materials not available at UC Berkeley.

Non-UCB Borrowers:

See UCB Library's information on interlibrary lending and duplication services.

Recommend a Purchase:

Use this form to recommend purchases (books, etc.) or subscriptions.

Read journals on your tablet or smartphone

Browzine
Browzine allows you to browse scholarly journals available from the UC Berkeley Library or from open sources on your Android or iOS mobile device.
more...less...
-Access thousands of scholarly journals anywhere you have WiFi access.
-View complete issues of journals including the table of contents.
-Create a personal library of up to 64 favorite journals for easy access on your BrowZine interface.
-Be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published.
-Save articles on your mobile device to read later even when you are offline.
-Download BrowZine articles to Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services to help keep all of your information together in one place.

Secondary menu

Forestry: Articles

Top Research Databases

Review and Tips from Bio 1B

Keeping Current

For items not available at UC Berkeley

Read journals on your tablet or smartphone