Skip to main content

Forestry: Writing + Citing

A guide to research resources in Forestry

Citation Managers

Reference managers (also called citation managers or bibliographic management software) offer a way to save, organize and manage references. Many work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record.

New RefWorks / (Legacy RefWorks) 

  • RefWorks guide (mostly covers Legacy RefWorks)
  • Free to UC Berkeley users
  • Web-based: use at any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Google Docs (in New RefWorks)
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Mendeley

  • Mendeley guide
  • Free software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • Use your berkeley.edu email address and join the UCB Group for 100GB storage and other upgrades
  • Format bibliographies in Word or LibreOffice; export to BibTeX or use Overleaf for LaTeX integration
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references using Private Groups
  • Network with other researchers in your field and get notified of new and trending papers

Zotero

  • Zotero guide
  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage)
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

EndNote

  • EndNote guide
  • Discounted to UC Berkeley users
  • Desktop-based software (plus EndNote Web)
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users

Citing Your Sources

Forestry Terminology

Writing

The Library also has many books on scientific writing, the research process, and communicating science. Please ask if you would like help finding them!

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.