Skip to main content

Global Health Research: IB C195/ PH C117: Articles

Core Article Databases for IB C195 / PHC117

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, general interest journals, books, and reports. Allow Geography limit, scholarly/peer reviewed with terms.
Coverage:1865 - present

BIOSIS Previews
Search articles, papers, and books. Can Limit to: literature reviews and peer review.
Coverage:1926 - present

CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health
Covers biomedicine, nutrition and food safety, public health, and toxicology. Sources from 100+ countries.
Coverage:1910 - present.

Cochrane Library
Evidence-based effects, evaluations, systematic reviews and assessment for health care. Most content peer reviewed.
Coverage:1946 - present.

Embase
Primary biomedical resource for systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. Use Advanced Search for limit to systematic reviews. Biomedical coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research. Includes peer review.
Coverage:1946 - present.

Faculty of 1000
Highlights and reviews papers published in the biological sciences and medicine, based on recommendations of a faculty of selected leading researchers.

GIDEON
The epidemiology, treatment, and microbiology of infectious diseases. The Infectious Diseases module encompasses infectious diseases, countries, anti-infective drugs and vaccines. Microbiology module includes microbial taxa (Bacteria, Mycobacteria, Yeasts). Notes outline the status of specific infections within each country. Also images, graphs, interactive maps and linked references. GIDEON may be also used on mobile devices.

Google Scholar
Search scholarly literature across many disciplines. Reminder: change settings to UC Berkeley. (Guide: Google Scholar)

Incidence and Prevalence Database (IPD) Covers diseases, procedures, symptoms and other health issues for incidence, prevalence, morbidity, mortality, comorbidity, treated or diagnosed rates, costs, market size for drug development, and more. [1989-] Data is fully sourced and broken down by U.S. and international data. Statistical summaries include all prevalence and incidence data found in the IPD for a particular disease or procedure. (IPD)

Natural Medicines
Evidence-based information on complementary and alternative medicine. Includes food and supplements, health and wellness, medical conditions, brands and manufacturers, genomics and proteomics, and environmental and animal health, among others..
Coverage: dates vary.

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's premier database, indexes 4500+ journals in biology and biomedicine. Can Limit to: Systematic Reviews search limit, and peer review. (Guide: HTML | PDF).
Covers:1946 - present

Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences.

Web of Science
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, search footnotes and citations.
Coverage: 1900 - present

World Development Indicators (WDI)
Tables for population, labor and employment, education, health, energy, urbanization, national accounts, purchasing power, trade, government finance, monetary, balance of payments, external debt, investment risk, taxes, prices and exchange rates, transport and communication, and information and technology.  To access, click "Data from World DataBank"
Coverage Dates: 1960 - present. (210 countries).

Selected Databases

African Index Medicus
An international index to African health literature and information sources.

Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region
An international index to Eastern Mediterranean health literature and information sources using the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Index Medicus for the South-East Asian Region
A database of articles published in selected journals within the WHO South-East Asia Region.

IndMed
Citations for Indian journal articles related to biomedical research and health care. [1985 - present]

KoreaMed
Provides access to articles published in Korean medical, dental, nursing, nutrition, and veterinary journals.

Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information
An international index to Latin American and Caribbean health literature. Some full-text available.

SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online
Search for open access journal articles covering the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean, and South Africa. [dates vary] more...

Western Pacific Region Index Medicus
Citations of medical and health journals published in Member States of the WHO Western Pacific Region.

Find e-Journals

Search UC, E-Journal Titles A-Z
Example: search "Coral Reefs" - journals
Keeping current add RSS feeds, journal article alerts, email .
Citation Linker, search for articles when you have the author, titles, publication.

See also Full list of UC Berkeley Databases.

Use to find full text.
 
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.