Skip to main content

Law & Legal Studies Research Guide: Introduction

This guide provides a quick and easy access to the most use resources in Legal Studies.

Law and Legal Studies at UCB

Legal Studies focuses on the factors influencing the development of law and justice, including legal institutions and the legal process, from a social science perspective. The courses deal with a wide variety of subjects, including philosophy of law, American legal history, non-western legal traditions, politics and law, the criminal justice process, property law, and economic regulation.

The UC Berkeley Library maintains a research-level collection in legal studies to support not only the department's teaching programs, but many other disciplines, interdisciplinary programs, and professional schools.  Many of the Library's social science and humanities collections also inform legal studies research.  The Library also maintains a basic Law collection and relies on the Law Library to maintain the research-level Law collection.

The Legal Studies and Law collection (Library of Congress Call # range K-KZ) is housed in the Gardner (Main) Stacks.  The Reference Center and North Reading Room on the 2nd floor of Doe house reference collections in social sciences and government documents.  Several subject specialty libraries including Social Research, Public Health, Education & Psychology, Ethnic Studies, Institute for Governmental Studies, and Business also possess collections highly relevant to legal studies.

The Law Library maintains a research-level legal collection of primary and secondary materials related to the study and practice of law and has strict access and circulation policies for non-UCB Law students. UCB undergrads are welcome to use the collection for research purposes only

Access to the Law Library

The Law Library welcomes undergraduate students who wish to use the law library collection for research purposes only. In order to apply for an access pass, contact circadmin@law.berkeley.edu to explain your research needs using the law library collection.

Map of entrances to the Law Library building

Law

Researching the law involves discovering judicial cases, statutes and codes, executive orders, congressional hearings, legislative history, administrative regulations and much more.  Although many current resources are available for free online through government and other portals, the UCB Library provides databases and other tools which allow for more in-depth analysis and historical research.  Use the databases and other resources on this guide to discover the law and the societal (historical, political, cultural, etc) influences on the law's development.

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

Campus map of UCB Libraries

See also:

Connecting from Off Campus?

You can access UCB Library resources from off campus or via your laptop or other mobile device using one of two simple methods:

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Contact Jesse

Jesse Silva

Need help with research?  Have a question about the collection or the UC Berkeley Library?  Here are three ways to get in touch with me: 

Contact I-Wei

I-Wei Wang
Contact:
UC Berkeley School of Law Library
iwang@law.berkeley.edu
Website / Blog Page
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.