Library Guides: REU Guide to Library Resources: Finding Articles

Article Databases

Look for Get it at UC to link to full text.

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.

Use the PubMed link above to get to the version of PubMed that includes UCeLinks
To learn how to use PubMed most effectively, see the PubMed guide.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

We have many more databases available to us at UC Berkeley than those listed above. To find other databases that might be useful for your topic, see this list:

More Article Databases for Biosciences

BIOSIS Previews Exercise for June 12 class

Link to In-Class Exercise

UC Library Search

UC Library Search is the University of California's unified discovery and borrowing system.

Access it directly or from the Library homepage to find most UC books, articles, media, archival collections, and more.

See the UC Library Search User Guide and ask for research help 24/7 for more information.

Tips

Below are links to tutorials from an intro biology course at UCB (Bio 1B).

Searching by topic
Material from Bio 1B on how to find articles on a topic. Includes choosing keywords, broadening a search (truncation, etc.), narrowing a search, and more.
Finding full text
Material from Bio 1B on finding the full text of articles.

Secondary menu

REU Guide to Library Resources: Finding Articles

Article Databases

BIOSIS Previews Exercise for June 12 class

UC Library Search

Tips

What is Peer Review?