Skip to main content

Science Writing: NST 194: Articles

for NST

Peer Review?

 = a process by which a scholarly work (such as a paper or a research proposal) is checked by a group of experts in the same field to make sure it meets the necessary standards before it is published or accepted.

Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dicionary

Core Article Databases

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports.
Coverage:1865 - present

BIOSIS Previews
Citations for articles, papers, and books. Includes literature reviews and peer review limits.
Coverage:1926 - present

CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health
Covers biomedicine, nutrition and food safety, public health, and toxicology. Sources from 100+ countries.
Coverage:1910 - present.

Cochrane Library
Evidence-based effects, economic evaluations, systematic reviews and technology assessment for health care.
Coverage:1946 - present.

Embase
Primary biomedical resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. Use Advanced Search for limit to systematic reviews. Biomedical coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research. Includes peer review.
Coverage:1946 - present.

Google Scholar
Searches scholarly literature across many disciplines. A list of the journals and other sources included in Google Scholar has not been made publicly available. (Guide: Google Scholar)

PsycINFO
Articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Coverage: 1806 - current

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database. Includes Systematic Reviews search limit, and peer review.
Covers:1946 - present

PubMed Central (PMC)
Free full-text biomedical and life sciences literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Covers: dates vary | Full text

Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences.

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary. Indexes journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, search footnotes and citations.
Coverage: 1900 - present

Preprints

Different Models of Science communication.
ASAPbio.org

bioArxiv.org - search preprints of articles by subject, updated daily


ASAPbio.org

Find e-Journals

Search UC, E-Journal Titles A-Z
Example: search "Coral Reefs" - journals
Keeping current add RSS feeds, journal article alerts, email .
Citation Linker, search for articles when you have the author, titles, publication.

See also Full list of UC Berkeley Databases.

Use to find full text.
 
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.