Skip to main content

PH 270B: Toxicology I: General Article Databases

Start Here

To Find Journal Articles on any aspect of chemicals, substances, exposure, etc.:
  »Try PubMed or Embase or Scopus or SciFinder Scholar

For topics where there is not a lot of published scientific literature yet:
  »Try Newspaper OR Conference proceedings

Bold resources are listed below and links go to other pages.

How to Search for Literature More Effectively (Public Health Library)

Searching PubMed

PubMed for UCB

  • More than 26 million medical and health journal article citations back to the 1940s.
  • Links to full text via Getting Started with UC-eLinks
  • To search:
    • Use the MeSH Database to find MeSH terms and appropriate subheadings (e.g. adverse effects, chemically induced, epidemiology, pharmacology, therapeutic use, toxicity, etc.)
    • To find citations that don't have MeSH terms:
      • Type in the search box: chemical substance "NOT medline[sb]"
        e.g. (prozac OR zoloft) NOT medline[sb]
PubMed top searching tips:
  1. Combine terms with AND or OR
  2. Use Filters (eg, Ages, Article types, Languages, etc.)
  3. Search for your term as a word in the title or title or abstract (using Filters, Advanced Search, or Field Tags)
  4. Use MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), with subheadings
  5. Use the Similar articles link, once you find a set of relevant citations
  6. Try PubMed's Clinical Queries or Topic-Specific Queries
  7. Always keep in mind the question you are trying to answer when creating a search strategy and when reviewing the articles you find

 

My NCBI

My NCBI Sign In

  • Save your search strategy.
  • Set up a search alert, so that when new articles meet your search, you are notified.
  • Save selected articles and organize them into collections.
  • Set preferences, such as highlighting search terms and changing the results display to default to abstract view.
  • My NCBI Help

Multidisciplinary Databases

  • Embase
    NOTE: Access limited to UCB faculty, staff and students.
    • Primary resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine
    • Indexes over 7,600 journals, including over 2,000 not in Medline, from over 90 countries; also indexes conference abstracts from over 2,000 conferences.
    • Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research, including economic evaluations.
  • SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
    NOTE: Access limited to UC faculty, staff and students.
    • In order to access SciFinder Scholar, users must register on the web.
    • Access SciFinder Scholar (once registered)
    • Search SciFinder for chemistry literature by topic, author, Registry Numbers, patent numbers from 1800s to the present. More than 38 million chemical substances may be searched by chemical name, chemical structure, Registry Numbers, and formula.
    • Some limits you might want to use are applied to the search results. In the Analysis tab, click on Categorize then click on different catagory headings. Pay special attention to Physical chemistry, Biology, Environmental chemistry, Biotechnology, Analytical chemistry.
    • Links to Get Cited and Get Citing are provided for retrieved articles.
  • Scopus
    NOTE: Access limited to UCB faculty, staff and students.
    • Contains over 50 million records in all subject areas with more than half the content originating from outside North America.
    • Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series. Cross searches over 25 million patents.
    • Links to References and Cited by are provided for retrieved articles. Cited by documents are available from 1996 forward.
  • Web of Science Core Collection
    NOTE: Access limited to UCB faculty, staff and students.
    • Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
    • Contains over 60 million records in all subject areas.
    • Links to cited articles and times cited are provided for retrieved articles.
    • Tips for searching Web of Science.

Search for Newspaper Articles

NOTE: Although not scholarly, newspapers can be useful for getting information on new, emerging topics.

  • Access World News
    NOTE: Access limited to UCB faculty, staff and students.
    • Full-text information from US and international news sources including regional newspapers.
  • San Francisco Chronicle (1985 to present)
    NOTE: Access limited to UCB faculty, staff and students.
  • New York Times (1980 to present)
    NOTE: Access limited to UCB faculty, staff and students.
  • Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
    NOTE: Access limited to UCB faculty, staff and students.
  • Wall Street Journal (1923-1998)
    NOTE: Access limited to UCB faculty, staff and students.

Proceedings

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.