Skip to main content

OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 257/258 Emergency Response and Preparedness: Journals & Publications

Journals

Searching PubMed or other databases is generally the best way to find journal articles on public health preparedness. Below, however, are listed some journals that focus on this topic

American Journal of Disaster Medicine (Abstracts only are available)

Disaster Medicine and Public Health Preparedness

Disaster Prevention and Management: An International Journal

Disasters, Published on behalf of the Overseas Development Institute

Homeland Security News Wire

Journal of Emergency Management (Abstracts only are available)

Journal of Emergency Nursing, from the Emergency Nurses Association.

Journal of Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Prehospital and Disaster Medicine, an official publication of the World Association for Disaster and Emergency Medicine

Databases

EM-DAT: The International Disaster Database: EM-DAT provides an objective basis for vulnerability assessment and rational decision-making in disaster situations. For example, it helps policymakers identify disaster types that are most common in a given country and have had significant historical impacts on specific human populations. In addition to providing information on the human impact of disasters, EM-DAT provides disaster-related economic damage estimates and disaster-specific international aid contributions.

Disaster Lit: the Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health: a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents freely available online. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience.

Homeland Security Digital Library: A collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Sources include, but are not limited to: Federal, state and local governments, international governments and institutions, nonprofit organizations and private sector entities, and think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities.

HazLib: The Natural Hazards Center Library's online catalog of their collection of hazards resources that focus on how society copes with natural hazards and catastrophic events. Our library houses a wide spectrum of information for both researchers and practitioners. The online catalog provides bibliographic access to the collection and direct access to hundreds of titles. In addition to this online service, for a fee, Library staff is available to conduct custom searches of the collection and answer other hazards-related questions. We are happy to guide your research or put you in touch with people or institutions that may have the answers you need.

Other Publications

Public Health Surveillance during a Disaster (US CDC): information on mortality and morbidity surveillance, examples of CDC activities, and more.

Public Health Systems Research to Strengthen Preparedness and Response, Oct. 2014 special supplement to Public Health Reports presenting the research generated by the PERRCs (Preparedness and Emergency Response Research Centers) demonstrating the value of public health research that collectively advances our thinking and understanding of how to improve our public health system’s preparedness for and response to disasters.

Verification Handbook: a resource for journalists and aid providers. It provides the tools, techniques and step-by-step guidelines for how to deal with user-generated content (eg, social media) during emergencies. The handbook provides actionable advice to facilitate disaster preparedness in newsrooms, and best practices for how to verify and use information, photos and videos provided by the crowd.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.