Library Guides: Plant and Microbial Biology: Get Started

Welcome!

See other pages in this guide for PMB-specific information on:

Getting connected

Connecting from Off Campus
Set up the VPN (pick the Library Access and Full Tunnel option) or add the proxy bookmarklet to your browser to access Library e-resources from off-campus.
On-campus Wifi
You will need to use the Eduroam wifi network to connect to Library e-resources while on campus.
Student Tech Support
Get help with your technology at several campus locations or via Zoom, phone, or email.
Student Technology Equity Program
Need-based loans of technology hardware to grad and undergrad students.
Software @ Berkeley
Campus licensed software

New and Exciting

News, Workshops, & Trainings

Course Reserves
Course reserves (access to required course texts via the library) is now provided digitally. Where possible, the Library acquires ebooks or scans textbooks and makes them available via controlled digital lending. Your instructors should provide links if your texts will be available online.
Calendar of Library Workshops
The Library offers drop-in workshops, particularly towards the beginning of each semester. Topics include Zotero, data analysis, GIS, and more.
Subscribe to Library Workshop Calendar

For workshops on software, data analysis, and programming languages such as R and Python, watch the D-Lab calendar or sign up for their email list.

Bay Area Open Science Group meets monthly and is a great community for learning about Open Science.

New Library Resources

Encyclopedia of Mycology This link opens in a new window
Broad treatment of mycology across subject areas, including medicine, food science, microbiology, plant science, and biotechnology.
Topics include clinical mycology, environmental mycology, fungal biotechnology, macroscopic fungi and mushrooms, and fungal biology.
Comprehensive Foodomics This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 150 articles relating to food quality and safety and their links to human health and nutrition.
Topics include: transcriptomics, proteomics, metabolomics, genomics, green foodomics, epigenetics and noncoding RNA, food safety, food bioactivity and health, food quality and traceability, data treatment and systems biology.
Encyclopedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology This link opens in a new window
Theory, background, and methods for the computational analysis of biological data.
Includes coverage of Systems Biology, phylogeny, translational bioinformatics, cheminformatics, and environmental informatics.
Ovid Medline This link opens in a new window
The Ovid interface to MEDLINE. Citations and abstracts for articles published in medicine, life sciences, public health, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology, genetics, and more. [Mid-19th century - present]
MEDLINE is the core content that makes up PubMed and is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Features provided by Ovid are advanced mapping, which analyzes users' natural language queries and suggests appropriate terms for searching, and a thesaurus which automatically suggests synonymous or related terms and allows for expanded searching.
Repbase This link opens in a new window
A database of prototypic sequences representing repetitive DNA from different eukaryotic species, together with analytical software.
Used in genome sequencing projects such as RepeatMasker or CENSOR as a reference collection for masking and annotation of repetitive DNA.

Secondary menu

Plant and Microbial Biology: Get Started

Welcome!

Getting connected

New and Exciting