Skip to main content

POLI SCI 124C: Ethics and Justice in International Affairs: Tools and Other Help

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.  Each one has its strengths and weaknesses, but any are easier than doing it by hand!

  1. Zotero: A free plug-in that works exclusively with the Firefox browser: keeps copies of what you find on the web, permits tagging, notation, full text searching of your library of resources, works with Word, and has a free web backup service.
  2. RefWorks - free for UC Berkeley users. It allows you to create your own database by importing references and using them for footnotes and bibliographies. Use the RefWorks New User Form to sign up.
  3. EndNote: may be purchased from UC Berkeley's Software Central.

It's always good to double check the formatting -- sometimes the software doesn't get it quite right.

Adding Citation Styles to Zotero

Although Zotero provides over 8000 styles in total, it only comes preloaded with about a dozen citation styles.  Its rather easy to download and install additional styles.  Search for the style by abbreviation or full name, such as APSA or American Political Science Association.  Hover your mouse over the citation style to see an example of the citation, then click on the link to begin the download and install process.

Writing Help

UC Berkeley offers several resources for students to obtain help writing a paper.  The Student Learning Center provides assistance with writing papers.  They also provide several Writing Worksheets which can help you plan and complete your writing projects.

Ask a Librarian 24/7 Chat

linked chat widget image

Research Advisory Service

Research Advisory Service for Cal Undergraduates

Book a 30-minute appointment with a librarian who will help refine and focus research inquiries, identify useful online and print sources, and develop search strategies for humanities and social sciences topics.

Schedule, view, edit or cancel your appointment online (CalNetID required)

Library Proxy

  • You no longer need to configure a browser to use the Library Proxy.
  • When you click on a resource link found in OskiCat, via "Start your search" on the Library home page, Databases A-Z or eJournals (UC eLinks), you will be prompted to authenticate. You may authenticate via CalNet, or via your PIN / Cal 1 card number.
  • When you click on a resource link found via a search engine or a non-UCB Library webpage, you will need to use a bookmarklet to access the licensed resource.

Contact Jesse

Jesse Silva

Need help with research?  Have a question about the collection or the UC Berkeley Library?  Here are three ways to get in touch with me: 

Additional Library Guides

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.