Skip to main content

Plant and Microbial Biology: Articles

A guide to research resources in Plant and Microbial Biology.

Top Research Databases

Use one or more of these databases to find articles, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials relevant to research in PMB. 

Top choice for most topics in PMB:

Other good choices:

And here's a friendly reminder:

Other Databases

In addition the Top Research Databases for PMB, at UCB you have access to many more databases that cover a variety of subject areas. The Library's list of Databases can help you find an appropriate database by subject or content type, or feel free to ask your librarian. 

Read journals on your tablet or smartphone

Start Your Search

Start Your Search isn't a substitute for specialized research databases. However, it is a great tool for interdisciplinary topics, new topics, or searches for which you want results beyond journal articles. It can also search the full text of many ebooks.

Find books, articles, news coverage, and more:

 

More on Start Your Search, including what is and isn't included.

Where's the PDF?

Once you've searched a database to find articles, use UC-eLinks to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a general rule is: when you see  (UC-eLinks icon), click on it to view your article access options, which can range from online full text, to a call number, to an Interlibrary Loan request:

UC e-Links image

For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.

Borrowing items not available at UC Berkeley

UCB Faculty, Staff, and Students:

UCB Faculty, Staff, and Grad Students only:

  • Research Library Cooperative Program (RLCP) Borrow directly from Stanford University and the University of Texas at Austin library collections. Items are generally received more quickly than going through IBS.
  • Expedited article request Need that article ASAP? Submit an expedited article request.
  • BAKER Delivery Service (fee-based) Request materials in the UC Berkeley library collection to be delivered to your office or e-mail address. BAKER will place hold, recall, search, and NRLF (storage) requests on your behalf, and, if authorized, will automatically refer qualifying requests to Interlibrary Borrowing Services.

Non-UCB Borrowers:

Keeping Current

To help you stay current, set up automated alerts by topic, author, citation, or journal using these tools:

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.