Skip to main content

EDUC: PLI Thesis Seminar: Find Books

This guide was created for the Principal Leadership Institute Thesis Seminar

http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/Principals

Library Catalogs

OskiCat: a catalog for most of the UC Berkeley libraries. Use it to:

  • Find books and other items in the Berkeley Libraries (also films, maps, archival materials, Berkeley dissertations, and more)
  • Search keywords (including author names, titles, subjects, etc.)
  • Limit by library location, date, language, publication format, etc.
  • See item availability
  • Find course reserve material (by course or instructor)
  • Save and email search results
  • View items checked up and renew items online
  • Request items checked out

Melvyl: locate materials at Berkeley and other campuses in the UC system.

  • Search for materials at all the UC libraries
    • Click REQUEST in the detailed view of a catalog record prompt you to fill out a form to request the item through our Interlibrary Loan office.
  • Automatically format citations for your bibliography
  • Export citations to EndNote or RefWorks
  • and more.

Interlibrary Borrowing

As a Berkeley student you are eligible to use books and articles from other libraries around the United States. 

Check OskiCat  to make sure UC Berkeley does not own the material you want.

Provide a full and accurate bibliographic citation, including author, title, place and date of publication, and series. You can get citations from professors, from Melvyl, from other articles, from Google scholar. Verify your citations before submitting them for ILL.

eBook collections

For more, consult the Finding eBooks at Berkeley guide.

 

The Library offers over 100 e-book and e-text collections in specific subject areas. 

Find Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) Full Text: indexes dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

UC Berkeley dissertations: Search OskiCat  by author. Also helpful to see dissertations written in your department which you can do by doing a subject search:

  • subject: university of california berkeley school of education dissertations

Recent UC Berkeley dissertations are freely available online to anone, anywhere with access to the internet.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.