Skip to main content

Public Policy Research Guide: Books+Articles

This guide is intended to be a starting point for public policy research.

Article Databases for Public Policy

Below are selected databases most useful in finding academic/scholarly articles for your topic.  For a more complete list of the article databases, see the full list of Public Policy Article Databases at UCB.

UC eLinks and Citation Linker

Sometimes the database you search doesn't link to the fulltext -- it only gives the citation. Click the UC e-links button to see if Berkeley has it online, and if not, it will check for a print version.  And if we don't have it at all, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.

What if there isn't a UC e-links button??? Sometimes you find an article in a bibliography, a book or a footnote -- and you want to see if we have it. The Citation Linker searches through our online databases to see if it's available fulltext. If not, it sets up a search for the paper journal in Melvyl. And if we don't have it at Berkeley, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Forward Citations

If an article is relevant to your topic, it can be very helpful to see who has cited it. There are several different ways to do this, and the results will overlap --  no single method is comprehensive.

Google Scholar provides forward citations for some articles. It has a broader range of documents included (not just peer reviewed journals, but reports, pre-prints, etc.) and doesn't eliminate self citation or de-duplicate the results.

ISI Web of Science contains the Social Science Citation Index which allows you to do a "Cited Reference" search. This shows other articles (from a prestigious list of peer reviewed journals) which have cited the target article, and it also shows the references for the the original article... both forward and backward citation.

Screenshot below on how to get to the Cited Reference Search from the Social Science Citation Index.

Start your search

Start your search here to find books, articles, and more:

 
 

Find Books, Journals, and More at UCB

Use OskiCat or Melvyl to Find books or Journal Titles (not articles) to see if UCB or UC has the journal. If UCB does not have it, you can request the book/article though the request feature in Melvyl.  Allow 1 week+ for the item not at UCB to be available for pickup.

 

Find eBooks

The Library offers over 100 e-book and e-text collections in specific subject areas. E-books in collections marked * are also available through OskiCat and Melvyl. You can limit your search in OskiCat to "Available online," and in Melvyl to "Online resources."

OskiCat's Request Button

No time to go hunting around the library stacks to find the books you need?  Use OskiCat's request feature.  Once you find the book you want, click (this button will only appear when an item can be requested). Authenticate yourself with CalNet, and follow the prompts.  OskiCat will ask you which campus library you want the book(s) delivered to.  You will get an email when the book(s) are ready to be picked up (usually within 1-3 days).

You can also use this button to:

  • Request materials from NRLF (takes 1-2 days)
  • Place holds on items that are checked out (takes approximately 2+ weeks)
  • Place a hold on an item that has the status "in-process" which means it is being cataloged (takes 2+ weeks)
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.