Skip to main content

Public Policy Research Guide: Grants and Funding

This guide is intended to be a starting point for public policy research.

Grants and Fundraising

This page is intended to help those new to securing funds for their projects locate and apply for potential grants and other funding sources.

Find Grants with Pivot (COS)

Doing a project in academia can be expensive.  Whether you are a new graduate student starting out or a seasoned professor designing a new project, locating funding sources for a project can be an intimidating process.  Pivot (formerly known as COS) is a database that can help you locate available funding for projects in all disciplines. 

The Library also provides a brief tutorial on using Pivot.

Grants.gov

The United States provides millions of dollars in grants.  Grants.gov is their portal to learn about and apply for grants.  Below is their news feed.

Loading

Foundation Directory

The Foundation Directory can help you research the kinds of projects a foundation has funded in the past.  You can also see how much money the grantor provided, as well as research the grantor's financial solvency though the mandated IRS disclosures (IRS Form 990).  Can also be used to locate potential grants for non-profit organizations.

Books on Grantwriting

The Library provides many books on grant writing.  The links below are subject headings in OskiCat and will provide you with access to books that can ensure your success in writing a grant.

Campus Resources

The Data Acquisition and Access Program provides funding for UC Berkeley faculty, students and staff who need data (numeric or textual) that requires purchase, licensing or is otherwise restricted.

The Berkeley Research Impact Initiative (BRII) provides funding to Berkeley authors (current faculty members, post-docs, graduate students, researchers) and publishers (Centers, Organized Research Units, and Departments) to make their publications free to all readers immediately upon publication

UC Berkeley's Sponsored Projects Office provides an array of services, including a list of funding resources and subscriptions to Pivot(See the Pivot box for more information on searching.)

UC Berkeley's Graduate Fellowships and Awards Office handles over 600 fellowship funds, each with unique criteria and terms for awarding.

UC Berkeley's Scholarship Connection provides a search engine to non Berkeley awards and grants, including some for graduate students.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.