Skip to main content
Try these tools:
Start Your Search: Great place to begin - searches across books and articles.
OskiCat: Print and online books and reports available through UC Berkeley.
Zoological Record: Find journal articles about animals. Good taxonomic searching capabilities.
If you want to read articles in a particular journal, try the Electronic Journal Finder.
If you already have a citation and need to find full text, try the Citation Linker.
For specialized databases beyond those listed on this page, see the lists of Databases by Type or Subject.
To access full text:
Endangered Species Web Resources
- IUCN Red List: International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources maintains the Red List, which summarizes the conservation status of threatened and endangered species worldwide.
Other Web Resources:
- AmphibiaWeb: inspired by worldwide amphibian declines, clearinghouse about amphibian conservation and biology. Part of the Digital Library Project at UC Berkeley.
- Animal Info: extensive accounts of present and historical conservation status of rare and endangered mammal species.
- CITES: Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, contains Convention text, official documents, species lists and member countries.
- Conservation Databases: UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre; includes species, protected areas, national bioversity profiles.
- Coral Reef Conservation Program: search for coral datasets and publications from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).
- Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority: see the list of online publications, workshop series, research publication series.
- NatureServe Explorer: information 65,000+ plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada, coverage for rare and endangered species.
- NOAA Habitat Conservation: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration site on protection and restoration efforts for coastal, marine, and riverine habitats.
- ReefBase: features a global coral reef database of 25,000+ coral reef – related publications, and an interactive mapping tool.
- US Fish & Wildlife Service Endangered Species Program: Endangered Species Act species information, laws and polices, and procedural information.
Bioscience and Natural Resources Library