Skip to main content
Nuclear Issues in India and Pakistan
Statements and Position Papers
- Indian Embassy's page on the nuclear tests, including speeches and interviews with government officials, and press releases.
- Journalists Against Nuclear Weapons
- Movement in India for Nuclear Disarmament, includes links to papers, speeches, position papers.
- Pakistan-India Peoples' Forum for Peace and Democracy, an anti-war group.
- Pakistani government site, including fact sheets and position papers.
- South Asia Citizens Web, an independent web site dedicated to non-secularism, discussion and democracy.
- South Asians Against Nukes, papers, statements and petitions against nuclearization in South Asia, as well as news coverage of the opposition to nuclear testing.
- United Nations resolutions and reports relating to South Asian nuclear issues, via the Global Policy Forum
- US Department of State's Bureau of South Asian Affairs, as well as India and Pakistaninformation.
Research and Analysis
- Association of Indian Progressive Study Groups at Columbia University has several position papers on nuclear issues
- Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, a center for India's nuclear research, near Bombay.
- Brookings Institution's India page
- Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, includes special collections of background information on nuclear proliferation in India and Pakistan, as well as statistics on India's nuclear forces
- Carnegie Endowment for Peace has a special South Asia section
- Center for Defence and International Security Studies, based at Lancaster University, United Kingdom, reports regularly on South Asia nuclear issues
- Center for Non-Proliferation Studies: the Indian & Pakistani Nuclear Tests has an excellent list of government, NGO, and media links on the tests and their history.
- Council for a Livable World, an alliance of arms control and disarmament organizations, has extensive reporting about the nuclear issues in South Asia
- Federation of American Scientists covers the history and politics of both India's andPakistan's nuclear programs.
- Global Beat: South Asian Security, an excellent list of resources for journalists and scholars, including background articles on the area, as well as a list with phone numbers and email addresses. Provided by the Global Reporting Network, a program of the Center for War, Peace, and the News Media at New York University's Department of Journalism and Mass Communication.
- Global Policy Forum, an non-profit organization with consultative status at the United Nations, has an index of UN documents on nuclear issues in South Asia
- Institute of Peace & Conflict Studies, an Indian think tank on security policy
- The Institute for Science and International Security has video, map and satellite images among other resources for India and Pakistan
- International Crisis Group's report, India/Pakistan Relations and Kashmir: Steps Toward Peace (2004)
- International law and India's nuclear tests is covered in American Society of International Law's India's Nuclear Tests by Frederic Kergis (1998)
- Seismic data (1998) from the Indian underground nuclear tests and the Pakistaini underground nuclear tests
- India-Pakistan Nuclear Central by the Nuclear Control Institute, brings together many resources, including maps of each country's nuclear infrastructure, includes a wide range of links to both government and independent sources
- Natural Resources Defense Counci gives an environmental perspective on The Consequences of Nuclear Conflict between India and Pakistan
- Nuclear South Asia: a collection of essays by Indian academics, politicians, journalists on the tests, hosted by the Asia Society.
- The Nuclear Weapons Archive, a guide to nuclear nations and their history, includes background materials on South Asia
- South Asia Papers, sponsored by the Nautilus Institute, to help facilitate dialogue and the exchange of research on South Asian nuclear issues.
- Stimston Institute's Regional Security in South Asia
Historical and Political Background
Related Information about Nuclear Proliferation