Skip to main content

Basic Print Reference Sources for South Asia: Bibliographies

Reference Sources for South Asia

South Asia (orthographic projection)

Authors' Note

For further references, please search your on-line catalogs or consult a librarian.

Contact Us

Adnan Malik
South Asia Curator
South/Southeast Asia Library
120 Doe Library
510-643-0849 x 1
email: amalik@library.berkeley.edu

General Bibliographies

Bhatia, Kanta. 
Reference sources on South Asia. 
Philadelphia, South Asia Regional Studies, University of Pennsylvania, [1974?]
NRLF (UCB) DS335.A12 B5; 
S/SE Asia DS335.A12 B5 REF;

Bibliography of Asian Studies.
[Ann Arbor, Mich.]: Association for Asian Studies, 1956-
Main Stack DS503.1.F3
S/SE Asia DS511.A12.B6

Published annually, the Bibliography of Asian Studies is a comprehensive list of books and articles written in Western languages about South, Southeast, and East Asia. Entries are arranged by subject with an author index. BAS appeared from stdin1956-1968 as the Sept. issue of the Journal of Asian Studies. It continues he Far Eastern Bibliography that was published from 1941 to 1955. The last printed issue of Bibliography of Asian Studies is 1991.  Bibliography of Asian Studies is continued by *Bibliography of Asian Studies Online*(UCB ONLY)

Library of Congress. Library of Congress Office, New Delhi.
Accessions List: South Asia

New Delhi: U.S. Library of Congress Office, 1981-
S/SE Asia Z3185.L52A

The Accessions List: South Asia is the definitive bibliography for titles published in South Asia. It began publication in 1981 and includes monographs and serials published in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Nepal, and Sri Lanka. Prior to 1981 most of the countries included had separate accessions lists, which are listed briefly below. On Gladis you may see two records for some of these titles because the titles changed slightly, but the call numbers and volume numbering did not change. TheSouth Asia Accessions List ceased publication in 1996 and is continued by South Asia Bibliographer listed below.

Accessions List: India.
Main Stacks Z3201.U54
published: 1(1962)-19(1980)

Accessions List: Pakistan.
S/SE Asia Z3191.U53
published: 1(1962)-19(1980)

Accessions List: Bangladesh.
S/SE Asia Z3191.U53.B1
published: 1(1972)-9(1980)

Accessions List: Afghanistan.
Main Stacks PN5449.A3
published: 1(1978)-2 (1979)

Accessions List: Nepal.
S/SE Asia Z3207.N4.U5
published: 1(1966)-15 (1980)

Accessions List: Ceylon.
Main Stacks Z3211.U5
published: 1(1967)-6 (1972)

Accessions List: Sri Lanka.
Main Stacks Z3211.U5
published: 8(1974)-14 (1980)

Accessions List: India. Quinquennial Serials Cumulation.
Main Stacks Z3201.U542
published: 1976-1980

Accessions List: South Asia. Serials Supplement.
Main Stacks Z3185 .L52b
published: 1981/83

Accessions List: Pakistan, Cumulative List of Serials.
S/SE Asia Z3191.U531
published: 1985

Nelson, David N., 1951- 
Bibliography of South Asia 

Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1994.
Main Stack DS335.A12 N45 1994; 
S/SE Asia DS335.A12 N45 1994 REF;

Picks up recently published titles and current subject. Includes indexes

Patterson, Maureen L. P. 
South Asian Civilizations : a Bibliographic Synthesis.
Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1981.
Doe Ref DS339.A12.P37 
S/SE Asia DS339.A12.P37 REF

South Asian Civilizations is one of the most complete and most useful of the South Asian bibliographies. This "bible" of sources on South Asia covers major Western language publications. The table of contents itself is invaluable as a chronology of South Asian political, cultural, and social history. Entries are arranged by time period and subject with an author/subject index.

Scholberg, Henry. 
Bibliography of South Asian bibliographies in the Ames Library of South Asia : with a special section on Southeast Asia 

[Minnesota? : s.n.,1970?]
S/SE Asia DS5.A12 S38 1970z REF

The South Asian bibliographer : a list of current publications compiled by
the Library of Congress Office, New Delhi
. New Delhi ; Thousand Oaks : Sage
Publications, c1998-
v. ; 24 cm.
Series title: South Asian bibliographer.
RELATED TITLES:
Continues: Library of Congress Office, New Delhi. Accessions list,
South Asia.
NRLF (UCB) Z3185 .S68

South Asia Library Group.
South Asian Bibliography: a Handbook and Guide.

Hassocks, Sussex : Harvester Press ; Atlantic Highlands, N.J.: Humanities Press, 1979
Main Stack DS335.A12.S625
S/SE Asia DS335.A12.S625 REF

South Asian Bibliography includes both bibliographies and bibliographical essays on South Asia reference sources.The first section deals with unpublished material such as manuscripts, archives, and unpublished theses. Printed material is treated is the three final sections; one on special formats; one divided by subject category; and one divided by region of treatment or publication.

Humanities Bibliographies

Social Science Bibliographies

[Bibliography of classified and unclassified United States government documents on South and Southeast Asia in the Defense Technical Information Center's database]. 
[Ft. Belvoir, Va. : The Center,1997]
S/SE Asia DS335.A12 B53 1997 REF

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.