Skip to main content

Teachnology Library Session for OOMPH Faculty: Presented by Michael Sholinbeck

cool library things you may want your students to know about

Welcome to the Public Health Library Teachnology Session!

guides.lib.berkeley.edu/Teachnology

What cool library things do you want your students to know about?

Explore some samples below.
(Note: All images are hyperlinked to the resource)

Finding Online Books / Finding Books in Libraries Near You

Online books
The Library licenses many online books, and we can sometimes add additional titles on request. (Please note that the licenses of some electronic books place a limit on the number of simultaneous users). Use OskiCat, the UCB Library catalog, to search for titles. In addition, the Public Health Library's Electronic Books web page lists several e-book collections.

Find books in a library near you
If a book is not available online, students can set up a search in Melvyl, the UC/worldwide library catalog, to find books in a library near their location. This one-minute video explains how.

Company / Industry Information

A huge amount of industry and company information is available from licensed and authoritative sources. From disaster relief, to drone manufacturing, to soda production: get current information on supply chains, major players, market shares, globalization, revenues, regulation, SWOT analyses, and much more. In addition, researching trade journals can provide insight on how industry works. (Are you interested in, for example, how beer is marketed to ethnic minorities?)

The UC Berkeley Business Library has an online guide to finding this kind of information.

Statistics and Data Visualization

The Library provides access to a vast number of statistical and data resources covering many topics; whether you want to download data files on home foreclosure or create a custom table of STD cases and rates by state, ethnicity, age, or gender.

The Library recently purchased access to Statista, which allows data on a myriad of topics to be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations.

Statista also includes "dossiers," comprehensive reports in PowerPoint format on over 1000 topics. Here's the 84-page dossier on asthma.

Health Statistics & Data Resources: the Public Health Library's new guide to finding statistics and data on a wide variety of health topics.

Online Newspapers / News Sources

The Library provides access to thousands of online newspapers and other news sources, from the very local to sources from all over the globe, and from general sources to those specializing in environment, health, ethnic groups, etc.

Use OskiCat, the UCB Library catalog, to search for titles. More information is available on the Public Health Library's Electronic Newspapers and News Sources web page.

<

Context: An Article is NOT Simply a PDF

What do you miss when you include only a link to an article PDF in your course site?

Look at this PDF: Rural urban differences of cardiovascular disease risk factors in adult Asian Indian (Das M, Pal S, Ghosh A. American Journal of Human Biology, 20(4):440-5; 2008).

It's nice to be able to read it online.... BUT:

... if you look at the PubMed record , you will notice this article has been retracted; this happened about 6 months after publication. Quick searches in Web of Science and in Scopus reveal that this article has been cited about 30 times (as of Oct. 2014), nearly all since its retraction.

What are the implications of continued citation of retracted articles?

Is Crime "Public Health"?

Topics relating to crime can be highly relevant in public health research. The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries (and sometimes full text) of criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse articles and other resources. One can search for citations, similar to other databases, or browse by topics.

Topics of interest include:

Information on grants/funding, conferences, and more are also available on the site.

Tests / Measurement / Scales / Surveys

Finding test instruments was, in the past, a tedious project: one needed to search print indexes, or hope that a journal article included the actual instrument. Now, the UC Berkeley Library licenses PsycTESTS, from the American Psychological Association: A full text repository of tests and measures as well as a rich source of structured information about the tests.

PsycTESTS record

Individual tests are assigned a DOI. Links to journal articles describing development, validation, or use of the test are included.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.