"CQ Press voting and elections collection" is proposed for cancellation due to budget reductions. The comment period is open through Friday, April 6. We invite you to submit comments via email to firstname.lastname@example.org or directly with your subject librarian.Find documents, data, authoritative analyses, chronology, and historical material related to specific elections (Congressional, presidential, and gubernatorial) and the electoral process in America. A data set of voting/election statistics is available for exporting/downloading.
Offers documents and data, authoritative analyses, background information and definitions, chronology, and historical material related to specific elections (Congressional,presidential, and gubernatorial) and the electoral process in America. A data set of voting/election statistics is available for exporting/downloading. Part of the CQ Electronic Library collection.
Offers a wide spectrum of animated and interactive visualizations of how Americans voted in elections over the past years. You can also find expert analysis and commentary videos that discuss some of the most interesting and significant trends in American political history.
Provides cinematic and interactive maps, and analysis, of the Presidential elections in the US from 1840-2004. Focuses on election data to the county level (rather than state). Allows users to compare elections as well as recognize the significance of individual elections by geographic region, political party, voter turnout, voter demographics, and more.
Provides tracking of the flow of money in politics at the federal level with some state information from 1980 to the present. Enables tracking of contributions from Political Action Committees (PACs), individual donors to politicians, elected officials, and party committees; follow soft money through 527 groups, and retrieve information on thousands of lobbyists, indexed by client and issue. (Congressional Quarterly)
Individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming.
Holding more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events.
ICPSR provides a wealth of data on numerous social science topics. Data can be downloaded into many statistical packages (R, Stata, SPSS, etc). You need to create a user/name and password using your berkeley.edu email address to download the data. Below are some of their election data sources.
Contains district level election data for 1961-65, data for the House of Representatives elections from 1952-1962, and presidential elections from 1952-1960. Also provides population and housing characteristics for each district.