Skip to main content

U.S. Foreign Relations and the Department of State: Country Specific and the National Archives

Overview of U.S. Foreign Relations and Declassified Documents from the Department of State.

Intro to the Records of the Department of State

There are a number of series that UCB has purchased from the National Archives collections of State Department records. (e.g. Despatches from United States consuls in Antung, Manchuria, China, 1904-1906). Titles to search in Oskicat include:

  • diplomatic instructions (as key word)
  • despatches from u.s. consul
  • records of the department of state relating to internal affairs of ...
  • records of the department of state relating to political relations between ...

There are also guides of these resources relating to areas of the world (not all have been updated recently, so be sure to check the catalogs for new acquisitions.)

Microfilm Records of the Department of State

The below pdf files list United States State Department records filmed from National Archives holdings in Washington, DC that are currently held in the Main and Bancroft Libraries. A general reel guide to these collections is shelved as J69 A57 1974 Doe Reference. Where available, call number and location of guides have been listed together with the call number for the microfilm. In addition, descriptive pamphlets of National Archives microfilms which are not presently available in the Library can be found under the call number CD3022.A2x DREF, arranged by the M or T number assigned to the microfilm.

National Archives Research

In doing research using government documents, you may find that the published record does not answer all your questions, and you may find you need internal documents to complete your project.  UC Berkeley has some of these, but not all.  The National Archives of the United States collects and makes available many of the internal documents and records produced through the work of the federal government.  While there are satellite offices throughout the country, most archive documents are only available in the Washington, DC area.  

Before considering a trip to a National Archives facility, do as much research as you can using the resources available through UC Berkeley's extensive holdings, including FRUS, microfilm records of the Department of State, declassified documents databases, etc.  You may find the information you need in one of our resources.

Should you decide to make a trip to the National Archives to research the State Department and foreign relations, review the following sources and the additional links they provide:

 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.