Skip to main content

U.S. Patent & Trademark Information: Patent and Trademark Sources

Gateway to beginning patent and trademark research at UC Berkeley.

Patent and Trademark Internet Sources

The following sources all for free searching of Patent and Trademark information.

  • Google Patent Search -- Access over 7 million patents from 1790-2006. Does not currently include patent applications, international patents, or U.S. patents issued over the last few months. Includes tips for advanced patent searching.
  • U.S. Patent and Trademark Office -- The PTO provides access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases. Coverage is from January 1, 1976 to the most recent weekly issue date. Full-page images date back to 1790. Hyperlinks are provided from the full-text document display to full-page images in G4 TIFF. Selected trademark information is also searchable.
  • Independent Inventor Resources Web Site -- Patent and Trademark Office. Washington, DC, United States
  • Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Patent -- 1994 to the present
  • Official Gazette -- Contains abstracts and diagrams of patents; also contains indexes by patentee and by classification for patents contained in each issue.  Only covers the previous year.
  • Trademark Official Gazette -- Contains abstracts and diagrams of official trademarks.  Only covers the previous year.
  • Index to the U.S. Patent Classification -- Gives the class and subclass number for each subject.
  • Manual of Classification -- Includes Classification Definitions by giving detailed definitions and illustrations of the kind of subject matter that can be found in each class and subclass, describing the lines of distinction among them and containing references to other classes and subclasses having related subject matter.

Print Resources (Mostly Historical)

  • Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Patents.(1994 to present)
    From 1836-1845 contains lists of patents issued; from 1846-1871 includes abstracts and drawings. 1836-1900 in Congressional Serial Set
    • T223 H2 MAIN [NRLF: 1841-1982/83 MAIN: 1993/94-1995/96, 1998/99].
    • News/Micro MICROFICHE 13487 (1986-1997)
    • From 1836-1845 contains lists of patents issued; from 1846-1871 includes abstracts and drawings. 1836-1900 in Congressional Serial Set
       
  • Finding List for United States Patent, Design, Trademark, Reissue, Label, Print, and Plant Patent Numbers.
    Gives the volume number of the Official Gazette in which a given patent number will be found for the years 1872-1993. Includes information on earlier patents.
    • T223 D7.R3 DREF 
  • Index of Trademarks issued from the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
    An annual list of trademark registrants.
    • T223 V2.A32 MAIN 1927-1991.
    • MICROFICHE 26605, 1995-
  • Index of patents issued from the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
    An annual index to patents by patentee and classification number. Earlier indexes are in the Annual Report of the Commissioner of Patents.
    • T223 D2 MAIN 1926-1990, 1991:2
    • MICROFICHE 27376 1991:1
  • Index to the U.S. Patent Classification.
    Gives the class and subclass number for each subject.
    • T223 F35 DREF
  • Manual of Classification.
    Includes Classification Definitions by giving detailed definitions and illustrations of the kind of subject matter that can be found in each class and subclass, describing the lines of distinction among them and containing references to other classes and subclasses having related subject matter.
    • T223 F35 DREF
  • Official Gazette: Patents.
    Contains abstracts and diagrams of patents and trademarks; also contains indexes by patentee and by classification for patents contained in each issue.
    • T223 A [at NRLF: v.1 (1872)-925(1974)]
    • Microfilm 2004 T Main [v.918 (1974)- 1162(May 1994)]
    • Microfiche 8305 Main [v.1066 (May 1986)-1274 (September 2003)]
    • Doe Reference T223.A23 compu/d [v.1261:1(Aug 6, 2002)-]
  • Specifications and Drawings of Patents.
    • T223 B MAIN NRLF. 1874-June 1911

 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.