Skip to Main Content

Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps: States of the U.S., N-W

Lists of online vegetation maps from website titled "Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps." These lists of links are no longer being actively maintained and are provided for archival purposes only.

States of the U.S., Nebraska - Wyoming

- Nebraska -- Agate Fossil Beds National Monument

Agate Fossil Beds National Monument  (USGS-NPS Vegetation Mapping Program)

- Nebraska -- Scotts Bluff National Monument

Scotts Bluff National Monument  (USGS-NPS Vegetation Mapping Program)

- Nevada

Land Classification Map of Parts of Eastern Cal. and Western Nev., 1877  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheets 47(B) & 47(D). Covers W 120�37’30”--W 119�15’/N 40�40’--N 38�55’)
Land Classification Map of Parts of N.E. California & N.W. Nevada, 1880  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 38(D). Covers W 120�37’30”--W 119�15’/N 41�30’--N 40�40’)
Nevada GAP Products
Nevada Rare Plant Atlas

- New England

Atlas of the Flora of New England  (Includes county-level distribution maps)
Invasive Plant Atlas of New England
Land-use History as Long-term, Broad-scale Disturbance: Regional Forest Dynamics in Central New England

- New Jersey

Location of the New Jersey Pinelands

- New Mexico

Economic Features of Parts of Southern Colorado and Northern New Mexico, 1877  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 70(A). Covers W 105�30'--W 104�07'30"/N 37�20'--N 36�30’)
Economic Features of Parts of South'n. Colorado and North'n. New Mexico, 1878  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 69(B). Covers W 106�52'30"--W 105�30'/N 37�20'--N 36�30’)
Economic Features, Part of Central New Mexico, 1877  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 77(B). Covers W 106�52'30"--W 105�30'/N 35�40'--N 34�50’)
New Mexico GAP Products
Land Classification Map of Part of Central New Mexico, 1879  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 78(A). Covers W 105�30'--W 104�07'30"/N 35�40'--N 34�50’)]
Land Classification Map of Part of Central New Mexico, 1876  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 69(D). Covers W 106�52'30"--W 105�30'/N 36�30'--N 35�40')
Land Classification Map of Part of Central New Mexico, 1878  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 77(D). Covers W 106�52'30"--W 105�30'/N 34�50'--N 34�)
Land Classification Map of Part of Central New Mexico, 1882  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 77. Covers W 108�15'--W 105�30'/N 35�40'--N 34�)
Land Classification Map of Part of North Central New Mexico, 1877  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 70(C). Covers W 105�30'--W 104�07'30"/N 36�30'--N 35�40')
Land Classification Map of Part of Southern New Mexico, 1879  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 84(B). Covers W 106�52'30'--W 105�30'/N 34�--N 33�10’)
Land Classification Map of Part of Southwestern New Mexico, 1881  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 84. Covers W 108�15'--W 105�30'/N 34�--N 33�20’)
Land Classification Map of Part of Southwestern New Mexico, 1881  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 84(C). Covers W 108�15'--W 106�52'30"/N 33�10'--N 32�20’)
New Mexico GAP Products
New Mexico State University Weed Information  (Includes weed distribution maps)

- New Mexico -- Jemez Mountain

Changes in Montane Grassland Area 1935-1981 Jemez Mountain, New Mexico

- New Mexico -- Sevilleta National Wildlife Refuge

Sevilleta Vegetation Map
Sevilleta Vegetation Map
Sevilleta Vegetation Map

- New York

New York GAP Products

- New York -- New York

Manhatta Map (Manhattan Island in 1609)

- New York -- New York Metropolitan Area

New York Metropolitan Flora Project / Brooklyn Botanic Garden  (Includes distribution maps of woody plants within counties)

- North Carolina

Vegetation and Anderson Level II Map Classes for Booker T. Washington National Monument

- Northwest

INVADERS Database System  (Exotic plant data including county-level distribution maps)
Northwest GAP Products

- Ohio

Algaeweb  (Includes county distribution maps for freshwater dinoflagellates)
Ohio Forest Cover from 1940 - 1994

- Oklahoma

Oklahoma Vascular Plants Database

- Oregon

Aquatic Vegetation : Blue Lake, Oregon
Common trees of the Pacific Northwest
Coquille Watershed Land Use and Land Cover
INVADERS Database System  (Exotic plant data including county-level distribution maps)
Landscape Conservation Networks : North American Fire Learning Network (The Nature Conservancy)  (Includes Bighorns Landscape, WY-MT; Jemez Mountains, NM; Middle Niobrara Nebraska Sandhills; Long Island Pine Barrens, NY; Shawangunk Ridge, NY-NJ-PA; Upper Deschutes Basin, OR)
Oregon GAP Products
Oregon : General Land Office Surveys Historical Vegetation Maps
Oregon Plant Atlas
Western Oregon Vegetation

- Pennsylvania

Landscape Conservation Networks : North American Fire Learning Network (The Nature Conservancy)  (Includes Bighorns Landscape, WY-MT; Jemez Mountains, NM; Middle Niobrara Nebraska Sandhills; Long Island Pine Barrens, NY; Shawangunk Ridge, NY-NJ-PA; Upper Deschutes Basin, OR)
Pennsylvania : Fort Necessity National Battlefield

- South Carolina

South Carolina Plant Atlas

- South Dakota

South Dakota Vegetation Map

- South Dakota -- Jewel Cave National Monument

Jewel Cave National Monument  (USGS-NPS Vegetation Mapping Program)

- South Dakota -- Mount Rushmore National Historic Site

Mount Rushmore National Historic Site  (USGS-NPS Vegetation Mapping Program)

- South Dakota -- Wind Cave National Park

Wind Cave National Park  (USGS-NPS Vegetation Mapping Program)

- Tennessee

Atlas of Tennessee Vascular Plants

- Texas

Coryphantha Homepage Distribution Maps by Reto F. Dicht
Diversity Map for Genus Helianthus [Sunflowers]
Vascular Plants Endemic to Texas
Vegetation Types of Texas

- Utah

Digital Atlas of the Vascular Plants of Utah
Hovenweep National Monument Vegetation
Land Classification Map of North-eastern Utah & South-eastern Idaho, 1878  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 41(B). Covers W 112�22’30"--W 111�/N 42�20’--N 41�30’)
National GAP Analysis Program
Parts of Southern Idaho & Northern Utah [Land Classification], 1880  (Shows timber areas; Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian (U.S.) Atlas sheet 41(A). Covers W 113�45’--W 112�22'30"/N 42�20’--N 41�30’)
Utah GAP Products
Vegetation classification
Vegetation, Natural Bridges National Monument

- Virginia

Vegetation and Anderson Level II Map Classes for Wilderness Battlefield and Chancellorsville Battlefield in Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park; Vegetation and Anderson Level II Map Classes for Spotsylvania Court House Battlefield in Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park; Vegetation and Anderson Level II Map Classes for Fredericksburg Battlefield and Stonewall Jackson Shrine in Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park; Distribution of Wetland Vegetation-map Classes in Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park
Digital Atlas of Virginia's Flora

- Washington

INVADERS Database System  (Exotic plant data including county-level distribution maps)
The Washington Gap Analysis Home Page  (Includes satellite images of Washington and King and Pierce counties, and maps of "Washington State Ecozones" and "Washington State Landcover")
Washington Washington Gap Analysis land cover data
Washington GAP Products

- West Virginia

West Virginia GAP Products

- Western

Biodiversity and Land-use History of the Palouse Bioregion
[Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem] Vegetation Cover Type (Derived from Landsat Thematic Mapper Imagery; Past Vegetation Patterns in Two Portions of the Targhee National Forest under the Influence of Wildfire (before 1950) and Logging (after 1950); Potential Hot Spots for Ecological Processes and Biodiversity also May be Strongly Correlated with Locations of Intense Human Land Use : Here, Primary Productivity (Estimated from NDVI-tranformed AVHRR data) is Compared with Human Population Density (1990 data)
Hovenweek National Monument Vegetation
Landscape Changes in the Southwestern United States: Techniques, Long-term Data Sets, and Trends; Modern Vegetation [and] Pleistocene Vegetation
Lower Portion of the Colorado River with Large Areas of Mesquite, Cottonwood and Willow Represented : Map Made from Information Collected during 1851 Sitgreaves Expedition
Map of the Sagebrush Steppe and the Great Basin Types (Adapted from Kuchler 1979)
The Mosaic of Prairie and Oak Forest in the So-called "Prairie Peninsula; Map of the Saltbush-Greasewood Vegetation Type; Ecoregional Boundary Dividing Forested Mountain Ranges and Intermontane Valleys, with Sagebrush Steppe, from Low-lying Plains, with Sagebrush Steppe along the Snake River Idaho; Generalized Global Pattern of Tropical/Subtropical Steppes
New Mexico Pinyon-Juniper Woodland Distribution; Distributions of Nine Common Juniper Species in the Southwestern United States
Point Distribution Mapping Datasets  (Berkeley Natural History Museum)
Western U.S. GAP Products

- Wisconsin

Orchids of Wisconsin
Early Vegetation of Wisconsin (1965)
Wisconsin Vascular Plants  (Includes county-level distribution maps. Wisconsin State Herbarium, University of Wisconsin, Madison)
Wisconsin Vegetation before 1850
Wisconsin Vegetation, 1850
Wisconsin Vegetation, 1990

- Wyoming

INVADERS Database System  (Exotic plant data including county-level distribution maps)
National Gap Analysis Program  (Biodiversity status of vegetation communities and vertebrates, land cover/land use)
Wyoming GAP Products

- Wyoming -- Devils Tower National Monument

Devils Tower National Monument  (USGS-NPS Vegetation Mapping Program)

- Wyoming -- Fort Laramie National Historic Site

Fort Laramie National Historic Site  (USGS-NPS Vegetation Mapping Program)

Index

World & Regional Maps

  • World
  • Eurasia
  • Indian Ocean
  • Latin America
  • Middle East
  • Southern Hemisphere

Africa

Asia

  • Asia
  • Asia by Region
  • Asia by Country

Europe

  • Europe
  • Europe by Country and Region

Central America

  • Central America
  • Central America by Country
  • West Indies

South America

  • South America
  • Amazon Basin
  • South America by Country and Region

North America

Pacific

Arctic (Polar Regions)

Guide History

Original title of website: Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps

Compiled by Claire Englander (1996-2013).  Founding co-compiler Philip Hoehn (1996-2009).   With thanks to Phyllis Bischof, Ed Colijn, Rheal Coupal, John Creaser, Larry Cruse, Joe Dalton, Hugh Eva, Vic Fazio, Xavier Font Castell, Steve Glenn, Lawrence Hislop, Robert Hoare, Michael Jennings, Stephen Killeffer, Brian Klinkenberg, Raino Lampinen, Andrew Lillie, David MacDevette, Philippe Mayaux, Justin Moat, Jim Moore, Tom Owens, Scott Sundberg, Thomas A. Stone, Urs-Beat Brändli, Rob Waller, Hugh D.Wilson and George Wooten.

Maps are no longer being added to or deleted from these lists - the lists are maintained in this guide for archival purposes only.

Broken Links

If you find a broken link, you can search for the link in the Wayback Machine to see if an archived copy of the web page exists. 

You can also report broken links via email.