Skip to main content

Using Aeon to Request Special Collections Materials: How to Request Bancroft Materials from the Library Catalog (OskiCat)

This guide provides an introduction to Aeon, the special collections registration and requesting tool.

How to Request Bancroft Materials from OskiCat

1. Search OskiCat to locate materials.

  • Please talk to a Reference Librarian or email us at bancref@library.berkeley.edu if you need help finding materials.

2.Look for the BANCROFT REQUEST link for the item on the right side of the screen.

 

3. Click on the BANCROFT REQUEST link to initiate your request in Aeon.

4. Log in to Aeon using your CalNet credentials (UC Berkeley Researchers) or your Aeon username and password (Non-UC Berkeley Researchers).

  • If you do not have an Aeon account, it's easy to sign up! Follow the steps in the Register section of this guide.

5. Review the information in the New Request form and make any necessary changes.

6. Make sure the Volume/Container field is complete (if applicable)

  • Please only include ONE container per request form. Items are paged individually so must each have their own request form. If you need to request multiple containers from the same collection, please use the Clone Request feature.

7. Add any notes to Library staff in the Notes for Library Staff box.

8. Choose whether you want to place the request now (Schedule Retrieval) or if you want to save the request for later (Keep for My Review).

9. Click "Submit Request" to confirm.

For Class Instructors

Interested in bringing your class to view Bancroft collections? 

Please contact our Information and Instruction Specialist to arrange materials for your visit. Do not submit your requests via Aeon.

More information about Classes at The Bancroft Library

Requesting Tips

What If There Is No "BANCROFT REQUEST" Link?

Collections which are unprocessed and unavailable cannot be requested. Please follow the link in the OskiCat record to complete the Notice of Interest in Unprocessed Collections form.

Materials from large archival collections must be requested from the finding aid. Follow the steps under How to Request Bancroft Materials from a Finding Aid (OAC)

Schedule Retrieval and Keep for Review

Select Schedule Retrieval if you know the date you will come to the Library to view the material.

Materials will be retrieved for you and placed on hold by the first day of your visit. Please make sure to arrive on your scheduled date of visit. If you do not visit the Library to view your requested items, they will be returned to the stacks or to the off-site storage facility. If you need to reschedule your visit, just let us know! Send an email to banccirc-library@berkeley.edu. 

Choose Keep for My Review if you do not know the date you will visit the Library. 

Your request will be saved, but the materials will not be retrieved. When you are ready to schedule your visit, you can update the request with the date. Please update your request in advance, if possible. See How to Use the Keep for Review Option (Save Requests for Later).

Aeon Help

Help! Who do I contact if I have a question about Aeon?

 

Please send an email to banc-aeon@berkeley.edu. Please note that emails sent to this address can only be answered during normal Library business hours, Monday-Friday between 10:00am - 5:00pm. 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.