Skip to main content

Environmental Design 169: American Cultural Landscapes: Getting Started

American Cultural Landscapes is a research and bibliographic guide to UC Berkeley resources for the study of the American cultural and built environment.

Getting organized

Below are guides to writing research papers, and style manuals that help you properly cite and organize your information sources.

Remember to start early. Allow time to recall books checked out or stored off-campus, and to borrow from other libraries' materials not here at UC Berkeley.

Citation managers

Managing bibliographic citations is a necessary and sometimes tedious aspect of written research. Use RefWorks, a web-based bibliographic management program to manage citations, format papers, and create bibliographies efficiently and quickly in a variety of styles. It allows you to download citation information directly from selected online databases into your own bibliographic database.

  • RefWorks  RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management service licensed by The Library for use by all current UCB faculty, staff and students. It allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from online databases, and use these references in writing papers and automatically formatting the paper and bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product, RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows, Mac, Unix, etc. Although it lacks the power of EndNote, its ease of use makes it attractive. RefWorks also serves as a complement to EndNote, since citations saved to RefWorks can later be exported to EndNote. To sign up for an individual account, use the RefWorks New User form.

Contact Information

Environmental Design Library
Contact:
210 Wurster Hall
University of California
Berkeley, CA 94720-6000
Website / Blog Page
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.