Skip to main content

Anthropology R5B: Reading and Composition: Basics

Basic Anthropology Resources

1. Search our library catalog to find historical books, published diaries, ebooks, or maps.

2. Collections of articles at Anthropology Plus, Academic Search Complete, and AnthroSource may also be helpful.

Tips for R5B Students in the Anthropology Library

Use the library catalog to search for books and eBooks in anthropology

  • If you find a book at another library or NRLF, “request” it for pickup at the Anthropology library desk; you’ll get an email when it’s ready.
  • EBooks can be downloaded from Springer, Project Muse, and Ebsco, or borrowed for 2 weeks from Ebrary.

Look for books on the library shelves:

  • When you locate a print book in the library, try looking for nearby books
  • See the reference books to find encyclopedias, handbooks, and more.
  • View the index to find relevant parts of the book quickly

Start with Anthropology Plus (in the library databases) for full-text articles.

  • Also try AnthroSource.
  • eHRAF and print or online encyclopedias are good for getting an overview of a culture.
  • The Social Sciences Citation Index and Sociological Abstracts may give you a broader picture.
  • Once you know the useful journals, keywords, or articles in your field, you can use Google Scholar to find ‘cited by’ articles.
  • You can get printed articles in newer journal issues not yet online.

Our NRLF storage facility has lots of older books, so start research early to request them be delivered to our library for you.

  • You can also find ~100 year old anthropology books on HathiTrust.

If you’re looking for ethnographic films, see Ethnographic Video Online and Kanopy in the library databases.

If you need more help, look at the library guides for related subjects, or email me (emmelhainz@berkeley.edu) to set up a research appointment. Do this early in your project so you’ll have time for reading and writing!

R5B Topics: Medical Anthropology

The Library subscribes to hundreds of databases that index content on a wide variety of subjects including Anthropology and Public Health (including articles on the subject of Medical Anthropology). This assignment requires that you plan, research, and write a final research paper using scholarly sources.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.