Skip to main content

Architecture 110: Social and Cultural Factors in Environmental Design: Research Sources

A strategic bibliographic guide for UC Berkeley students (in particular, students in Architecture 110/210 and Landscape Architecture 140) researching social, cultural, and psychological factors in environmental design.

Search Terms

Subject headings are helpful for researching topics on the social and cultural aspects of environmental design. Searches on broad subject headings will bring up related and more specific (narrower) search terms. Compiling a list of alternative terms and synonyms will facilitate searching for the most relevant material. Broader terms can also be used in conjunction with subheadings to limit the results of a search.

Architectural design 
Architectural practice 
Architecture and society 
Architecture 
 
Buildings 
Cities and towns 
City and town life 
City planning 
Design 
Dwellings 

Environment (Aesthetics) 
Environmental psychology 
Ethnicity 
Ethnoarchaeology 
Ethnology
Gardens 

Housing 
Human ecology 
Landscape architecture 
Landscape assessment 

Open spaces 
Parks 
Public spaces 

Space (architecture) 
Spatial behavior 
Streets 
Urban anthropology 
Urban landscape architecture

Narrow your searches with the addition of place names and/or some useful stock phrases, e.g., Architecture--Cross-cultural studies). Here is a selection of subject subheadings:

Bibliographies 
Case studies 
Citizen participation 
Cross-cultural studies 

Design and construction 
Designs and plans 
Details 
Economic aspects 
Environmental aspects
Evaluation 

Handbooks, manuals 
History 
Human factors 
Methodology 

Pictorial works 
Psychological aspects 
Research 
Social aspects 
Social life and customs

Finding Books

Consult the Guide to library catalogs for help choosing which UC library catalogs to use, and how to use them. If we don't own what you need, try the Interlibrary borrowing service - UCB Only.

Finding Journal Articles

Use journal and newspaper indexes and databases to discover articles on your topic. Some online databases include the full text of the articles you discover or the UC eLinks button imageicon which may lead you to the full text elsewhere. In many cases, however, you will need to locate the print journal in the Library's collections; search the Library's catalogs by the journal title in order to find the shelving location and call number for the journal. If we don't own what you need, try the Interlibrary borrowing service -UCB Only.

Find an article by citation:

Journal article indexes. The study of social and cultural factors in environmental design is highly multidisciplinary. See the following web guides for recommended indexes by discipline

Social and cultural aspects. The following periodical indexes are especially helpful in identifying articles on the social and cultural aspects of environmental design.

Finding News Articles

Local newspapers are vital sources of information on their communities. Increasingly, recent issues are available full text through the Web or other databases. Several databases have historical indexes and/or full text for newspapers. See News Databases for a comprehensive list of online news databases available to UC Berkeley students.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.