Skip to main content

Architecture Resources: Indexes, Abstracts, and Bibliographies

A research guide to UC Berkeley library and web resources, historical and contemporary. This guide also provides links to some full text resources.

Periodical Indexes

Use this list below of periodical indexes to locate articles on architecture, architectural history, construction, building technology, landscape architecture, interior design, and urban design and planning.  

Print Resources

  • Design & Applied Arts Index. Indexes 150+ journals covering design, including graphic design, interior design, illustration, architecture, environmental design, ergonomics, etc.

  • Ekistic index of periodicals. Published by Athens Technological Organization, Athens Center of Ekistics. Selectively reviews 700+ worldwide journals annually, and regularly indexes 100 in a classification scheme that focuses on human settlements. Search by author, broad subject category, or place. Especially good for human settlements, housing and architecture in developing countries

  • Environmental Design Research Association Conference Proceedings, Cumulative Index. Environmental Design Research Association. Washington, D.C. Indexes papers presented at their conferences.

  • International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and the Restoration of Cultural Property. Library. Subject index.

  • Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, index volumes I-XX, 1941-1961. Compiled by Shirley P. Branner. SAH, 1974. Comprehensive index to every article, book review, letter. Duplicates some coverage in Art Index and Avery Index. Back issues of JSAH are available full-text via JSTOR UCB Only

  • The New Craftsman index, an annotated chronology, subject and author index of Gustav Stickley's The Craftsman, 1901-1916. Compiled by Marilyn Fish. Lambertville, NJ: Arts and Crafts Quarterly Press, 1997. Indexes The Craftsman (EnvDesign Rare N1.C87), which is also indexed in a CD-ROM version available in the Environmental Design Library.

Bibliographies & Guides to the Literature

  • American Association of Architectural Bibliographers. Papers. New York: Garland, 1965-1979. 13 vols. Index to v.1-10 in v. 11. Garland Reference Library of the Humanities. Western architecture, mostly modern architects.
  • Architecture on screen: films and videos on architecture, landscape architecture, historic preservation, city and regional planning, compiled and edited by the Program for Art on Film. New York: G.K. Hall, 1993. 940 film and video titles, with emphasis on architectural history. Productions originated in thirty-six countries and produced between 1927-1992, with most released since 1980.
  • Architecture reading lists and course outlines, ed. by Georgia Bizios. Durhan, N.C.: Eno River Press, 1991- Survey of course outlines, syllabi and reading lists from graduate and undergraduate architecture programs of 28 universities.
  • Architecture series: bibliography (Vance bibliographies). Monticello, Ill.: Vance Bibliographies, 1 (June 1978)-2386 (Dec. 1990). Bibliographies on all aspects of architecture and of varying quality. Three self-indexes bound within series.
  • Arntzen, Etta and Robert Rainwater. Guide to the literature of art history. Chicago: American Library Association, 1980. Excellent introductory bibliography includes architectural history (chapter J, pages 193-234). Update due in 1999.
  • Art books: a basic bibliography of monographs on artists, editor, Wolfgang M. Freitag. 2nd ed. New York : Garland Pub., 1997. Garland reference library of the humanities; vol. 1264 Includes architects. Has selection of biographical dictionaries and author index.
  • Bibliotheque Forney. L'architecture dans les collections de periodiques de la Bibliotheque Forney, by Laure Lagardere. Paris: Mairie de Paris, Direction des affaires culturelles, Bibliotheque Forney, 1990. Detailed bibliography of complete collection of architecture, public works, building science and engineering, urbanism, and landscape periodical titles in the Bibliothèque Forney. Includes many titles unique to this rich, international (mostly French) collection. Details of dates, format, frequency, language, contents, indexes, and holdings are provided for each title. Chronological arrangement by decade for "revues anciennes," and broad subject arrangement for "revues contemporaines," divided into "francaise" and "étrangère." Chronological list, "tableau synoptique," and general index are also included.
  • British Architectural Library. Early imprints collection. Early printed books, 1478-1840: catalogue of the British Architectural Library Early Imprints Collection. Compiled by Nicholas Savage, et. al. London; New Jersey: Bowker-Saur, 1994-
  • Comolli, Angelo. Bibliografia storico-critica dell'architettura civile ed arti subalterne. Milano, Labor riproduzioni e documentazioni [1964-65] 4 vols. Facsimile of original ed. 1788-92. First bibliography on architecture and related arts. Serves as a history of architectural criticism., and "indexes" early architectural literature. Classified, annotated bibliography covering early historical and theoretical works. Classification scheme in beginning of vol. 1. Author and title indexes at end of vol. 2, 3, 4. Index of vol. 2 covers vol. 1-2.
  • CPL bibliography. Chicago, Council of Planning Librarians, 1979-95. Continues: CPL Exchange bibliography. 328 bibliographies on planning with some architecture and urban design. Cumulative index no 1-253, 1979-89 in no. 253; nos. 254-327, 1990-95 in no. 328. Incorporated into JPL, Journal of Planning Literature, August, 1996.
  • Cyberplaces: the internet guide for architects, engineers, contractors & facility mandagers, by Paul Doherty. Kingston, MA : R.S. Means, c2000
  • Ehresmann, Donald L. Architecture: a bibliographic guide to basic works, histories and handbooks. Littleton, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, Inc., 1984. General reference works on the history of architecture, arranged by period from ancient to present, including non-western and primitive. Also includes landscape architecture and "city design."
  • Goode, James M. Goode's bibliography: doctoral dissertations relating to American architectural history, 1897-1995. 2nd ed. Chicago: Society of Architectural Historians, 1995.
  • Harris, Eileen. British architectural books and writers, 1556-1785. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1990. Scholarly compilation of British architecture and building books, including complete bibliographic description and collation, location in any of 4 major architecture libraries in England and North America, and a critical essay on each title. Organized alphabetically by author, with a chronological index of titles and editions, and an index.
  • Information sources in architecture and construction, ed. by Valerie J. Nurcombe. 2nd ed. London; [New Providence] N.J.: Bowker-Saur, 1996. Guides to information sources (London, England). Comprehensive bibliographic guide to all aspects of sources on the practice of architecture and construction with British emphasis. Includes list of associations and organizations.
  • IRB-Literaturauslese. Bibliographies (in German) on architecture and architects.
  • Jones, Lois Swan. Art information and the internet: how to find it, how to use it. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1999. Also ebook.
  • Jones, Lois Swann. Art information: research methods and resources. 3rd ed. Dubuque, Iowa: Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., 1990. Chapter 21 covers resources for architecture research.
  • Journal of planning literature. Columbus, Ohio : Ohio State University Press, 1986-- . Each issue has 1-2 refereed literature reviews, several hundred abstracts of books, journal articles, research reports and government publications, and several hundred classified bibliography listings, plus 1-3 CPL Bibliography bibliographies, all on planning,urban design and architecture. Incorporated CPL Bibliographies (Council of Planning Librarians), August, 1996-
  • Russell, Terence. The built environment, a subject index 1800-1960. [Surrey, Engl.], Gregg, [distributed by Gower, Brookfield, Vt.] [1989]. 4v. Bibliographic survey of all aspects of the built environment. More than 70,000 entries, international in scope, but British emphasis. Includes books, conference proceedings, pamphlets, significant periodical titles.
  • Wayne, Kathryn. Architecture sourcebook: a guide to resources on the practice of architecture. Detroit: Omnigraphics, 1996. Design reference series; v. 2. The best guide to finding information on architectural practice and design, including building types, codes, HVAC, etc.
  • Wodehouse, Lawrence. Indigenous architecture worldwide: a guide to information sources. Detroit: Gale Research, 1980. Gale information guide library, Art and architecture information guide series; v. 12 Bibliography of vernacular architecture by continent and country.
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.