Skip to main content

Architecture Resources: More Resources

A research guide to UC Berkeley library and web resources, historical and contemporary. This guide also provides links to some full text resources.

Directories of Architectural Schools

Histories and Surveys--General

  • Ancient building technology / by G.R.H. Wright. Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2000- Series title:Technology and change in history v. 4-
  • Calendar of creative man / John Paxton and Sheila Fairfield. London : Macmillan, 1980, c1979. Well organized timeline from prehistory to 1970 with focus on visual and 3-dimensional arts. Notes by date events and major works in each discipline. Illus.
  • Clark, Roger H. Precedents in architecture. 2nd ed. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1996. Historical precedents and typologies. Pt. 1 analyzes 64 buildings, including illustrations, site plans, elevations; Pt. 2 "identifies and delineates formal archetypal patterns." Covers buildings from renaissance to mid-1970s.
  • Cowan, Henry J. Historical outline of architectural science. 2d ed. London : Applied Science Publishers, 1977. Series: Architectural science series. Well-illustrated overview of development of architectural forms, structures, technology and materials.
  • Elements of style: an practical encyclopedia of interior architectural details, from 1485 to the present... Rev. ed. New York: Simon and Schuster, c1996. Well-illustrated guide to the styles of British and American domestic architecture. Covers the development of individual features and details in both architecture and interior design.
  • Fletcher, Banister, Sir. Sir Banister Fletcher's a history of architecture. 20th ed. Ed. by Dan Cruickshank. Oxford; London; Boston: Architectural Press, 1996. Includes many plans and drawings. Classic history of architecture. Circulating copies of previous editions are available.
  • Gibberd, Vernon. Architecture source book. Secaucus, NJ: Wellfleet, 1988. Not a comprehensive survey of world architecture but places the buildings of this century in the context of Western cultural history. Does not include China, Japan, India, and South America.
  • Gideon, Sigfried. Space, time and architecture; the growth of a new tradition. 5th ed. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1967. Classic work. Circulating copies available.
  • Great ages of world architecture. New York: Braziller, 1961-1974. 12 vols.
    • For individual titles within this series, perform a series search for Great Ages of World Architecture.
  • History of world architecture. New York: Abrams, 1971-86. 14 Vols. Beautifully illustrated series; each volume by an expert in the field.
    • For individual titles within this series, perform a series search for History of World Architecture.
  • Kostof, Spiro. History of architecture: settings and rituals. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. Contextual approach to worldwide architecture and environmental design.
  • Living architecture. New York: Grosset & Dunlop, 1964-71. 14 Vols.
    • For invidual titles within this series, perform a series search for Living Architecture.
  • Millon, Henry A. Key monuments of the history of architecture. New York, Abrams, 1965. Pictorial survey of major monuments from prehistory to the twentieth century. Includes plans.
  • Pelican history of art. Ed. by Nikolaus Pevsner. Baltimore, Penguin Books, 1953--. Approximately 20 volumes of this standard on-going art historical set are devoted to architecture. (Art and architecture of China, for example.)
    • For additional titles perform a series search for Pelican History of Art.
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus. History of building types. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1976. Standard source for historical information on building types. Includes chapters on libraries, hospitals, museums, prisons, warehouses and office buildings, etc. Brief bibliographies found at rear for each building type. Circulating copies available in the stacks.
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus. Outline of European architecture. Baltimore: Penguin Books, 1960. Western architecture from the end of the Roman Empire to the mid-twentieth century.
  • Pothorn, Herbert. Architectural styles: an historical guide to world design. New York: Facts on File, 1982. Brief illustrated articles ranging from antiquity to the present, including non-European. There is a section on architectural details and terms illustrated with drawings and plans.
  • Reid, Richard. Book of buildings: ancient, medieval, renaissance & modern architecture of north America & Europe. N.Y.: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1983. A "topographical guide" to major styles and key buildings in Europe and North America from ancient to the present day. Maps, glossary, illustrations.
  • Roth, Leland M. Understanding architecture: its elements, history, and meaning. 1st ed. N.Y.: Icon Editions, 1993.
  • Simpson, Frederick Moore. History of architectural development. London, New York: Longmans, Green 1954--1962. 4 vols. Library has: v.1-3; lack vol. 4. Standard work, scholarly and readable. Excellent line-drawings, and adequate bibliographies. Each volume has 24 plates, ground plans and footnote references. v.1 Ancient and classsical architecture by H. Plommer, 1956; v.2 Early Christian, byzantine and romanesque architecture, by C. Stewart, 1954; v.3 Gothic architecture, by C. Stewart, 1961; v.4 Renaissance architecture, by J.Q. Hughes and N. Lynton, 1962.
  • Sturgis, Russell. History of architecture. New York: Baker & Taylor 1906-1915. 4 vols. v.1 Antiquity, by Russell Sturgis; v.2 Romanesque & Oriental, by Russell Sturgis; v.3 Gothic in Italy, France and Northern Europe, by A.L. Frothingham; v.4 Gothic in Great Britain - Renaissance - modern architecture, by A.L. Frothingham.
  • Wilson chronology of the arts, by George Ochoa and Melinda Corey. New York : H.W. Wilson Co., 1998. Global timeline of events and works of art, including painting, sculpture, architecturee, literature and film, as well as decorative art and performance art. In chronological order, with index, list of birth and death dates, and bibliography.
  • World atlas of architecture, foreword by John Julius Norwich. New York: Portland House, 1988. English edition of Le Grand atlas de l'architecture mondiale created by Encyclopedia Universalis and derived from Mitchell Beazley's Great architecture of the world. Great concise pictorial survey.
  • Yarwood, Doreen. Chronology of western architecture. New York: Facts on File, 1987. Chronological guide to style in western architecture from the Bronze Age through 1986. Includes selected bibliography and glossary/index.

Histories & Surveys - United States

Library Catalogs & Special Collections

Building Codes--Handbooks and Manuals

Cost Estimating - Handbooks & Manuals

The following are basic guides to cost estimating in architecture/construction. Many of these guides include a section on cost fluctuations by region and major cities.

Technical Handbooks & Standards

Specifications, Trade, and Product Literature

See ENVI guide: Sustainable Design Resources

  • Meier, Hans W. Construction specifications handbook. 3rd ed. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 1983.
  • Reznikoff, S. C. Specifications for commercial interiors. Rev. ed. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1989. Guide to commercial specifications. Covers regulations, and the format and content of specifications.
  • Sourcebook for sustainable design : a guide to environmentally responsible building materials and processes, by Andrew St.John. Boston MA:Architects for Social Responsibility, [1992].
  • Sweets catalog file. New York: McGraw Hill. Published Annually. Library has current year only. Products for general building and renovation consists of "cut sheets" for building materials issued by various product manufacturers. Vol. 1 contains info on how to use; conversion tables; CSI format outline; list of firms included; and list of construction industry associations and organizations, with addresses and websites. Each volume contains an alphabetical products index and an index by name of firm. A Desktop index to the set provides an index to manufacturers, firms, products and trade names, plus key words and data filing format. Other series: Contract interiors; Industrial construction and renovation; Industrial construction & renovation. See also SweetSource, a CD-ROM database of product specifications, technical data and CAD drawings. Library has a few older volumes in storage.
  • Thomas Register of American manufacturers. New York, Thomas Pub. Co.Annual.

Illustration & Drawing Guides

Professional Practice

-

Content reviewed: . By Elizabeth Douthitt Byrne, Head, Environmental Design Library.

Pictorial Material

For a list of books that provide views, plans, sections, elevations, and details of buildings and landscapes, see the Enivornmental Design Library reference guides, Architecture & Landscape - Plans and Pictorial Sources and Researching UCB Buildings and Campus.

Additionally, the Environmental Design Archives, College of Environmental Design is an archive of original architectural drawings with its major focus on Bay Area architecture. The collection is available by appointment (510) 642-5124. The Bancroft Library and its U.C. Archives also have architectural drawings, which are included in the library catalogs.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.