Preprints and Article Databases
The following databases index preprints, articles, conference papers, technical data and reports. Click on the button to access the full text of the article.
ADS/Astrophysics Data System (NASA)
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, Observatory reports and newsletters, NASA reports, and dissertations from 4 databases including Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and Astrophysics Preprints.
arXiv (e-Print Archive)
Preprints for physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science and quantitative biology.
Web of Science
Indexes over 8,000 of the leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, providing searching of footnoted citations. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Creating Alerts
and Creating an RSS Feed
Indexes over 4,000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles; first click on "Scholar Preferences", search Library Links for "berkeley", and choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks." Some listings also include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item.
Find Electronic Journals
Find e-journals titles quickly by using our E-journals A-Z database.
To use library databases from off campus you have to set up the proxy server: this changes your browser settings.
- Different browsers [Firefox, Chrome, Safari...] have different instructions- they are all here.
- You can set it up on multiple devices
- You log in with your CalNet ID
- There's an alternative: the VPN