Title-level statistics for newspapers, consumer magazines, business publications and farm publications back to 2013 in excel; historical figures can be found in reports and snapshots going back in some cases to 2003.(Audit Bureau of Circulations) [2004 - present]
"Includes approximately 4,000 databases including the U.S. Federal Census images & indexes from 1790 to 1940; historical maps; vital statistic records, military records, immigration records, Federal Slave Narratives, and much more."
Ancestry Library Edition provides almost all of the document reproductions and functionality available in the personal-subscription Ancestry.com product. However, some Ancestry.com materials are absent from Ancestry Library Edition, including e-books from the Families and Local Histories Collection, city directories, and historical newspapers.
Arabic Literature of Africa Online (ALA) is a bio-bibliography on the Arabic manuscript tradition in the African continent, which continued well into the 20th century CE.
It offers authoritative information about African authors, the texts they wrote in Arabic, the manuscripts in which these texts are found, and the locations of these manuscripts, together with bibliographical references to the literature. Arabic Literature of Africa Online complements Brockelmann’s Geschichte der Arabischen Litteratur (GAL) and is an indispensable reference work for students of Islamic cultures in Africa and of Islamic manuscripts in general.
ReView,full text of arts journals and yearbooks from 1870s-1920s; Arts + Architecture Profiles, biographies on artists, architects; Design Abstracts Retrospective, abstracts of decorative, applied arts journals published 1900-1986.
The Bibliography of Slavic Linguistics Online brings together the details of substantial number of unique publications, carefully selected, classified, cross-referenced and indexed by professional bibliographers. [200+]
All contributing bibliographers are specialized Slavists themselves. The selection includes over thirty publication languages including publications in Finnish, Estonian, Greek, Albanian, Dutch, English, German, Japanese, Hebrew.
This collection comprises the National Negro Business League files in Part III of the Booker T. Washington Papers in the possession of the Library of Congress. (15,779 images) [1901-1928]
Booker T. Washington, founder of the National Negro Business League, believed that solutions to the problem of racial discrimination were primarily economic, and that bringing African Americans into the middle class was the key. In 1900, he established the League "to promote the commercial and financial development of the Negro," and headed it until his death.
Wide collection of publications and alert services that includes primary legal sources, analytical materials, business and government information and analysis. Specialty areas include corporate law & business; employee benefits; employment & labor law; environment, health & safety; health care; human resources; intellectual property; litigation; and tax & accounting. Each topical area (e.g. antitrust, environment) is also separately cataloged in the database list.
CINAHL is the primary database for nursing and allied health including topics such as addiction, aging, alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, mental health, psychology, and more. [1937-]
CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes articles, books, audiovisuals, standards of care, and more. Indexing over 5,000 journals from 1937 forward, it features PreCINAHL citations and cited references starting with 1985. Over 730 journals are available full text.
Note: our license is limited to one simultaneous user.
Compiles and presents scientific information on all aspects of global crop protection by integrating text, images, maps, and databases in an encyclopedic portal.
CPC contains thousands of datasheets on crop pests, diseases, weeds, invasive plants, and natural enemies. CPC also includes a glossary, full text of relevant articles and reports, and abstracts of many additional articles, conference papers, and reports.
The Derwent Innovations Index indexes patents of chemical, electrical and mechanical inventions. Users may search by topic, inventor, patent assignee, patent number, classification codes, & by chemical compounds.[1963-present]
"eLS features over 5,000 commissioned, peer-reviewed, citable articles, written by leaders in the life sciences.
eLS is updated by approximately 400 articles per year, with new articles publishing on a monthly basis."(ELS: Citable Reviews)
In-depth, comparative coverage of empires throughout human history and around the world. Covers ancient, medieval and modern periods, European and non-European experiences.
"Features articles written by international and interdisciplinary scholars about world empires, including individual empires from the Assyrians of the ancient Near East to the Zapotecs of pre-Columbian Mesoamerica; from the Asante Kingdom of West Africa to the Dutch East Indian.
Subjects covered include history, geography, literature, architecture, urban planning, gender studies, linguistics, and anthropology. Articles include bibliographies, illustrations and maps"
Funding sources for non-profits -- timely, comprehensive information on grant providers. Includes U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and public charities, plus a growing number of non-U.S. sources.
Also includes a keyword-searchable database of recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
Use Geofacets to search hundreds of thousands of geologic maps extracted from peer-reviewed publications in an interactive map-based interface. Maps are geo-referenced and easy to integrate into ArcGIS, Google Earth and other programs.
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry. [1927-1968]
"The Production Code was written in 1929 by Martin J. Quigley, an influential editor and publisher of motion picture trade periodicals, and Reverend Daniel A. Lord, a Jesuit advisor to Hollywood filmmakers. Officially accepted in 1930 by the Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America (MPPDA), the precursor organization to the MPAA, the Production Code presented guidelines governing American movie production. The five hundred titles selected were chosen by the staff of the library’s Special Collections Department, with advice from film historian Leonard J. Leff.
Source Library: Margaret Herrick Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Beverly Hills, California. "
Over 1000 alternative press titles focusing on the 60s, 70s and 80s. Includes publications by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more. [1960 - 2000]
A comprehensive encyclopedia covering the biocultural perspective and diverse human sexual behavior and belief systems.
Features articles written by international scholars and practitioners with information in the broad subject areas of archaeology, psychology, gender, history, linguistics. Other content areas included are clinical perspectives, erotica and pornography, history of sexology, sexual orientations and identities, body modification, and socio-cultural aspects of sexuality across the life-cycle. Articles include bibliographies.
Features articles written by global scholars on ground-breaking subjects related to Language and Social Interaction work developing globally and across subjects.
Multi-disciplinary articles covering the subject of language and social interaction, linking communication studies, linguistics and discourse studies, psychology, sociology, and business scholars. Articles include bibliographies.
In-depth, scholarly articles presenting theory, empirical research, and academic and professional discourse on the key issues of political communication.
Features articles written by international experts in their field. Topics within the broad subjects of political science, sociology, psychology, and communication are covered. Also includes articles covering democracy and democratization, election campaigns, media and journalism, strategic communication, political attitudes, political communication theory and philosophy, and research methods. Articles include bibliographies.
Searchable full text database of 25 newspapers written and produced by Japanese Americans interned during World War II.
"Although subject to censorship the newspapers document the day to day life of the internees. Titles includes: Rohwer Outpost, Poston Chronicle, Gila News Courier, Tulean Dispatch, Granada Pioneer, Minndoka Irrigator, Topaz Times, Manzanar Free Press, Denson Tribune, and Heart Mountain Sentinel. (1942-1945)"
Complete Digital Archive of the renowned Russian journal LEF (Left Front of the Arts) published in the early 20th Century contains rare works of avant-garde writers, photographers, critics and designers in the turbulent era of the first Soviet art. [1923-1925]
"History of LEF
In the wake of the Russian Revolution, the group “Left Front of the Arts” (“Левый фронт искусств”, “Levyi Front Iskusstv”) was formed in Moscow, bringing together creative people of the era -- avant-garde poets, writers, photographers, and filmmakers, including
Vladimir Mayakovsky, Osip Brik, and others. The group’s philosophy was to re-examine the ideology of so-called leftist art, abandon individualism, and increase art’s role in building communism. The group considered itself as the only representative of revolutionary art."
Includes newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, personal correspondence and more related to LGBTQ communities around the world. Topics include the gay rights, lesbian activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more (Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity) [1940-present]
Resource is freely available and requires registration for a username to access. Through computational modeling and supercomputing the Materials Project provides open web-based access to computed information on known and predicted materials as well as powerful analysis tools to inspire and design novel materials.
With 66,140 computed compounds, users discover a number of material properties including compound formation energy, stability, bandgap, density, volume, and more.
Niva (Grainfield in Russian), the most popular magazine of late-nineteenth-century Russia, defined itself as "an illustrated weekly journal of literature, politics and modern life." It was founded in 1870 and lasted till September 1918.
Niva became a very popular journal of quality literature read by the middle class in the Russian provinces. The journal contained large colored prints by well-known Russian artists, works of famous Russian authors, as well as articles on science, politics and culture. East View has collected the complete set of Niva and digitized its massive content. Users are able to browse all 49 years, more than 2,500 issues, 26,318 articles in total, as well as search using a special keyboard to accommodate the old Russian orthography.
OpenEdition is an interdisciplinary humanities and social sciences portal with four complementary platforms: OpenEdition Books (ebooks), Revues.org (scholarly journals), Calenda (academic announcements), and Hypotheses (research blogs). It is a non-profit public initiative that promotes open access (OA) publishing, with the support of French research institutions. Most of the content is in French but also in other European languages, including English. [dates vary]
The institutional subscription to OpenEdition Fremium allows the UC Berkeley community to participate in an acquisitions policy that both supports sustainable development of OA and that respects the needs of teaching, research and learning communities: no DRM or download quotas are applied. As such, thousands of ebooks and journals are discoverable through the site or through our catalogs and bibliographic search tools permitting researchers to benefit from a range of digital formats, some optimized specifically for e-readers, tablets, and smart phones (ePub, PDF, etc.)
OpenEdition is an initiative of the Centre for Open Electronic Publishing (Cléo), a unit that brings together the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Université d’Aix-Marseille, the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) and the Université d’Avignon et des Pays de Vaucluse.
“Ordinary Americans” and their experiences are examined. Noted Americans such as presidents, intellectuals, and military heroes are excluded.
Entries cover how the lives of Americans were shaped by various events, inventions, and movements in history, e.g., automobiles, the westward movement of settlers and farmers in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, the transformation of work, the women's suffrage movement, racial divides, and leisure activities. Suggested readings of scholarly works are included.
Testimony and documents from more than 750 individuals involved in the Japanese American Internment during World War II.
"Includes material from more than 750 Japanese-Americans and Aleuts who had lived through the events of World War II, as well as government officials who ran the internment program, public figures, organizations such as the Japanese American Citizens League, interested citizens, historians, and other professionals who had studied the internment. Documents include personal stories, publications, reports, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, etc. (1981, principally covers 1942 - 1945)
Information on chemical properties, structures, and bioactivity.
Includes three interlinked databases: PubChem Compound (standardized and validated chemical structures and properties), PubChem Substance (depositor-uploaded chemical information), and PubChem BioAssay (descriptions of bioactivity screens for chemicals in PubChem Substance).
Track current and past legislation and discover relationships among the legislators within the U.S. Congress and every state's legislature. IMPORTANT: READ THE MORE LINK FOR IMPORTANT ACCESS INFORMATION
Quorum allows you to track legislators social media posts, who legislators work with and on what topics/issues. It can also alert you when legislation moves forward. Quorum is available to Berkeley students, faculty and staff, and requires users to create a free account using their berkeley.edu email address. Limited to 20 simultaneous users. Browser ad blockers can interfere with access. If you experience this, open the site using an incognito window in Chrome.
The RSC Historical Collection includes Society Publication and Minutes of the Royal Society of Chemistry, as well as historical books and papers of the Roscoe and Nathan Collections, the Davy Bookcase and Sir Frederick Abel Papers.
Covers diverse historical and contemporary experiences of Latinos and Latinas in the United States and addresses the influence these populations have on political, legal, and social institutions.
Survey essays and biographies are included in addition to legal cases, political movements and organizations, immigration legislation, minority-rights laws, and bibliographies listing important recent and historical works.