Textbooks, images and videos for biomedical science, public health, pharmacology, biomedical engineering, toxicology, neuroscience, bioinformatics, and more.
Comprehensive resource for students, faculty and researchers at the Masters or PhD level in Biomedical Science fields outside the usual medical track. Key texts such as Principles of Neural Science, Goodman & Gilman’s Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Cassarett & Doull’s Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons, Harrison’s Infectious Diseases, Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health & Preventive Medicine, Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, and more.
African Journals Online is the world's largest online library of peer-reviewed, African published scholarly journals, 243 of which are open access. Please note: UC Berkeley does not have a subscription to the content behind a paywall. To view a list limited directly to AJOL's Open Access journals, click here.
Full text of the archives of Architectural Digest magazine from 1922-2011. For a view by year, click here.
"A vibrant monthly celebration of international design talents, the Architectural Digest Magazine Archive provides students of art, design, and architecture with an essential research tool. It covers the history of design, includes inspirational ideas, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years."
Complete standards collection from the American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME). Includes the most current Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). Note: Users must select "Click here to access via institutional account."
Streaming performances of 37 Shakespeare plays originally adapted for broadcast between 1978 and 1985 in the United Kingdom. Searchable transcripts appear alongside the videos.
"Access to this resource was made possible with help from English department faculty Ida Mae and William J. Eggers Chair in English, Professor Jeffrey Knapp and James D. Hart Chair in English, Professor James Turner."
bioRxiv is a free open access archive for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
Central Daily News was first published in Shanghai in February 1928. Its headquarters moved to Taiwan in 1949. Central Daily News has been the official news media for the KMT (Kuomintang) government for years.
This newspaper provides informative reports on politics, economy, military, culture, foreign relations and the society. Its reports also captured the changes of society, tracked the interactions between China and foreign countries and the development leading up to World War II and the China Civil War. The print version of Central Daily News ceased in 2006; it is available only online since then. This online database covers page image access to this title from 1928 to 2006.
This resource is proposed for cancellation due to budget reductions. The comment period is open through Friday, April 6. We invite you to submit comments via email to email@example.com or directly with your subject librarian.A database on contemporary South Asian art.
Disaster Lit: the Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents/grey literature freely available online.
Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience. Materials selected are from non-commercial publishing sources and supplement disaster-related resources from PubMed (biomedical journal literature) and MedlinePlus (health information for the public). Disaster Lit includes records for surveys, interview scripts, and other tools recommended for use in data collection following a disaster.
EarthArXiv provides free, open access, open source archives for the Earth Sciences. It offers a preprint home for all Earth science domains and sub-domains as well as computational, data, and instrumentation research relevant to the Earth sciences.
Full text archive of Forbes magazine from 1917-2000. For a view by year, click here.
"Forbes has delivered key insight on the business and financial world for nearly a century. With EBSCO’s Forbes Magazine Archive, researchers have unrivaled electronic access to the world’s best business news. This fully searchable full-text archive provides analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style."
Full text archive of Fortune magazine from 1930-2000. For a view by year, click here.
"Fortune Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the long-running business magazine dating from its very first issue in February, 1930 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format."
Provides access to nearly a century of U.S. Daily Tracking Polling data and over a decade of the Gallup World Poll. Note: Access is limited to one user at a time
"Gallup Analytics allows users to access and use the wealth of Gallup polling data. Polling topics include views on the government, education, well-being, economics, politics. For the United States, it includes new data, as well as historical data to discover trends at the country or state level. Users can track polling data for countries around the globe from 2005-present. All trends are easily searchable and exportable. Subscribers can view data by demographic categories, compare results across geographies to develop and report findings, including direct citations of Gallup's work. Also includes access to Gallup Brain, with polling data going back to the 1930's for the U.S." Access is limited to one user at a time.
"Mapire enables the user to navigate historical maps of the Habsburg empire using state-of-the art technologies including Google Maps, Google Earth and OpenStreetMap."
"It provides access to:
I. The current version of Mapire contains the first military survey (1764-1784) as well as the second military survey (1806-1869). Both of them is scaled 1 to 28.800 and covers the entire Habsburg empire.
II. Cadastral maps were made in all the territories of the Habsburg Empire during the 19th century. The survey was unified scale (1:2.880), same geodetic system and same legend.
III. Historical maps of Budapest (capital of Hungary) are masterpieces of the map series representing the territory of Budapest. "
Database and gene expression pathway analysis software for data derived from 'omics experiments, such as RNA-seq, small RNA-seq, microarrays including miRNA and SNP, metabolomics, proteomics, and small-scale experiments.
Functional annotations relating to biological and chemical interactions, cellular phenotypes, and disease processes are referenced from the scientific literature.
Full text archive of Life magazine from 1936-2000. For a view by year, click here.
"Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek. Life Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture."
LusOpenEdition is the Portuguese interface for OpenEdition which is an interdisciplinary humanities and social sciences open access portal with four complementary platforms: OpenEdition Books, OpenEdition Journals, Calenda, and Hypotheses.
The institutional subscription to OpenEdition Fremium allows the UC Berkeley community to participate in an acquisitions policy that both supports sustainable development of OA and that respects the needs of teaching, research and learning communities: no DRM or download quotas are applied. LusOpenEdition is made possible with financial support from Centre pour l’édition électronique ouverte (Cléo, 2011- ), Centro em Rede de Investigação em Antropologia (2011- ), Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian (2011-2014), and ISCTE-Instituto Universitário de Lisboa (2016 – ).
Online learning platform with videos and full courses covering software, technology, business and creative skills. Includes courses on Adobe and Microsoft tools, as well as a variety of other web, audio, video, IT, and education topics.
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database."
Mint Global contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. It's the Orbis database with a streamlined interface.
"Mint Global includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.
The same data is accessible with an expanded interface via Orbis. "
Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia and, arguably, the newspaper with the longest democratic history. This resource also contains access to the sister publication Moscow Daily News, which ran from 1932-1938.
"From a mouthpiece of the Communist party to an influential advocate for social and political change, the pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. "
Retail scanner and consumer panel data from Nielsen Research and the Marketing Data Center at Chicago Booth. The UCB campus license has a number of access restrictions. Please view the libguide link for more detailed information.
The James M. Kilts Center for Marketing at Chicago Booth and the Nielsen Company have partnered to make two consumer marketing datasets available to US-based academic researchers. The Consumer Panel Data include longitudinal data beginning in 2004 with annual updates. These data track a panel of 40,000 - 60,000 US households and their purchases of consumer goods from a wide range of retail outlets across all US markets. Retail Scanner Data consist of weekly pricing, volume, and store environment information generated by point-of-sale systems from more than 90 participating retail chains across all US markets. Data begin in 2006 and include annual updates.
One of the largest specialized databases in Islamic Studies and Humanities . It provides full text access to more than 1300 magazines for over a million articles in mainly Persian, with some Arabic and English languages.
Mainly Persian, with some Arabic and English languages.
Orbis contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. Data is standardized for easy cross-border comparisons.
"Orbis includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.
The same data is accessible with a simpler interface via Mint Global. "
REDIB is a platform for the aggregation of scientific and academic content in the electronic format produced in the Ibero-American context. There are currently over 2,000 journal titles indexed in this database with the full-text access.
Two searchable databases comprising the complete San Francisco Chronicle, Northern California's largest circulation newspaper. 1865-1984, page images from the print edition. 1985 onward, full-text from the electronic edition, lacking graphics.
Superstar Journals Database contains 6,500 full-text Chinese journals and more than 1,300 Core journals. It covers many disciplines including engineering, agronomy, social science, cultural, education, philosophy, and medicine.
This database not only provides users with the traditional PDF format, it also enables users to stream full articles and journals to their mobile devices.
Full text archive of Time magazine from 1923-2000. For a view by year, click here.
"Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek. The Time Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture."