Provides access to over 280 African American newspapers from around the country.
This collection includes historically significant African American Newspapers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles. Also includes several California titles like the Los Angeles Tribune (1943-1960), Oakland Sunshine (1915-1922), and Western Outlook (1914-1928), and the Elevator (1865-1898).
Ayacucho Library is an important publishing initiative of Latin American and Caribbean culture. The Ministry of Culture of Venezuela, CLACSO and the Ayacucho Library Foundation have made a selection of books through open access.
"Biblioteca Ayacucho es la iniciativa editorial más importante de la cultura latinoamericana y caribeña. Fundada en 1974 en homenaje a la batalla que en 1824 significó la emancipación política de Nuestra América, estuvo desde su nacimiento promoviendo relaciones dinámicas y constantes entre el presente y el pasado americano, revalorándolo críticamente desde la perspectiva de nuestros días."
A resource on South Asian tribal and indigenous religious traditions.
This encyclopedia is a major resource for the cultural and religious traditions of South Asia's tribal and indigenous peoples. It defines religion broadly to include aspects of morality, symbolism, identity formation, environmental concerns, and art.
This database comprises a collection of Hong Kong-related historical records, selected from the British Colonial Office, consisting of original correspondence between the governors of Hong Kong and the Colonial Office, as well as letters and telegram
This resource provides detailed and valuable information on the political, military, social, economic, and external development of Hong Kong. It also sheds light on the British Empire in Asia, China’s transformation from empire to republic, mainland China-Hong Kong relations, and the international politics of East Asia. It is full-text searchable, and side-by-side OCR text readers for image based text was built in the database.
The Digital Collections contain all the digitized publications of the Ibero-American Institute including Cultural Magazines of Latin America, and Argentine theater and literary periodicals.
Users can search the digitized objects or access the different collections without creating a login. To save the results of a search and exchange them with other users, annotate the digitized objects, or create a virtual bookshelf, users must create a free personal account.
Build textual content sets from Gale primary source collections for data visualization and text data mining. Users will need to click Sign In and login with their @berkeley.edu account
Primary source collections include: American Fiction
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990, American Fiction, Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality & Gender, British Library Newspapers, The Economist Historical Archive, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, The Making of Modern Law, The Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, The Times Digital Archive, The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Almost 200 items, with over 35,000 facsimile images from rare texts on diplomatic missions, commercial relations, Ottoman state structures, military and naval history, Ottoman expansionism, piracy, and rulers. [1475-1874]
Items in the collection are written in English, French, German, Ottoman Turkish and more.
Available to currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff. Jointly funded by the University Library and Campus CIO. Note: CalNet authentication required. Authentication automatically transmits the user's name to Gartner for account creation.
The Gartner Campus Access program provides faculty, students, and staff access to the authoritative Gartner research library which helps translate complex IT issues into comprehensive advice and meaningful analysis. Gartner is the global leader in providing accurate and current research for the IT industry. Topics include software, hardware, cloud computing, and Internet of Things, among others.
The collection documents the history of modern Russian and Ukrainian art. It encompasses critical literature, illustrated books, and art periodicals.
The collection contains texts by such artists as Wassily Kandinsky, Pavel Filonov, Kazimir Malevich and Anatolii Petrytskyi; publications of art groups such as the Jack of Diamonds (Bubnovyi valet) and Màkovets; theoretical tracts by Nikolai Tarabukin and Boris Kushner; and books by well-known critics such as IAkov Tugendkhol'd, Erikh Gollerbakh, and Nikolai Punin.
This collection contains several hundred digitized protest materials from the 2011 protest at Puerta del Sol in Madrid, Spain, where activists protested and demanded solutions to rising unemployment and other symptoms of the ongoing economic crisis in Spain. Materials include posters, picket signs, flyers, banners, pamphlets, and more.
Detailed monthly, quarterly, and annual trade data for 220 countries and territories covering 5300 products using the six digit Harmonized System (HS). [2001-present, varies by country, monthly, quarterly, and annually]. Note: Free individual account registered to a berkeley.edu email address required to create country and product groups, and to use Market Price Information tool.
Includes other related tools providing data on market access and investment, sustainability, market prices, export companies, trade competitiveness and more.
The first half of the twentieth century began with the demise of China’s last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, and ended with the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in October 1949. [1912-1949]
"Republican “Minguo” China (1912-1949) was an era contrasted by industrialization and modernization but also civil unrest and outright war between Nationalists and Communists. The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions."
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
This modern newspaper package includes 100 newspapers published between 1911-1949 in Beijing and other major cities in China.
This archival collection was based on the holdings from the National Library of China, adding titles from other provincial and city libraries. In addition to major national newspapers such as Revolution Daily and New China Daily, the database also contains major local newspapers including North China Daily, Hankou People’s Daily, Western Capital Daily and Xinjiang Daily.
Nedelia was established in 1960, as a Sunday supplement to Izvestiia under the editorship of Aleksey Adzhubey, the son in law of the Soviet leader Nikita Khrushchev. At the height of its popularity Nedelia claimed up to two million copies in weekly circulation. [1960-2002]
It was one of the very few Soviet periodicals that kept the official Communist Party propaganda to a minimum, covering instead cultural, social, and political happenings with a certain degree of lightheartedness, which perhaps was the main reason behind its popularity.
UCB students can have free subscriptions to the NY Times website while enrolled at UCB. UCB staff and faculty are not included. Please read the "more" link for additional description and account set up instructions.
"The Office of the ASUC Executive Vice President and the the Graduate Assembly provide free subscriptions to the NY Times website for all UCB students.
To access, visit www.accessnyt.com, enter the University of California Berkeley and register with your @berkeley email address. You will receive a confirmation email to verify your Berkeley email is active. Check your spam if you do not receive this email in a few minutes.
● For assistance with your ASUC NYTimes.com access, email: email@example.com
If you have a personally paid subscription with the NYT, you can cancel it by calling NYT Customer Care (800) 591-9233 and then activate the ASUC/GA one through http://accessnyt.com/."
Educational resources and tools from the New York Times. See more link for access information.
"Provides images, charts, videos, and additional tools to assist teaching and learning.
To access, visit nytimes.com/edu and register with your @berkeley email address. You will receive a confirmation email to verify your Berkeley email is active. Check your spam if you do not receive this email in a few minutes.
For assistance, problems, or other issues, please email: firstname.lastname@example.org"
Novoe Russkoe Slovo was the oldest continuously published New York-based Russian language newspaper. Its first issue was published in April of 1910 under the title, "Russkoe Slovo," in 1920 it was renamed as Novoe Russkoe Slovo. [1910-2010]
"It was the oldest continuously published newspaper of the Russian emigre community in New York. After 2009, it appeared as a Weekly newspaper. It ceased in 2010."
The Ovid interface to MEDLINE. Citations and abstracts for articles published in medicine, life sciences, public health, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology, genetics, and more. [Mid-19th century - present]
MEDLINE is the core content that makes up PubMed and is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Features provided by Ovid are advanced mapping, which analyzes users' natural language queries and suggests appropriate terms for searching, and a thesaurus which automatically suggests synonymous or related terms and allows for expanded searching.
Scholarly ebook collection based on the series Studies on Voltaire and the Eighteenth Century (SVEC) that was first published in 1955 as well as the current series Oxford University Studies in the Enlightenment. [1955-present]
A partnership between the Voltaire Foundation and Liverpool University Press is making volumes from the series available online for the first time. A broad overview of a variety of subjects relating to the Enlightenment including: history, cultural studies, literature, biography, religious studies, philosophy, and gender studies. The initial installment is a 217-volume digital collection with over 70,000 pages of highly-regarded content in both English and French.
RG was founded in 1990 by the government of the Russian Federation, Rossiiskaia Gazeta is a Russian newspaper of public record based in Moscow. [1990-2018]
As an official newspaper, its editorial policy reflects the government’s policy on any given issue, although it frequently publishes commentaries and opinions that differ from government’s positions. As such the newspaper is an authoritative source of official government policy and an important venue of official commentary on laws and regulations enacted by the Russian legislature. It features interviews with influential Russian politicians, businesses, and cultural figures.
This collection represents works of all Russian literary avant-garde schools. It comprises almost 800 books, periodicals and almanacs most of them published between 1910-1940.
The Russian literary avant-garde was both a cradle for many new literary styles and the birthplace of a new physical appearance for printed materials. The strength of this collection is in its sheer range. It contains many rare and intriguingly obscure books, as well as well-known and critically acclaimed texts, almanacs, periodicals, literary manifests. Represented in it are more than 30 literary groups without which the history of twentieth-century Russian literature would have been very different.
This collection of films reveals war, history, current affairs, culture, and society, as seen through the socialist lens. It covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, and Cuba. [1917-1989]
Sourced from the archives of the British Film Institute (BFI), Socialism on Film documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution through to the late 1980s. The digitized films cover all aspects of the socialist experience from everyday life and society to culture, the Cold War, memory and current affairs. Geographically the films deal with the Soviet Union alongside groupings of material on Vietnam, China, Korea, the German Democratic Republic, and Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America, and Cuba.
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
UbuWeb is an open-access educational resource for avant-garde material founded in 1996 by poet Kenneth Goldsmith. It offers visual, concrete and sound poetry, streaming videos, oral histories, and sound art archives.
UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff can have free subscriptions to the WSJ website. Please read the "more" link for additional description and account set up instructions.
"The Office of the ASUC Executive Vice President and the the Graduate Assembly provide free subscriptions to the WSJ website for all UCB students, faculty and staff.
To activate your WSJ membership, please visit WSJ.com/ASUCBerkeley and create an account using your Berkeley email address.
• For assistance with your ASUC WSJ membership, call: 1-800-568-7625
• To manage your WSJ membership online, visit customercenter.wsj.com and log in with your WSJ account information.
If you have a personally paid membership with The Wall Street Journal, please call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel your membership. After your membership is cancelled you can activate your ASUC/GA-sponsored membership at the link above. "
The newspaper Za vozvrashchenie na Rodinu (Return to Motherland) was established in East Berlin. The newspaper was aimed at Russian emigrants and was an important anti-western propaganda tool for the USSR. [1955-1960]
The main objective of the newspaper was the creation of a favorable image of the Soviet Union and the criticism of émigré organizations in the post-war period and during the Cold War. The newspaper was published under the watchful eye of the KGB, and only the most loyal Soviet officials were allowed to work on this project.
This database contains rubbing images made from 2,466 Stele Inscriptions collected from Han to the Six Dynasties (206BC – 589). [206B.C. to 589]
Punctuation and annotations were inserted to help understand the texts. It is full-text searchable as well as browsable by dynasty. An online Calendar Conversion tool is available for easy reference from dynasty to years. An important primary source for research on Chinese history.