Textbooks, images and videos for biomedical science, public health, pharmacology, biomedical engineering, toxicology, neuroscience, bioinformatics, and more.
Comprehensive resource for students, faculty and researchers at the Masters or PhD level in Biomedical Science fields outside the usual medical track. Key texts such as Principles of Neural Science, Goodman & Gilman’s Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Cassarett & Doull’s Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons, Harrison’s Infectious Diseases, Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health & Preventive Medicine, Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, and more.
Title-level statistics for newspapers, consumer magazines, business publications and farm publications back to 2013 in excel; historical figures can be found in reports and snapshots going back in some cases to 2003.(Audit Bureau of Circulations) [2004 - present]
Digitized, full text prose fiction written by Americans from colonial times to the early twentieth century. More than 17,800 titles.
The titles to the year 1900 include nearly all of the works found in Lyle H. Wright’s American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography. Wright’s three-volume set—American Fiction, 1774–1850; American Fiction, 1851–1875; and American Fiction, 1876–1900—is widely considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult prose fiction of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
The Archives of the Church in North India comprises archival and printed material from the Gujarat Diocese of the Church of North India.
The Archives of the Church in North India comprises archival and printed material from the Gujarat Diocese of the Church of North India. The archives have been divided into two sections: the archival collection, consisting of meetings, correspondence and reports, and the monograph collection of early printed monographs from mission presses.
This Archive comprises archival and printed material from the Gujarat Diocese of the Church of North India.
"The Archives of the Church in North India Online comprises archival and printed material from the Gujarat Diocese of the Church of North India. The Monograph collection includes:
- Monographs printed by the Irish Presbyterian Mission Press in Surat, India.
- Monographs printed by other mission presses in India.
- Monographs printed outside India and relevant for research purposes. "
Complete standards collection from the American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME). Includes the most current Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). Note: Users must select "Click here to access via institutional account."
Digitized collection of Irish author Samuel Beckett's original manuscripts, as well as a digitized collection of his personal library with his annotations. Beckett wrote in both English and French.
The purpose of the Beckett Digital Manuscript Project is to reunite the manuscripts of Samuel Beckett's works in a digital way, and to facilitate genetic research: the project brings together digital facsimiles of documents that are now preserved in different holding libraries, and adds transcriptions of Beckett's manuscripts, tools for bilingual and genetic version comparison, a search engine, and an analysis of the textual genesis of his works.
Online version of the fundamental print bibliography and discovery tool for Italian language and literature. Includes texts, critical and historical surveys, philogical and linguistic notes, essays, monographs, bibliographic reviews, etc. (1981-present).
While date parameters indicate the span of this bibliography through the present, the publication is often a couple years behind. 2015 includes the 2011 to 2012 production, 2016 includes 2013-2014, etc.
The MRLO contains over 4,000 entries and 200 plus illustrations covering pre-modern European history and culture.
The database includes complete coverage of four medieval studies encyclopedias: Encyclopedia of Medieval Chronicle, Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450, Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage, and Brill’s Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. Searches can be performed across encyclopedias or limited to one title.
Catalist contains voter registration data for the United States. Access is managed by the D-Lab. Please read the "more" link for additional description and access information.
Contains data from more than 240 million unique voting-age individuals from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Data is compiled from a number of sources, including voter registration and Census data. Catalist provides two access points: the Q Tool and the M Tool. The Q Tool is a query to conduct extracts of the database, and the M Tool is used for uploading the researcher’s data to the database and matching voter records from the researcher’s dataset to the database information. IMPORTANT: Use is limited to the UCB community only. All UCB users must apply for access via the D-Lab through the linked form. Staff at the D-Lab will contact the user when access is approved.
Central Daily News was first published in Shanghai in February 1928. Its headquarters moved to Taiwan in 1949. Central Daily News has been the official news media for the KMT (Kuomintang) government for years.
This newspaper provides informative reports on politics, economy, military, culture, foreign relations and the society. Its reports also captured the changes of society, tracked the interactions between China and foreign countries and the development leading up to World War II and the China Civil War. The print version of Central Daily News ceased in 2006; it is available only online since then. This online database covers page image access to this title from 1928 to 2006.
Contains data curves on alloys used in the aerospace and other industries, with some of the same interactive features as the TPMD and MPMD. Updated annually. The AHAD merged the HPAD and ASMD into a powerful combined database with alloys of importance in all industries requiring high performance alloy data.
Contains approximately 80,000 data curves on over 220 alloys used in the aerospace and other industries. It has some of the same interactive features as the TPMD and MPMD. It is updated annually with carefully selected new alloys.
Encyclopedia is an authoritative reference covering topics in the study of human sexual behavior throughout the world.
Topics include gender-conflicted persons, unconventional sexual patterns, contraception, AIDS, sexual dysfunctions, and therapies. Entries are written by leading sexologists. Also features 62 in-depth country overviews.
Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes articles, newspaper clippings, cable messages, interviews, conference memorabilia, etc. (Brill) [1959 to present]
This collection is Part 1: Casa y Cultura” of the so-called Archivo Vertical held in library of the Casa de las Américas.
Contains dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Dance Online: Dance in Video, Volume I lays the foundation for the study of dance in all its forms with content in modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, experimental dance, and more. Films feature many of the greatest dance companies as well as an array of rare and hard-to-find archival and historical material. Volume II showcases a new catalogue of dancers and partners including the Joffrey Ballet, John Jasperse Company, and Cloud Gate Dance Theatre, as well as instructional materials, interviews, and documentaries
featuring key performers and choreographers.
The Derwent Innovations Index indexes patents of chemical, electrical and mechanical inventions. Users may search by topic, inventor, patent assignee, patent number, classification codes, & by chemical compounds.[1963-present]
"Online play texts, audio and video, and secondary sources for the study and performance of drama. Includes material from Arden Shakespeare, Nick Hern, BBC Drama Films, Shakespeare's Globe On Screen, and L.A. Theatre Works."
Collections include playtexts from Methuen Drama, Faber and Faber, Arden Shakespeare, and Nick Hern Shakespeare’s Globe On Screen, L.A. Theatre Works audio collection, BBC Drama Films, the Hollow Crown series, early modern drama titles staged and filmed specifically for educational use. The platform has a web-based e-reader with page and line numbers that correspond to the print edition, download options, full text search, visualization tools including a Words and Speeches Graph and a Character Grid for each play, the ability to view lines for one specific character, genre, period, title, or playwright browsing, and annotation tools.
This is a digital archive of the India Office Records on the East India Company from its inception until it dissolution.
The East India Company Archive is a collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Consisting of royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and all other areas the Company was active in from 1600 to 1947.
Prices, business costs and services across many sectors in 123 cities worldwide from 1990 to present,
NOTE - for best downloading use Excel 2003 and prior. Provides detailed pricing information on over 160 products and services in 123 cities worldwide, from the cost of bread to electricity and rental prices and salaries. Includes major US cities.
Covers world's 60 largest economies with detailed data on flows of investment and mergers & acquisitions by country, destination country, industry.
NOTE - for best downloading use Excel 2003 and prior. Covers the world's 60 largest economies and provides detailed data and analysis on the political and economic background, the business environment, business costs, foreign investment regulations, trends in foreign investment. Plus a detailed database containing flows of investment and mergers & acquisitions by country and by industry.
"eLS features over 5,000 commissioned, peer-reviewed, citable articles, written by leaders in the life sciences.
eLS is updated by approximately 400 articles per year, with new articles publishing on a monthly basis."(ELS: Citable Reviews)
The focus of this encyclopedia is African history and culture. Entries are from the print source Africana, two-thirds of which have been revised, updated and expanded to include recent scholarship.
Articles cover political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, events, individuals, and countries throughout Africa. Illustrations and demographic information included.
Note: our license is limited to three simultaneous users. Reference work containing detailed datasheets on trees and forest pests, full-text of selected articles and reports, a multilingual glossary of forest terms, species distribution maps, and images.
Funding sources for non-profits -- timely, comprehensive information on grant providers. Includes U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and public charities, plus a growing number of non-U.S. sources.
Also includes a keyword-searchable database of recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
To browse the resource, no login is required. In order to save data and use specialized tools within this HGMD, users must first create a login. Collates genetic mutations that are responsible for human inherited disease. Includes links to relevant references from the scientific literature.
"Mapire enables the user to navigate historical maps of the Habsburg empire using state-of-the art technologies including Google Maps, Google Earth and OpenStreetMap."
"It provides access to:
I. The current version of Mapire contains the first military survey (1764-1784) as well as the second military survey (1806-1869). Both of them is scaled 1 to 28.800 and covers the entire Habsburg empire.
II. Cadastral maps were made in all the territories of the Habsburg Empire during the 19th century. The survey was unified scale (1:2.880), same geodetic system and same legend.
III. Historical maps of Budapest (capital of Hungary) are masterpieces of the map series representing the territory of Budapest. "
Database and gene expression pathway analysis software for data derived from 'omics experiments, such as RNA-seq, small RNA-seq, microarrays including miRNA and SNP, metabolomics, proteomics, and small-scale experiments.
Functional annotations relating to biological and chemical interactions, cellular phenotypes, and disease processes are referenced from the scientific literature.
"Contains bibliographies for African studies, including entries from the International African bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015."
The International African Bibliography (IAB) is an essential resource for all those working in the field of African studies, providing a current awareness service of the latest books, articles and papers published internationally on Africa. Created in cooperation with the Centre for African Studies, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Collection of primary texts from the Italian Reformation digitized from the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze. Selection of more than 100 rare works offers a synopsis and theological profile of the diversity of the printed manifestations of the Protestant Reformation in the Italian states. (Brill) [15th-17th centuries]
Provides comprehensive reference data and country by country tri-service information on the world’s armed forces, as well as news, analysis and daily insight on military capability trends and developments.
"Contains over 3,000 reference articles providing detailed information on worldwide military capabilities, covering: Army, navy, air force, special forces and tri-service capabilities; Strategic weapons systems; Defense budgets; Procurement and R&D; Materiel inventories. Also includes access to weekly press briefings on security issues. Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users."
This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection of 971 titles provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode in the history of Latin American labor movements. (Brill) [1890-1920]
The collection contains numerous rare, and in many cases unique, titles that are also discoverable individually through OskiCat. Included, among many others, are the Argentine periodicals La Protesta, La Vanguardia and Acción Obrera; the Brazilian O Exempio, Jornal do Povo and Battaglia; the Chilean Voz del Mar; and the Mexican Ariete, Redención Obrera, Revolución Social and El Sindicalista.
Mint Global contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. It's the Orbis database with a streamlined interface.
"Mint Global includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.
The same data is accessible with an expanded interface via Orbis. "
OpenEdition is an interdisciplinary humanities and social sciences portal with four complementary platforms: OpenEdition Books (ebooks), Revues.org (scholarly journals), Calenda (academic announcements), and Hypotheses (research blogs). It is a non-profit public initiative that promotes open access (OA) publishing, with the support of French research institutions. Most of the content is in French but also in other European languages, including English. [dates vary]
The institutional subscription to OpenEdition Fremium allows the UC Berkeley community to participate in an acquisitions policy that both supports sustainable development of OA and that respects the needs of teaching, research and learning communities: no DRM or download quotas are applied. As such, thousands of ebooks and journals are discoverable through the site or through our catalogs and bibliographic search tools permitting researchers to benefit from a range of digital formats, some optimized specifically for e-readers, tablets, and smart phones (ePub, PDF, etc.)
OpenEdition is an initiative of the Centre for Open Electronic Publishing (Cléo), a unit that brings together the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Université d’Aix-Marseille, the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) and the Université d’Avignon et des Pays de Vaucluse.
Orbis contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. Data is standardized for easy cross-border comparisons.
"Orbis includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.
The same data is accessible with a simpler interface via Mint Global. "
Covers key events, people, presidential elections, court cases, and broad political and legal trends in American history since the colonial era.
Articles are signed by experts and include, in addition to principles of the Constitution, presidents, Supreme Court judges, and critical legislation, topical outlines, and select bibliographies of recent scholarly works.
“Ordinary Americans” and their experiences are examined. Noted Americans such as presidents, intellectuals, and military heroes are excluded.
Entries cover how the lives of Americans were shaped by various events, inventions, and movements in history, e.g., automobiles, the westward movement of settlers and farmers in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, the transformation of work, the women's suffrage movement, racial divides, and leisure activities. Suggested readings of scholarly works are included.
Entries cover major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world (Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman) from the Bronze Age to the 5th century CE and “its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.”
Leading Classical scholars in the field provide significant information about people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity in addition to intellectual and material culture. Broad subject areas include literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science and religion.
Focuses on three of the world’s religions- Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, and analyzes archaeological and linguistic data about the ancient Near East,
Explores the civilizations of Syria-Palestine, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, Iran, Arabia, Cyprus, Egypt, and the coastal regions of North and East Africa. Entries include detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century covering art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history.
Contains the U.S. State Department Central Files for Africa and the Middle East, including diplomatic cables.
This ProQuest History Vault module contains a range of declassified materials from U.S. diplomats in Africa and the Middle East. Materials include reports on political, military, and socio-economic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials, important letters, instructions, and diplomatic cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel, and selected reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers.
Contains the records of the FBI and the Subversive Activities Control Board investigating “subversive” activities.
This ProQuest History Vault module contains J. Edgar Hoover's office files; documentation on the FBI's so-called "black bag jobs," as they were called before being renamed "surreptitious entries"; and the "Do Not File" File. The "Do Not File" file consists of records that were originally supposed to be destroyed on FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover's order, however large portions of these files survived. Another key collection in this module consists of the records of the Subversive Activities Control Board (SACB). The SACB files is one of the most valuable resources for the study of left-wing radicalism during the 1950s and 1960s.
Digitized archive of Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War and Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration. [1775-1915]
"This ProQuest History Vault module contains the second set of Plantation Records. The records presented in this module come from the University of Virginia and Duke University. Major collections from the holdings of the University of Virginia include the Tayloe Family Papers, Ambler Family Papers, Cocke Family Papers, Gilliam Family Papers, Barbour Family Papers, and Randolph Family Papers. Major collections from the Duke University holdings document plantation life in the Alabama, as well as South Carolina, Georgia, North Carolina, Virginia, and Maryland."
"Contains Records of the Women’s Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women’s Army Corps."
This ProQuest History Vault module contains primary sources that document a wide range of issues pertinent to American women during WWII, including studies on the treatment of women by unions in several midwestern industrial centers, and the influx of women to industrial centers during the war. Other topics covered include women’s work in war industries, equal pay, childcare and race. There is also extensive documentation on the women who joined and served in the Women’s Army Corps as WACs.
Complete collection of full opinions from U.S. Supreme Court argued cases, including decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Covers 1975-2017 term (database currently being built, so not all dates are covered).
"Complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process, and is also retrievable on a document by document basis. This collection covers 1975-2017 (database currently being built, so not all dates are covered). All content is expected to be added by the end of 2017."
Information on chemical properties, structures, and bioactivity.
Includes three interlinked databases: PubChem Compound (standardized and validated chemical structures and properties), PubChem Substance (depositor-uploaded chemical information), and PubChem BioAssay (descriptions of bioactivity screens for chemicals in PubChem Substance).
Track current and past legislation and discover relationships among the legislators within the U.S. Congress and every state's legislature. IMPORTANT: READ THE MORE LINK FOR IMPORTANT ACCESS INFORMATION
Quorum allows you to track legislators social media posts, who legislators work with and on what topics/issues. It can also alert you when legislation moves forward. Quorum is available to Berkeley students, faculty and staff, and requires users to create a free account using their berkeley.edu email address. Limited to 20 simultaneous users. Browser ad blockers can interfere with access. If you experience this, open the site using an incognito window in Chrome.
"Digital editions of selected American and British literary texts that include scholarly features such as critical commentary, annotations, scans of original texts, and layered drafts for comparison."
"Digital texts include ""Clotel"" by William Wells Brown: An Electronic Scholarly Edition; Emily Dickinson's Correspondences: A Born-Digital Textual Inquiry; Herman Melville's ""Typee"": A Fluid Text Edition; Journal of Emily Shore: Revised and Expanded; The Digital Temple: A Documentary Edition of George Herbert's English Verse; The Letters of Christina Rossetti: A Digital Edition; The Letters of Matthew Arnold"
SAGE Research Methods is the essential online resource for anyone doing research or learning how to do research. With more than 800 books, reference works, and journal articles from SAGE’s world-renowned research methods list, SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings.
SAGE Research Methods’ coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities.
Two searchable databases comprising the complete San Francisco Chronicle, Northern California's largest circulation newspaper. 1865-1984, page images from the print edition. 1985 onward, full-text from the electronic edition, lacking graphics.
Encyclopedia and guide to concepts in semiotics, sign theory, and cultural studies such as theories, theorists, schools of thought, issues in communications, cognition, and cultural theory.
Target audience is students and scholars interested in language, symbols, and the transmission of information. Entries are written by scholars in the fields of anthropology, literary theory, linguistics, and philosophy.
Encyclopedia covers the major philosophical and religious traditions and all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics.
There are over 700 entries, ranging from 1000 to 10,000 words in length, written by international subject experts.
Encyclopedia contains information about the concepts, institutions, organizations, events, and individuals that have shaped the history of business, labor, and economics in America.
Explored are subjects of capitalism, evolution of business practices and organizations, the labor force (free workers, slaves and indentures), how workers sought to better their lives, and government policies and practices, economic activities, and business developments. Entries include selective bibliographies of important recent scholarly works.
Covers diverse historical and contemporary experiences of Latinos and Latinas in the United States and addresses the influence these populations have on political, legal, and social institutions.
Survey essays and biographies are included in addition to legal cases, political movements and organizations, immigration legislation, minority-rights laws, and bibliographies listing important recent and historical works.
Articles explore the intersection of biblical sources and ethical issues from historical to modern times, combining traditional (comparative religion) and recent theoretical frameworks (postmodern, queer and gender theory).
Entries (1,000-7,000 words) cover ethics in the Bible to contemporary movements and issues such as capital punishment, bioethics, and abortion. Also includes bibliographies and comprehensive introductions of topics.
Encyclopedia explores the historical context and impact of science, medicine, and technology on American Society and culture.
Key individuals, institutions, and organizations responsible for major developments are covered along with concepts, practices, and processes. Written by experts in the field, entries are broad and provide in-depth analysis for students in the social sciences and humanities, sciences, and medical sciences.
Archive of women's interest magazines including Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Seventeen and Essence. Topics include family life, fashion, and fitness. Date coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 19th century.
A collection of more than 1,200 well-known Chinese classics edited and punctuated by Zhonghua Book Company.
The database is searchable in full-text by both simplified and traditional characters. Other features include comparison between text version and image version, variant versions of people's names, places and titles can be retrieved simultaneously.