Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New Databases

Loading...
The following databases are new to the Libraries!
New
Textbooks, images and videos for biomedical science, public health, pharmacology, biomedical engineering, toxicology, neuroscience, bioinformatics, and more.
  • Free or open access
New
African Journals Online is the world's largest online library of peer-reviewed, African published scholarly journals, 243 of which are open access. Please note: UC Berkeley does not have a subscription to the content behind a paywall. To view a list limited directly to AJOL's Open Access journals, click here.
  • UCB access only
New
WNA-African Newspapers, Series 2 contains 340,000 pages of content from African newspapers published between 1835 and 1925.
  • Free or open access
New
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, including 6 different types of spectra under a directory.
  • UCB access only
New
Provides full text access to the news from 65 renowned Arabic dailies and weeklies in over 20 countries, from 1970s to present. A research tool, specialized in the political, economic, strategic, and social issues in the Arab world. [1970 to present]
  • UCB access only
New
Full text of the archives of Architectural Digest magazine from 1922-2011. For a view by year, click here.
  • UCB access only
New
Full collection of books from Artech House. Practical engineering books that cover areas of electrical engineering, materials science, information security, communications, radar, remote sensing, and other areas of emerging technology. [2000-2018]
  • UCB access only
New
Full text access to current and redline standards from the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE). Access via Techstreet Enterprise platform.
  • UCB access only
New
askART provides access to artists' profiles, images, literature references, biographies, auction records, art for sale and art wanted, essays on important art movements, and statistics on the markets. Millions of auction records and results (from 1987+). 300,000+ worldwide artists.
  • UCB access only
New
Complete standards collection from the American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME). Includes the most current Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC).
Note: Users must select "Click here to access via institutional account."
  • UCB access only
New
Streaming performances of 37 Shakespeare plays originally adapted for broadcast between 1978 and 1985 in the United Kingdom. Searchable transcripts appear alongside the videos.
  • Free or open access
New
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) offers literature on biodiversity through open access as part of a global “biodiversity commons.” The BHL has digitized taxonomic literature, representing tens of thousands of titles and >100,000 volumes.
  • UCB access only
New
Audio-visual presentations by leading world experts on biochemistry, cancer, agriculture & environmental sciences, metabolism & nutrition, infectious diseases, omics & systems biology, and more.
  • Free or open access
New
bioRxiv is a free open access archive for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
  • UCB access only
New
Federal Government records relating to the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century
  • UCB access only
New
Federal Government records from the Ford and Reagan presidencies relating to Civil Rights.
  • UCB access only
New
"Access to encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more."
  • Free or open access
New
Human-curated, classification of the neuroimaging literature.
  • UCB access only
New
Brill’s Encyclopedia of Sikhism aims to make available in-depth critical scholarship on all the main aspects of the Sikh traditions in a number of original essays written by the world's foremost scholars on Sikhs and Sikh traditions.
  • UCB access only
New
Full text archives of the Bloomberg BusinessWeek magazine from 1929-2000. For a view by year, click here.
  • UCB access only
New
Ebooks on agriculture and the applied life sciences from CAB International. [2000-present].
  • UCB access only
New
Central Daily News was first published in Shanghai in February 1928. Its headquarters moved to Taiwan in 1949. Central Daily News has been the official news media for the KMT (Kuomintang) government for years.
  • UCB access only
New
The Golden Age of Mexican cinema is illuminated in this collection of popular movie periodicals. It includes magazines such as Cinema Reporter (1943-1965), Cine Mundial (1951-1955), and El Cine Gráfico. From the Archives of the Filmoteca of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
  • UCB access only
New
This resource is proposed for cancellation due to budget reductions. The comment period is open through Friday, April 6. We invite you to submit comments via email to scholarly-resources@lists.berkeley.edu or directly with your subject librarian.
A database on contemporary South Asian art.
  • UCB access only
New
DBpia is a full text database of scholarly journals published by major Korean academic societies and research institutes. It includes more than 2,000 journals. [1920-present]
  • UCB access only
New
Note: This is a two-volume set. To access Volume 2, please click here. Two-volume etymological dictionary of the Romance languages focusing on genesis, methods, and results.
  • Free or open access
New
Disaster Lit: the Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents/grey literature freely available online.
  • UCB access only
New
Docuseek2 is a streaming video service featuring social issue and documentary films from independent distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, National Film Board of Canada, and Fanlight.
Note: When browsing the platform, you will see film icons next to each title. Grayed out icons indicate Berkeley does not have access to these titles. To view a list limited to titles owned by Berkeley, click the "My Movies" link at the top of the page.
  • UCB access only
New
A full-text searchable database of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, sciences, medicine, geography, travel, history, and literature. It includes books of European/Arabic translations. [1475-1900]
  • Free or open access
New
EarthArXiv provides free, open access, open source archives for the Earth Sciences. It offers a preprint home for all Earth science domains and sub-domains as well as computational, data, and instrumentation research relevant to the Earth sciences.
  • UCB access only
New
Scholarly online encyclopedia of library and information studies, including archives, documents, infomatics, knowledge management, museum studies, the sociology of information and more.
  • Free or open access
New
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document all of the 1.9 million living species known to science. It is compiled from databases and from contributions by experts and non-experts throughout the world.
  • UCB access only
New
Energywire covers utilities including the switch to natural gas, the growth of distributed energy, threats to cybersecurity and technology. Provides insight into shale oil and gas development, pipelines, and liquefied natural gas due to markets, regulations and environmental concerns.
  • UCB access only
New
Full text archive of Forbes magazine from 1917-2000. For a view by year, click here.
  • UCB access only
New
Full text archive of Fortune magazine from 1930-2000. For a view by year, click here.
  • UCB access only
New
Provides access to nearly a century of U.S. Daily Tracking Polling data and over a decade of the Gallup World Poll. [1930's to present]
Note: Access is limited to one user at a time
  • UCB access only
New
Provides full text, comprehensive overviews on animal systematics and morphology as well as extensive coverage of physiology, behaviour, ecology and applied aspects of zoological research. Updated Frequently. [1923--]
  • Free or open access
New
"Mapire enables the user to navigate historical maps of the Habsburg empire using state-of-the art technologies including Google Maps, Google Earth and OpenStreetMap."
  • UCB access only
New
Online version of Sirāj al-tawārīkh or The History of Afghanistan, authored by Fayz Muhammad Khan that covers the founding of Afghanistan in 1747 until the end of the 19th century.
  • UCB access only
New
Database and gene expression pathway analysis software for data derived from 'omics experiments, such as RNA-seq, small RNA-seq, microarrays including miRNA and SNP, metabolomics, proteomics, and small-scale experiments.
  • UCB access only
New
Database of auction records for books, manuscripts, and autographs from 1990 to present (two year delay) from the Jahrbuch der Auktionspreise für Bücher, Handschriften und Autographen (JAP)
  • UCB access only
New
A growing digital collection of newspapers published by Ku Klux Klan organizations, publishers sympathetic to the KKK, and also some anti-Klan organizations.
  • Free or open access
New
Created by UNAM, Latindex is a regional online information system for scientific journals of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
  • Free or open access
New
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM) is an important university in Mexico. Their Open Access e-books portal provides access to the full-text e-books in various subject areas.
  • UCB access only
New
Full text archive of Life magazine from 1936-2000. For a view by year, click here.
  • Free or open access
New
The Los Primeros Libros de las Américas: Impresos Mexicanos del Siglo XVI en las Bibliotecas del Mundo project is building a digital collection of the first books printed in Mexico before 1601
  • UCB access only
  • Free or open access
New
LusOpenEdition is the Portuguese interface for OpenEdition which is an interdisciplinary humanities and social sciences open access portal with four complementary platforms: OpenEdition Books, OpenEdition Journals, Calenda, and Hypotheses.
  • UCB access only
New
Online learning platform with videos and full courses covering software, technology, business and creative skills. Includes courses on Adobe and Microsoft tools, as well as a variety of other web, audio, video, IT, and education topics.
  • UCB access only
New
The English-language Manchuria Daily News (1908 – 1940), published in Dalian (Darien), presents Japan’s case for its presence in China. From 1932 the Manchuria Daily News promotes Japan’s newly founded vassal state Manchoukuo.
  • UCB access only
New
"Includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications." [1965 - current]
  • UCB access only
New
Includes the full surviving run of this institution of American broadcast journalism from the premiere in 1947 to 2013, with thousands of interviews, panels, and debates (over 1,500 hours of footage).
  • UCB access only
New
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
  • UCB access only
New
Mint Global contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. It's the Orbis database with a streamlined interface.
  • UCB access only
New
Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia and, arguably, the newspaper with the longest democratic history. This resource also contains access to the sister publication Moscow Daily News, which ran from 1932-1938.
  • UCB access only
New
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files highlighting the domestic and foreign concerns of the President and his administration, including the Great Depression, the New Deal, and World War II. [1933-1945]
  • UCB access only
New
Retail scanner and consumer panel data from Nielsen Research and the Marketing Data Center at Chicago Booth. The UCB campus license has a number of access restrictions. Please view the libguide link for more detailed information. [2004 - present]
  • UCB access only
New
One of the largest specialized databases in Islamic Studies and Humanities . It provides full text access to more than 1300 magazines for over a million articles in mainly Persian, with some Arabic and English languages. [1900 to Present]
  • UCB access only
New
Ogonek, the most important publication on Soviet culture and everyday life, is now available as an East View Digital Archive collection, in full-image and searchable text.
  • UCB access only
New
Orbis contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. Data is standardized for easy cross-border comparisons.
  • Free or open access
New
The Journals Repository page presents full contents of journals published or co-published by committees and institutes of PAS and Bureau of Science Promotion at Polish Academy of Sciences.
  • UCB access only
New
"Photography: The World through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe."
  • UCB access only
New
Annotated transcripts and corresponding audio of the White House tapes published by the Presidential Recordings Program. The resource includes recordings of Presidents Lyndon B. Johnson, John F. Kennedy, and Richard M. Nixon.
  • Free or open access
New
Preprint service for the psychological sciences. Allows scholars to post working papers, unpublished work, and articles under review. Maintained by the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Sciences (SIPS). [2016 - present]
  • Free or open access
New
REDIB is a platform for the aggregation of scientific and academic content in the electronic format produced in the Ibero-American context. There are currently over 2,000 journal titles indexed in this database with the full-text access.
  • UCB access only
New
Two searchable databases comprising the complete San Francisco Chronicle, Northern California's largest circulation newspaper. 1865-1984, page images from the print edition. 1985 onward, full-text from the electronic edition, lacking graphics.
  • UCB access only
New
Full-text digitized issues of Scientific America back to its first four-page issue published in 1845. The archive also includes the Scientific American Supplement and the Builders Archive Collection. [1845-present]
  • Free or open access
New
Open archive for social science working papers, preprints, and published papers.
  • UCB access only
New
Superstar Journals Database contains 6,500 full-text Chinese journals and more than 1,300 Core journals. It covers many disciplines including engineering, agronomy, social science, cultural, education, philosophy, and medicine.
  • UCB access only
New
The China Press was an English newspaper founded in Shanghai on August 29, 1911, one of the major newspapers in Shanghai in that time period. Its rich content serves as an important research resource for Chinese studies. [1911-1949]
  • UCB access only
New
The Eastern Times was founded in Shanghai on June 12, 1904. It was ranked among the top three newspapers with Sin Wan Pao and Shen Pao. [1904-1939]
  • UCB access only
New
Spanning more than four hundred years, The Guatemala Collection concentrates primarily on the national era, particularly 1824-1948. [full date range: 1587-1991]
  • UCB access only
New
This encyclopedia “contains entries that cover every step of the research process accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication, journalism, and media studies.”
  • UCB access only
New
"This encyclopedia “explores the intersection of psychology, political science, sociology, and human behavior…" Subjects covered includes, political psychology, government systems, and voting patterns among others.
  • UCB access only
New
Full text archive of Time magazine from 1923-2000. For a view by year, click here.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.