Textbooks, images and videos for biomedical science, public health, pharmacology, biomedical engineering, toxicology, neuroscience, bioinformatics, and more.
Comprehensive resource for students, faculty and researchers at the Masters or PhD level in Biomedical Science fields outside the usual medical track. Key texts such as Principles of Neural Science, Goodman & Gilman’s Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Cassarett & Doull’s Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons, Harrison’s Infectious Diseases, Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health & Preventive Medicine, Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, and more.
African Journals Online is the world's largest online library of peer-reviewed, African published scholarly journals, 243 of which are open access. Please note: UC Berkeley does not have a subscription to the content behind a paywall. To view a list limited directly to AJOL's Open Access journals, click here.
WNA-African Newspapers, Series 2 contains 340,000 pages of content from African newspapers published between 1835 and 1925.
Titles from Algeria, Angola, Liberia, Madagascar, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa and Uganda offer deep and unique coverage of nearly a century of African history. Titles were selected from CRL and member collections to complement and extend the range of material available in Series 1.
Provides full text access to the news from 65 renowned Arabic dailies and weeklies in over 20 countries, from 1970s to present. A research tool, specialized in the political, economic, strategic, and social issues in the Arab world. [1970 to present]
Samples of the daily newspapers covered include: al-Ahram (Egypt), al-Zaman (Iraq), al-Dustur (Jordan), al-Nahar (Lebanon), al-Quds (Palestine), al-Hayat (Saudi Arabis) and more.
Full text of the archives of Architectural Digest magazine from 1922-2011. For a view by year, click here.
"A vibrant monthly celebration of international design talents, the Architectural Digest Magazine Archive provides students of art, design, and architecture with an essential research tool. It covers the history of design, includes inspirational ideas, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years."
Full collection of books from Artech House. Practical engineering books that cover areas of electrical engineering, materials science, information security, communications, radar, remote sensing, and other areas of emerging technology. [2000-2018]
askART provides access to artists' profiles, images, literature references, biographies, auction records, art for sale and art wanted, essays on important art movements, and statistics on the markets. Millions of auction records and results (from 1987+). 300,000+ worldwide artists.
"It features international art and artists, both historical and contemporary."
Complete standards collection from the American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME). Includes the most current Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). Note: Users must select "Click here to access via institutional account."
Streaming performances of 37 Shakespeare plays originally adapted for broadcast between 1978 and 1985 in the United Kingdom. Searchable transcripts appear alongside the videos.
"Access to this resource was made possible with help from English department faculty Ida Mae and William J. Eggers Chair in English, Professor Jeffrey Knapp and James D. Hart Chair in English, Professor James Turner."
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) offers literature on biodiversity through open access as part of a global “biodiversity commons.” The BHL has digitized taxonomic literature, representing tens of thousands of titles and >100,000 volumes.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” Founded in 2005, it is a cornerstone organization of the Encyclopedia of Life.
bioRxiv is a free open access archive for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
Federal Government records relating to the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century
Major collections in this module include the FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, FBI Files covering five of the most pivotal arenas of the civil rights struggle of the 1960s: Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations.
Federal Government records from the Ford and Reagan presidencies relating to Civil Rights.
Includes files of officials in the Justice Department's Civil Rights Division as well as collections released in response to Freedom of Information Act requests related to affirmative action; Bob Jones University; busing and school desegregation; civil rights; fair housing; Martin Luther King Jr. Day; the Civil Rights Restoration Act, Grove City College, and the Voting Rights Act of 1982.
"Access to encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more."
"Content reflects the interdisciplinary nature, and resources for studying food, in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
Includes: Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia, the Cambridge World History of Food, Bloomsbury’s Cultural History of Food and chapters from Food History: Critical and Primary Source. Image collections including the Culinary Arts Museum, USA and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, USA."
Brill’s Encyclopedia of Sikhism aims to make available in-depth critical scholarship on all the main aspects of the Sikh traditions in a number of original essays written by the world's foremost scholars on Sikhs and Sikh traditions.
Central Daily News was first published in Shanghai in February 1928. Its headquarters moved to Taiwan in 1949. Central Daily News has been the official news media for the KMT (Kuomintang) government for years.
This newspaper provides informative reports on politics, economy, military, culture, foreign relations and the society. Its reports also captured the changes of society, tracked the interactions between China and foreign countries and the development leading up to World War II and the China Civil War. The print version of Central Daily News ceased in 2006; it is available only online since then. This online database covers page image access to this title from 1928 to 2006.
The Golden Age of Mexican cinema is illuminated in this collection of popular movie periodicals. It includes magazines such as Cinema Reporter (1943-1965), Cine Mundial (1951-1955), and El Cine Gráfico. From the Archives of the Filmoteca of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Mexican cinema, from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its Golden Age (1930s to 1960), was consistently the largest and most important of all the Spanish-speaking countries.
This resource is proposed for cancellation due to budget reductions. The comment period is open through Friday, April 6. We invite you to submit comments via email to firstname.lastname@example.org or directly with your subject librarian.A database on contemporary South Asian art.
Note: This is a two-volume set. To access Volume 2, please click here. Two-volume etymological dictionary of the Romance languages focusing on genesis, methods, and results.
Presents the first attempt at etymologizing the ancestral vocabulary of the Romance languages since the publication of Meyer-Lübke’s REW. Deviating from practices commonly accepted and applied in etymological research, the DÉRom adopts a method that has so far, due to the extensive documentation of written Latin, been dismissed as being little viable for Romance Studies: the comparative analysis of grammar, used to reconstruct proto-Romance lexemes.
Disaster Lit: the Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents/grey literature freely available online.
Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience. Materials selected are from non-commercial publishing sources and supplement disaster-related resources from PubMed (biomedical journal literature) and MedlinePlus (health information for the public). Disaster Lit includes records for surveys, interview scripts, and other tools recommended for use in data collection following a disaster.
Docuseek2 is a streaming video service featuring social issue and documentary films from independent distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, National Film Board of Canada, and Fanlight. Note: When browsing the platform, you will see film icons next to each title. Grayed out icons indicate Berkeley does not have access to these titles. To view a list limited to titles owned by Berkeley, click the "My Movies" link at the top of the page.
A full-text searchable database of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, sciences, medicine, geography, travel, history, and literature. It includes books of European/Arabic translations. [1475-1900]
"The databases consists of three modules: Module 1) Religion and Law. Module 2) Sciences, History, and Geography. Module 3) Periodicals, Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues and General Works." Search in Arabic or Roman scripts.
EarthArXiv provides free, open access, open source archives for the Earth Sciences. It offers a preprint home for all Earth science domains and sub-domains as well as computational, data, and instrumentation research relevant to the Earth sciences.
Scholarly online encyclopedia of library and information studies, including archives, documents, infomatics, knowledge management, museum studies, the sociology of information and more.
Contains more than 10,000 references covering information management, advances in digital technology and encoding, intellectual property issues, and hardware, software, and database selection and design.
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document all of the 1.9 million living species known to science. It is compiled from databases and from contributions by experts and non-experts throughout the world.
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) aims to build one "infinitely expandable" page for each species, including video, sound, images, graphics, as well as text. In addition, the Encyclopedia incorporates content from the Biodiversity Heritage Library, which digitizes printed literature from the world's major natural history libraries.
Energywire covers utilities including the switch to natural gas, the growth of distributed energy, threats to cybersecurity and technology. Provides insight into shale oil and gas development, pipelines, and liquefied natural gas due to markets, regulations and environmental concerns.
Full text archive of Forbes magazine from 1917-2000. For a view by year, click here.
"Forbes has delivered key insight on the business and financial world for nearly a century. With EBSCO’s Forbes Magazine Archive, researchers have unrivaled electronic access to the world’s best business news. This fully searchable full-text archive provides analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style."
Full text archive of Fortune magazine from 1930-2000. For a view by year, click here.
"Fortune Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the long-running business magazine dating from its very first issue in February, 1930 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format."
Provides access to nearly a century of U.S. Daily Tracking Polling data and over a decade of the Gallup World Poll. [1930's to present] Note: Access is limited to one user at a time
"Gallup Analytics allows users to access and use the wealth of Gallup polling data. Polling topics include views on the government, education, well-being, economics, politics. For the United States, it includes new data, as well as historical data to discover trends at the country or state level. Users can track polling data for countries around the globe from 2005-present. All trends are easily searchable and exportable. Subscribers can view data by demographic categories, compare results across geographies to develop and report findings, including direct citations of Gallup's work. Also includes access to Gallup Brain, with polling data going back to the 1930's for the U.S." Access is limited to one user at a time.
Provides full text, comprehensive overviews on animal systematics and morphology as well as extensive coverage of physiology, behaviour, ecology and applied aspects of zoological research. Updated Frequently. [1923--]
"Mapire enables the user to navigate historical maps of the Habsburg empire using state-of-the art technologies including Google Maps, Google Earth and OpenStreetMap."
"It provides access to:
I. The current version of Mapire contains the first military survey (1764-1784) as well as the second military survey (1806-1869). Both of them is scaled 1 to 28.800 and covers the entire Habsburg empire.
II. Cadastral maps were made in all the territories of the Habsburg Empire during the 19th century. The survey was unified scale (1:2.880), same geodetic system and same legend.
III. Historical maps of Budapest (capital of Hungary) are masterpieces of the map series representing the territory of Budapest. "
Database and gene expression pathway analysis software for data derived from 'omics experiments, such as RNA-seq, small RNA-seq, microarrays including miRNA and SNP, metabolomics, proteomics, and small-scale experiments.
Functional annotations relating to biological and chemical interactions, cellular phenotypes, and disease processes are referenced from the scientific literature.
Created by UNAM, Latindex is a regional online information system for scientific journals of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
Latindex is an information system about scientific, technical-professional and scientific and cultural dissemination journals published in the countries of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. The idea of creating Latindex emerged in 1995 at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) and became a regional cooperation network from 1997 onwards.
Full text archive of Life magazine from 1936-2000. For a view by year, click here.
"Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek. Life Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture."
The Los Primeros Libros de las Américas: Impresos Mexicanos del Siglo XVI en las Bibliotecas del Mundo project is building a digital collection of the first books printed in Mexico before 1601
"These monographs are very important because they represent the first printing in the New World and provide primary sources for scholarly studies focused on a variety of academic fields.
Approximately 220 unique titles are held in institutions around the world with most held in Mexico and the United States. The project currently brings together 15 partner institutions in Mexico, the United States, South America, and Europe."
LusOpenEdition is the Portuguese interface for OpenEdition which is an interdisciplinary humanities and social sciences open access portal with four complementary platforms: OpenEdition Books, OpenEdition Journals, Calenda, and Hypotheses.
The institutional subscription to OpenEdition Fremium allows the UC Berkeley community to participate in an acquisitions policy that both supports sustainable development of OA and that respects the needs of teaching, research and learning communities: no DRM or download quotas are applied. LusOpenEdition is made possible with financial support from Centre pour l’édition électronique ouverte (Cléo, 2011- ), Centro em Rede de Investigação em Antropologia (2011- ), Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian (2011-2014), and ISCTE-Instituto Universitário de Lisboa (2016 – ).
Online learning platform with videos and full courses covering software, technology, business and creative skills. Includes courses on Adobe and Microsoft tools, as well as a variety of other web, audio, video, IT, and education topics.
The English-language Manchuria Daily News (1908 – 1940), published in Dalian (Darien), presents Japan’s case for its presence in China. From 1932 the Manchuria Daily News promotes Japan’s newly founded vassal state Manchoukuo.
The English-language Manchuria Daily News (1908 – 1940), published in Dalian (Darien), presents Japan’s case for its presence in China. From 1932 the Manchuria Daily News promotes Japan’s newly founded vassal state Manchoukuo, as the showcase state for Japan’s cultural, political and technological leadership of Asia. Complemented here by Manchuria Magazine, Manchuria Month, Contemporary Manchuria and the Manchuria Information Bulletin, the Manchuria Daily News offers scholars of the modern history of Japan in China a multifaceted view of competing Japanese agendas in the China theatre.
"Includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications." [1965 - current]
"Featuring content from 1962 to present, the database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming. To support engineering research, the database provides easy access to millions of bibliographic abstracts for the widest and deepest coverage of new technologies and engineering research, including civil, mechanical, environmental, earthquake, mechanical, and transportation."
This database also includes the content found within the Earthquake Engineering Abstracts database.
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
Mint Global contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. It's the Orbis database with a streamlined interface.
"Mint Global includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.
The same data is accessible with an expanded interface via Orbis. "
Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia and, arguably, the newspaper with the longest democratic history. This resource also contains access to the sister publication Moscow Daily News, which ran from 1932-1938.
"From a mouthpiece of the Communist party to an influential advocate for social and political change, the pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. "
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files highlighting the domestic and foreign concerns of the President and his administration, including the Great Depression, the New Deal, and World War II. [1933-1945]
Also includes selected records of the FBI, Civil Conservation Corps, the Committee on Economic Security, and the Department of Treasury.
Retail scanner and consumer panel data from Nielsen Research and the Marketing Data Center at Chicago Booth. The UCB campus license has a number of access restrictions. Please view the libguide link for more detailed information. [2004 - present]
The James M. Kilts Center for Marketing at Chicago Booth and the Nielsen Company have partnered to make two consumer marketing datasets available to US-based academic researchers. The Consumer Panel Data include longitudinal data beginning in 2004 with annual updates. These data track a panel of 40,000 - 60,000 US households and their purchases of consumer goods from a wide range of retail outlets across all US markets. Retail Scanner Data consist of weekly pricing, volume, and store environment information generated by point-of-sale systems from more than 90 participating retail chains across all US markets. Data begin in 2006 and include annual updates.
One of the largest specialized databases in Islamic Studies and Humanities . It provides full text access to more than 1300 magazines for over a million articles in mainly Persian, with some Arabic and English languages. [1900 to Present]
Mainly Persian, with some Arabic and English languages.
Ogonek, the most important publication on Soviet culture and everyday life, is now available as an East View Digital Archive collection, in full-image and searchable text.
"Ogonek would serve its mission with certain aplomb and sophistication. Lacking the crudeness and the bombast of the main organs of Communist Party propaganda, Ogonek was able to become one of the most influential shapers and reflectors of the public character of the Soviet culture. Although it did so by imposing structural limitations on accepted and acceptable cultural expressions, it was nevertheless able
to win over even non-believers in the Communist experiment if simply because it became synonymous with cultural good taste. Every self-respecting Soviet intellectual was expected to read Ogonek if he or she was to stay informed about the cultural world in which he or she lived and moved."
Orbis contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. Data is standardized for easy cross-border comparisons.
"Orbis includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.
The same data is accessible with a simpler interface via Mint Global. "
"Photography: The World through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe."
"Some images are well-known while many have rarely been viewed. The nineteenth century was about family and society, invention and scientific discovery, exploration and colonization, urban versus rural life, work, leisure and travel—all this is captured in photographs. This engaging resource serves multiple disciplines and supports a range of research and study topics."
Annotated transcripts and corresponding audio of the White House tapes published by the Presidential Recordings Program. The resource includes recordings of Presidents Lyndon B. Johnson, John F. Kennedy, and Richard M. Nixon.
Preprint service for the psychological sciences. Allows scholars to post working papers, unpublished work, and articles under review. Maintained by the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Sciences (SIPS). [2016 - present]
REDIB is a platform for the aggregation of scientific and academic content in the electronic format produced in the Ibero-American context. There are currently over 2,000 journal titles indexed in this database with the full-text access.
Two searchable databases comprising the complete San Francisco Chronicle, Northern California's largest circulation newspaper. 1865-1984, page images from the print edition. 1985 onward, full-text from the electronic edition, lacking graphics.
Full-text digitized issues of Scientific America back to its first four-page issue published in 1845. The archive also includes the Scientific American Supplement and the Builders Archive Collection. [1845-present]
Superstar Journals Database contains 6,500 full-text Chinese journals and more than 1,300 Core journals. It covers many disciplines including engineering, agronomy, social science, cultural, education, philosophy, and medicine.
This database not only provides users with the traditional PDF format, it also enables users to stream full articles and journals to their mobile devices.
The China Press was an English newspaper founded in Shanghai on August 29, 1911, one of the major newspapers in Shanghai in that time period. Its rich content serves as an important research resource for Chinese studies. [1911-1949]
This newspaper was established by an American Thomas F.Millard, most editors and staff were American journalists. It covers political news (including the Revolution of 1911), world and local news, education and women issues, novels, entertainment news and advertisements.
The Eastern Times was founded in Shanghai on June 12, 1904. It was ranked among the top three newspapers with Sin Wan Pao and Shen Pao. [1904-1939]
The newspaper was established by Di Chuqing, and Huang Bohui took over in 1921. It hired famous newspapermen like Luo Xiaogao, Chen Jinghan, Bao Tianxiao as editors. It carried national and local news, commentaries, sport news, novels and entertainment news.
Spanning more than four hundred years, The Guatemala Collection concentrates primarily on the national era, particularly 1824-1948. [full date range: 1587-1991]
The vast majority of the documents—correspondence, annual reports, statistics, letters, litigation—found within The Guatemala Collection are copies from the Archivo General de Centroamérica and the Archivo Histórico Arquidiocesano “Francisco de Paula García Peláez” (formerly known as Archivo Eclesiástico de Guatemala) in Guatemala City.
"This encyclopedia “explores the intersection of psychology, political science, sociology, and human behavior…" Subjects covered includes, political psychology, government systems, and voting patterns among others.
Also, integrates theories, research, and case studies from a variety of disciplines....
Full text archive of Time magazine from 1923-2000. For a view by year, click here.
"Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek. The Time Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture."