Provides full text access to the news from 65 renowned Arabic dailies and weeklies in over 20 countries, from 1970s to present. A research tool, specialized in the political, economic, strategic, and social issues in the Arab world. [1970 to present]
Samples of the daily newspapers covered include: al-Ahram (Egypt), al-Zaman (Iraq), al-Dustur (Jordan), al-Nahar (Lebanon), al-Quds (Palestine), al-Hayat (Saudi Arabis) and more.
Full collection of books from Artech House. Practical engineering books that cover areas of electrical engineering, materials science, information security, communications, radar, remote sensing, and other areas of emerging technology. [2000-2018]
askART provides access to artists' profiles, images, literature references, biographies, auction records, art for sale and art wanted, essays on important art movements, and statistics on the markets. Millions of auction records and results (from 1987+). 300,000+ worldwide artists.
"It features international art and artists, both historical and contemporary."
Genomes and predicted metabolic pathways for thousands of organisms, together with a suite of software tools for analysis and visualization.
Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) are generated by software that predict the metabolic pathways of completely sequenced organisms, predict which genes code for missing enzymes in metabolic pathways, and predict operons. BioCyc also integrates information from other bioinformatics databases, such as protein feature and Gene Ontology information from UniProt. The BioCyc website provides a suite of software tools for database searching and visualization, for omics data analysis, and for comparative genomics and comparative pathway questions.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) offers literature on biodiversity through open access as part of a global “biodiversity commons.” The BHL has digitized taxonomic literature, representing tens of thousands of titles and >100,000 volumes.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” Founded in 2005, it is a cornerstone organization of the Encyclopedia of Life.
bioRxiv is a free open access archive for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
Federal Government records relating to the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century
Major collections in this module include the FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, FBI Files covering five of the most pivotal arenas of the civil rights struggle of the 1960s: Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations.
Federal Government records from the Ford and Reagan presidencies relating to Civil Rights.
Includes files of officials in the Justice Department's Civil Rights Division as well as collections released in response to Freedom of Information Act requests related to affirmative action; Bob Jones University; busing and school desegregation; civil rights; fair housing; Martin Luther King Jr. Day; the Civil Rights Restoration Act, Grove City College, and the Voting Rights Act of 1982.
"Access to encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more."
"Content reflects the interdisciplinary nature, and resources for studying food, in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
Includes: Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia, the Cambridge World History of Food, Bloomsbury’s Cultural History of Food and chapters from Food History: Critical and Primary Source. Image collections including the Culinary Arts Museum, USA and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, USA."
Brill’s Encyclopedia of Sikhism aims to make available in-depth critical scholarship on all the main aspects of the Sikh traditions in a number of original essays written by the world's foremost scholars on Sikhs and Sikh traditions.
Cost-of-living data at the MSA, county, and city level. Updated quarterly.
"Published since 1968, the Cost of Living Index, published by the Council for Community and Economic Research (C2ER), has been the most consistent source of city-to-city cost comparisons available. Published quarterly, using over 60 goods and services collected at the local level from over 300 independent researchers, COLI is the only local level cost of living index available for the US. Items on which the Index is based have been carefully chosen to reflect the different categories of consumer expenditures. "
The online library currently provides public access to 27,000 important historical documents covering the Russian revolution and early Soviet period.
"The Digital Library of Historical Documents project digitizes these rare paper documentary collections, separates historical documents from the publications, describes and publishes them individually in the public online collection."
Docuseek2 is a streaming video service featuring social issue and documentary films from independent distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, National Film Board of Canada, and Fanlight. Note: When browsing the platform, you will see film icons next to each title. Grayed out icons indicate Berkeley does not have access to these titles. To view a list limited to titles owned by Berkeley, click the "My Movies" link at the top of the page.
Contains clinically-oriented, evidence-based summaries written by medical experts for point-of-care use by physicians, medical students, nurses, pharmacists, physical therapists and other health care professionals.
"DynaMed Plus includes the most frequently updated evidence-based content; content is supplemented with full color images, is optimized for the way a physician works and provides the quickest time-to-answer. DynaMed Plus is the only clinical decision support tool to give users thorough and transparent insights into the strength of the evidence-based data for how recommendations are made.""-- Publisher's website
A full-text searchable database of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, sciences, medicine, geography, travel, history, and literature. It includes books of European/Arabic translations. [1475-1900]
"The databases consists of three modules: Module 1) Religion and Law. Module 2) Sciences, History, and Geography. Module 3) Periodicals, Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues and General Works." Search in Arabic or Roman scripts.
Full-color, high-resolution facsimile scans of rare texts in European languages from the early modern period (1450s-1701), with strong representation in Danish, Dutch, French, Italian, and Latin texts.
Contents are drawn from rare book collections from the Danish Royal Library, the National Central Library in Florence, the National Library of France, the National Library of the Netherlands, the Wellcome Library in London, and others. Search by country of publication, language, page features (illustration, musical notation), and source library, and you can include historical and linguistic variants in your search. Books can be browsed in an online Flash-based viewer or downloaded as JPEGs or PDFs. The scans are of the entire physical object and pages, including marginalia and binding.
Scholarly online encyclopedia of library and information studies, including archives, documents, infomatics, knowledge management, museum studies, the sociology of information and more.
Contains more than 10,000 references covering information management, advances in digital technology and encoding, intellectual property issues, and hardware, software, and database selection and design.
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document all of the 1.9 million living species known to science. It is compiled from databases and from contributions by experts and non-experts throughout the world.
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) aims to build one "infinitely expandable" page for each species, including video, sound, images, graphics, as well as text. In addition, the Encyclopedia incorporates content from the Biodiversity Heritage Library, which digitizes printed literature from the world's major natural history libraries.
Provides full text, comprehensive overviews on animal systematics and morphology as well as extensive coverage of physiology, behaviour, ecology and applied aspects of zoological research. Updated Frequently. [1923--]
Created by UNAM, Latindex is a regional online information system for scientific journals of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
Latindex is an information system about scientific, technical-professional and scientific and cultural dissemination journals published in the countries of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. The idea of creating Latindex emerged in 1995 at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) and became a regional cooperation network from 1997 onwards.
Online learning platform with videos and full courses covering software, technology, business and creative skills. Includes courses on Adobe and Microsoft tools, as well as a variety of other web, audio, video, IT, and education topics.
"Includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications." [1965 - current]
"Featuring content from 1962 to present, the database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming. To support engineering research, the database provides easy access to millions of bibliographic abstracts for the widest and deepest coverage of new technologies and engineering research, including civil, mechanical, environmental, earthquake, mechanical, and transportation."
This database also includes the content found within the Earthquake Engineering Abstracts database.
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files highlighting the domestic and foreign concerns of the President and his administration, including the Great Depression, the New Deal, and World War II. [1933-1945]
Also includes selected records of the FBI, Civil Conservation Corps, the Committee on Economic Security, and the Department of Treasury.
"The OAPEN Foundation is a not-for-profit organisation based in the Netherlands, with its registered office at the National Library in The Hague. OAPEN is dedicated to open access, peer-reviewed books."
Multi-disciplinary, Multi-lingual repository of OA books.
"Photography: The World through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe."
"Some images are well-known while many have rarely been viewed. The nineteenth century was about family and society, invention and scientific discovery, exploration and colonization, urban versus rural life, work, leisure and travel—all this is captured in photographs. This engaging resource serves multiple disciplines and supports a range of research and study topics."
Annotated transcripts and corresponding audio of the White House tapes published by the Presidential Recordings Program. The resource includes recordings of Presidents Lyndon B. Johnson, John F. Kennedy, and Richard M. Nixon.
Preprint service for the psychological sciences. Allows scholars to post working papers, unpublished work, and articles under review. Maintained by the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Sciences (SIPS). [2016 - present]
Two searchable databases comprising the complete San Francisco Chronicle, Northern California's largest circulation newspaper. 1865-1984, page images from the print edition. 1985 onward, full-text from the electronic edition, lacking graphics.
Full-text digitized issues of Scientific America back to its first four-page issue published in 1845. The archive also includes the Scientific American Supplement and the Builders Archive Collection. [1845-present]
This is a repository for the doctoral dissertations of the department of History of the Fluminense Federal University (Portuguese: Universidade Federal Fluminense, UFF).
UFF is a public higher education institution located mainly in Niterói and in other cities of Rio de Janeiro state. It was first established on December 18, 1960, with the name of Universidade Federal do Estado do Rio de Janeiro (UFERJ), through an integration of different academic colleges in the city of Niterói.
The China Press was an English newspaper founded in Shanghai on August 29, 1911, one of the major newspapers in Shanghai in that time period. Its rich content serves as an important research resource for Chinese studies. [1911-1949]
This newspaper was established by an American Thomas F.Millard, most editors and staff were American journalists. It covers political news (including the Revolution of 1911), world and local news, education and women issues, novels, entertainment news and advertisements.
The Eastern Times was founded in Shanghai on June 12, 1904. It was ranked among the top three newspapers with Sin Wan Pao and Shen Pao. [1904-1939]
The newspaper was established by Di Chuqing, and Huang Bohui took over in 1921. It hired famous newspapermen like Luo Xiaogao, Chen Jinghan, Bao Tianxiao as editors. It carried national and local news, commentaries, sport news, novels and entertainment news.
"This encyclopedia “explores the intersection of psychology, political science, sociology, and human behavior…" Subjects covered includes, political psychology, government systems, and voting patterns among others.
Also, integrates theories, research, and case studies from a variety of disciplines....
Trove Newspaper Collection includes most of the digitized newspapers with full-text access. This collection was created as a part of a larger database of the digital resources by the National Library of Australia. [1803-2018]
"Trove helps you find and use resources relating to Australia. It's more than a search engine. Trove brings together content from libraries, museums, archives, repositories and other research and collecting organisations big and small. A list of contributors and partners whose collections are included in Trove can be viewed online. For more information see: https://trove.nla.gov.au/general/about"