Skip to main content

Duplication & Permission Services at The Bancroft Library: Permission Services

A guide to the duplication and permission services available at The Bancroft Library, including information on how to request these services and a list of frequently asked questions.

Permission Services Overview

Authorization to publish or exhibit facsimiles or quotations of collection material must be obtained in advance and in writing from The Bancroft Library. A fee may be required. "Publication" includes the following media: print, internet, digital, video, film or public exhibition. These fees are assessed by The Bancroft Library as the owner of the physical collection material and must be distinguished from any fees that might be assigned/assessed by a copyright holder. You are solely responsible for securing permission from the copyright holder and paying any associated fees.

Information can be found below for the following permission types:

Please see our Frequently Asked Questions tab if you have a question about permissions that is not answered below.

The Bancroft Library requests a complimentary copy of all publications which make significant use of its collections.

Permission to Publish a Facsimile (Image)

To publish a facsimile (image) of any material in the collection of The Bancroft Library you will need to submit a formal request through Aeon.  The Bancroft Library requires that all images used in publication be derived from a high resolution preservation master tiff files. A high resolution image file can be obtained through duplication services and is a requirement of obtaining permission to publish any reproduction of collection material.  

If the University of California Regents own copyright to an image that you have sourced from another institution the above policy can be waived.  Please see the Copyright Permission box below for more information.

The Bancroft Library will provide you with a signed contract outlining your project, the requested materials, and our standard terms of use once the order has been approved by staff.  The contract will include the required credit line.

Instructions for how to submit a request for publication can be found under the How to Order tab.

Copyright Permission

The Bancroft Library manages copyright held by the University of California Regents to material in our collection.  Non-exclusive contracts with copyright clearance can be obtained for use of these materials by submitting a Permissions Order through Aeon.

[Fernand Leger sitting next to his painting of three women], Thérèse Bonney photograph collection [graphic], BANC PIC 1982.111 ser. 16 Leger, Fernand--POR 15.  © The Regents of the University of California, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley.

 

The University of California Regents own copyright to all images by Thérèse Bonney. Other institutions may supply you with digital image files derived from original Bonney work in their institution, but permission must be granted by The Bancroft Library before publication can occur. Please submit a Permission Order (instructions can be found on the How to Order Services tab, in the box labeled Placing a Permissions Only Order for Material Provided by a non-UC Institution). Use the identifier from the institution providing you with the image in the Call Number field on the order form and list the supplying institution in the Collection Title field. Bancroft staff will not be able to proceed with your order without this information. Staff may also provide you with duplication from the Thérèse Bonney collection (BANC PIC 1982.111) if you would like.

Permission to Cite

If you wish to cite material held in the collection of The Bancroft Library you do not need to request permission.  The publication must properly credit The Bancroft Library. Credit should appear in close proximity to the citation or in a special section devoted to credits. The required credit line is:
[Name of collection], [Call number of collection]. Courtesy of The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley.

Permission to Quote from Bancroft Manuscript Collections

If you would like to quote from material held in the collection of The Bancroft Library you do not need to use the Aeon system. Please fill out our Request Permission to Quote Form by clicking here.

Instructions can be found on the form.

Permission to Quote from Oral History Center (OHC) Interview Transcripts

The Oral History Center (OHC, formerly the Regional Oral History Office or ROHO), a research group of The Bancroft Library, documents the history of California, the nation, and the interconnected global arena. OHC produces carefully researched, audio/video-recorded and transcribed oral histories, and interpretative historical materials for the widest possible use. In service to its mission OHC makes full transcripts of the interviews available as a PDF through its website.

Publication of quotations from transcription of interviews, for which the Berkeley Regents are the copyright holder, of up to 1,000 words are permissible without submitting a request to publish. The copyright information is available in the introductory pages of each interview transcript.

If you would like to publish more than 1,000 words from a transcription of a single interview or more than 2,500 words from a combination of interviews in one publication (e.g. an article, a book, a dissertation), or publish quotations from the original audio of the interview, you must request permission to publish from the Permission Officer of The Bancroft Library via email. Fees may apply. If you would like to publish audio or video excerpts from any interview, you must request permission to publish from the Permission Officer of The Bancroft Library. Publication and duplication fees may apply.

When requesting permission to publish (when applicable), please include the following in your request:
Information about the OHC material to be published: Name of Interviewee, Name of Interviewer, Title of Interview, Link to Transcript (when available), Full quotation(s) for which permission is requested.
Description of Publishing Project: Author(s)/Creator(s), Type of Project, Title of Project, Publisher(s)/Sponsor(s), Place of Publication, Date of Publication, Estimated Press Run.

OHC requests that you cite its material in your publication using this format:  [Name of Interviewee], [Title of Interview], [Name of Interviewer], [Date of Interview]. Oral History Center, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley, © [Date of Copyright].

When publishing in a digital medium, please include a link back to the OHC homepage.

In all cases, The Bancroft Library requests that you submit a bibliographic citation of the published work in which Oral History Center interviews are included to the Bancroft Permission Officer.

Terms of Use

  1. The applicant agrees to send The Bancroft Library one complimentary copy of the work containing the reproduction. Please send to address below:

    The Bancroft Library
    ATTN: Permission & Access Officer
    University of California, Berkeley
    Berkeley, CA 94720

  2. The Bancroft Library retains all rights to reproductions of collection material including the right to grant others permission to reproduce the material. Additional copies must be purchased from The Bancroft Library. The photographic copy or any facsimile of it may not be reproduced beyond the intended use submitted on this Permission Form.
  3. Permission for publication is granted for one-time use and only for the expressed purpose outlined in the final contract arising from this request. Any subsequent use, or change in use, constitutes reuse and a new Permissions Order Form submitted and appropriate fees paid. Permission is limited to the applicant and is not transferable. Permission for use is not granted until all fees are paid. These fees are assessed by The Bancroft Library as the owner of the physical collection material and must be distinguished from any that might be assigned/assessed by a copyright holder. You are solely responsible for securing permission from the copyright holder and paying any associated fees.
  4. Altering the original photographic image beyond standard cropping or resizing requires further discussion with Staff. These changes must be indicated in the accompanying caption or label.
  5. Unless specifically authorized by the contract, images may not be used as a dust jacket, an end paper, nor in an advertisement or any commercial or promotional use of a similar nature, nor to mass reproduce as unbound material.
  6. The publication must properly credit The Bancroft Library. Credit should appear in close proximity to the image or in a special section devoted to credits. The required credit line is:
    [Name of collection], [Call number of collection]. Courtesy of The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley.
  7. Call numbers should appear either near the illustrations or at the point of credit. Crediting individual items is mandatory. Credit should be included with other sources of illustrations in film or video publications.The resolution of reproductions distributed electronically should not be greater than 300 dpi at a maximum of 1000 pixels on the long edge. Credit for images used in exhibitions must appear within the exhibition area.
  8. In authorizing the publication of a photographic copy, The Bancroft Library does not surrender its own right to publish it, or to grant permission to others to do so. All rights are non-exclusive.
  9. Rights are offered for a maximum period of ten years. The University of California does not issue rights in perpetuity.
  10. The Bancroft Library reserves the right to limit the number of photographic copies; to restrict the use of reproduction of rare or valuable material involving unusual difficulty in copying; and to charge a higher duplication fee than specified. Copies are not supplied to commercial picture agencies except by special arrangement.

Permission to Publish Oral History Center (OHC) Audio/Visual Interviews

The Oral History Center (OHC, formerly the Regional Oral History Office or ROHO), a research group of The Bancroft Library, documents the history of California, the nation, and the interconnected global arena. OHC produces carefully researched, audio/video-recorded and transcribed oral histories, and interpretative historical materials for the widest possible use. In service to our mission OHC makes full transcripts of the interviews available as a PDF through our website.
 

Historically, all interviews were transcribed from their original recordings (usually on reel to reel tapes or cassettes) and interviewees were given the right to review, edit, and seal the interview if they wished. Many interviewees submitted edits, deletions, and seals upon the reviewing the full transcript. When these edits were made in the final transcript that document then becomes the document of record, and end-users are then required to quote from the transcript rather than the original recordings, which remain unedited.

We understand that there may be requests to listen to, and possibly use the audio recording, rather than the written word.  In order to allow access to this material while preserving the intent behind having the transcript be the document of record the following steps must be taken:

 
1. View the transcript:
Most oral histories have published transcripts available, either online as a PDF or as a bound volume in the reading room.  You will want to consult this transcript to get an idea of what quotes you are interested in using.  For interviews with time codes, please submit the corresponding time codes you wish to use. For interviews without time codes match the page number(s) of the quote(s) to the tape guide found in the back of each transcript (see the table of contents for the exact page number of the tape guide).  
 
2. Listen to the Recording:

If you would like to request to listen to the original recordings in the reading room, submit your request in Aeon requesting the specific tape numbers you found in the tape guide of the transcript.  Instructions on how to do so can be found here.

If you would like to request a digital file of the original recordings, submit your order in Aeon requesting the specific tape numbers you found in the tape guide of the transcript.  Instructions on how to do so can be found here.  Note that a fee will be charged duplication fees for each carrier ordered; the fee schedule can be found here.  If the digital files need to be created from the original tapes it takes up to 60 business days to receive the files.

The Director of the Oral History collection will need to approve your request before access can be allowed, as all oral history A/V material is restricted.

 
3. Match Audio to Transcript:
In order for permission to be granted for you to publish the audio in any form you will need to submit the following to Bancroft staff: exact quote from the transcript (include page number from transcript and block of text) and the timecode on the audio that matches the published quotes.  Permission will not be given for audio that does not exist in the transcript.
 
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.