Skip to main content

Botany: Articles

A guide for researchers of systematic and taxonomic botany, and those studying plant and fungal diversity.

Best for articles

Agricultural and Environmental Science
LImit by peer review. [1960 - present]

BIOSIS Previews
Reviews, articles, papers, and books on biological and biomedical topics. Limit to literature reviews. [1926 - present]

CAB Abstracts
Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature. [1910 - present]

Google Scholar
Settings: Use UC-eLinks for full text; search Library Links for "Berkeley", choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks."

JSTOR Global Plants
database of high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world. (JSTOR Plant Science)

PubAg
articles by USDA researchers, plus indexing of peer-reviewed articles relevant to the agricultural sciences.

PubMed (use Berkeley's log-in to get full text links)
Search literature from MEDLINE, journals, & books. Includes reviews limit. [1947 - present]

Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.

Web of Science
Comprehensive database, providing searching of footnoted citations and cited references. [1900 - present]

Statistics and Unique Data

Statista
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. includes industry reports.

     UCB access only

BPH-2: Periodicals with Botanical Content

BPH Online: Botanico-Periodicum-Huntianum
a searchable database of periodicals with botanical content. Include more than 33,000 entries.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.