Provides insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era's foremost consumer analyst and widely-recognised "father" of Motivational Research.
Includes thousands of reports commissioned by advertising agencies and global businesses in a booming era for consumerism. The documents of Ernest Dichter and his Institute for Motivational Research include extensive qualitative investigations into consumer behavior and motivation. Hundreds of advertising images are available in the Ad Gallery. Supplementary material includes a searchable interactive chronology of events in the history of American consumerism and essays and other resources that provide a deeper insight into Dichter and the world of market research. Formerly titled "American Consumer Culture."
This collection comprises the National Negro Business League files in Part III of the Booker T. Washington Papers in the possession of the Library of Congress. (15,779 images) [1901-1928]
Booker T. Washington, founder of the National Negro Business League, believed that solutions to the problem of racial discrimination were primarily economic, and that bringing African Americans into the middle class was the key. In 1900, he established the League "to promote the commercial and financial development of the Negro," and headed it until his death.
Advertising items and publications illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
Over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials is drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University.
Digitized collection of original manuscript and printed documents from around the world to support the study of fifteen major commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, and wine and spirits.
Provides original sources materials to help explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world. The commodities include: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, and wine and spirits.
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry. [1927-1968]
"The Production Code was written in 1929 by Martin J. Quigley, an influential editor and publisher of motion picture trade periodicals, and Reverend Daniel A. Lord, a Jesuit advisor to Hollywood filmmakers. Officially accepted in 1930 by the Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America (MPPDA), the precursor organization to the MPAA, the Production Code presented guidelines governing American movie production. The five hundred titles selected were chosen by the staff of the library’s Special Collections Department, with advice from film historian Leonard J. Leff.
Source Library: Margaret Herrick Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Beverly Hills, California. "
First-hand accounts from journals and diaries document the foundation of the East India Company and the independence of India.
The resource consists of the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland relating to South Asian history between 1615 and 1947 and cover material on India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Malaysia, and Singapore. Types of resources include diaries, journals, private as well as official papers, letters, sketches, paintings, and other original documents related to Indian history and literature. Sources include the East India Company, government documents, and papers of British military officers and civil servants in India.
Tracks the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Include books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more sourced from leading collections at major libraries around the world [dates vary]
A digital collection of more than 61,000 books from the period 1460-1850, and 466 pre-1906 serials. Focuses on economics but includes political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Combines the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library, and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale.
Digitized public domain media periodicals and online access to the histories of cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound. [1905-1973]
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.
Corporate and industry related documents from the Moody's Corporate and Government/Municipal Manuals from 1909 to the present day. (Moody's Manuals - Mergent WebReports)
The Mergent Archives provides online access to the Moody's/Mergent manuals. These manuals provide corporate histories, business descriptions, and information on properties, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt, financial statements and municipal debt. The database covers the following manuals: Industrial Manual (1920-present) Public Utility Manual (1914-present) OTC Industrial Manual (1970-present) OTC Unlisted Manual (1986-present) Transportation Manual (1909-present) International Manual (1981-present) Bank and Finance Manual (1928-present), Municipal & Government (2005-present).
"Papers from the Emergency Court of Appeals, the sole venue for challenges to the Emergency Price Control Act of 1942.
104,265 images from the Library of Congress. " [1941-1961]
In the Emergency Price Control Act of 1942, Congress established a comprehensive system of administrative controls over prices, as a means of checking the inflation that accompanied America’s entry into World War II. The Act created a temporary Emergency Court of Appeals, staffed by federal judges from the district courts and courts of appeals, with exclusive jurisdiction to determine the validity of price control regulations.
"The collection consists of records of the United Domestic Workers Union (U.S) from 1965-1979.
Content: 8,853 images
Source Library: Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library" [1965-1979]
The correspondence (1965-1979) reflects efforts in organizing the Union and includes such correspondents as Julian Bond, Senator Sam Nunn, Senator Herman Talmadge, Allen Williams, Andrew Young, and other Georgia and national political figures. The subject files (1967-1979) cover myriad topics illustrating the Union’s involvement in the Black community, the Manpower Program, the Career Learning Center, the Homemaking Skills Training Program, Maids Honor Day, the Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA), and various federal agencies.
Digitized historical, manuscript, and image collections related to women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. Includes books and pamphlets, photographs and manuscripts.
Provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image collections. Explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. Documents working conditions, conditions in the home, costs of living, recreation, health and hygeine, conduct of life, policies and regulations governing the workplace, and social issues. When completed, the collections will contain more than 2200 books and pamphlets, 1000 photographs and 10,000 pages from manuscript collections.