Library Guides: E-Resources: The Caribbean and Latin American Studies at UC Berkeley: Home

UC Library Search

UC Library Search
Please first start your search here!

E-Books

CLASCO OA e-books collection This link opens in a new window The OA e-books collection of The Latin American Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO) currently provides no charge access to over fourteen hundred e-books.
The Latin American Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO) is an international non-governmental institution, created in 1967 from an initiative of UNESCO, institution in which it has Associative status. Currently, it brings together 680 research centers and postgraduate programs (masters and doctorates) in various fields of Social Sciences and Humanities, located in 51 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, in the United States, in Africa and in Europe.
Digitalia This link opens in a new window Collection of Spanish and Catalan e-books published in Latin America and Spain. (Digitalia Hispanica)
Digitalia e-books can be read as PDFs, HTML, or Flash files. To date, the UCB Library has purchased more than 2100+ titles which are all discoverable in UC Library Search.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. (Hathi Trust)
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures This link opens in a new window Reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.
The first comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. 600 articles encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods. The Encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced, signed articles by the leading scholars in the discipline. Online counterpart of the 3-volume print edition published in 2001.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History This link opens in a new window The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History is a exhaustive digital encyclopedia that covers different topics and subjects related to Latin America's peoples and experiences from per-Columbian to contemporary times.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Ebook platform with access to hundreds academic publishers. The individual ebooks in this collection are also listed in UC Library Search.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.

Google Books
SciELO Books Portal The SciELO Books Portal publishes national and thematic collections of academic books online with the objective of maximizing the visibility, accessibility, use and impact of the research results, essays and studies that are published in them. The books published by SciELO Books are selected by a scientific committee following a peer review process. The digital versions of the books are formatted according to international standards that allow for access and citation controls, and that permit the books to be read on the widest possible variety of ebook readers, tablets, smartphones and internet browsers.
CLACSO E-Books Site self-description: "El Repositorio Digital de CLACSO es una iniciativa colaborativa que difunde la producción de la red de centros asociados y programas de CLACSO desde 1998. A partir del firme objetivo de contribuir a la difusión de la producción académica de los centros asociados y programas que integran CLACSO, hemos conformado una Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales en forma cooperativa, descentralizada y respetando la filosofía del acceso abierto. La misma procura incrementar el impacto de los resultados de esa producción en educación, investigación, en los actores sociales y la sociedad en su conjunto."

Select Free Resources

Archivo Histórico de Revistas Argentinas Digitizations of magazines and periodicals representing key moments in the development of cultural journalism in Argentina, accompanied by indices and brief critical essays and articles.
Biblioteca Andina Contains fulltext items, including new and rare books relating to Andean culture, history, education, indigenous languages, children’s literature and biodiversity, held by a libraries in northern South America.
Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano (BDPI) A gateway to digitized books, manuscripts, images, musical scores, newspapers, magazines, and sound recordings from the national libraries of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Peru, Portugal, Spain, and Uruguay. Allows you to search all the libraries' collections at once and then links you out to that library's webpage.
Colección Iberoamericana
Digital Collections of the Ibero-American Institute The Digital Collections contain all the digitalized publications of the Ibero-American Institute. You can search the digitalized objects or you may access the different collections. If you want to save the results of your search and exchange them with other users, or annotate the digitalized objects you are working with, you have to use the "login" and create your personal user account. Furthermore, you can create your own virtual bookshelf.
Digital Library of the Caribbean The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. The dLOC partner institutions are the core of dLOC. dLOC partners retain all rights to their materials and provide access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. (Information on how to become a dLOC partner).
El Informador (Mexico): The Newspaper Archive This archive contains all the issues of El Informador beginning 1917 in their full-text format.
LANIC: Newspapers & News
The Latin American Journals Project Self-description: "The Latin American Journals Project was established by Tom McEnaney (former Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature at Cornell) in collaboration with Cornell University Library’s Digital Consulting & Production Services in order to provide a hub for scholars across the globe to more easily access literary and cultural journals published in the Hispanophone Caribbean and Latin America during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Many of these journals remain difficult to find in their printed form, and/or hard to access in private collections, including in many of the countries where the journals first appeared. Our ambition has been to make these journals accessible to the largest possible audience for scholarly work. Unfortunately, legal limitations have forced us to structure the site with different tiers of access. If you have suggestions for additional titles that should be made available through this site, please contact us at dcaps@cornell.edu, and we will do our best to work with you to do so (whether as an individual or a partner institution)."
Publicaciones periódicas del Uruguay Includes a variety of digitized publications, including newspapers, magazines, and comic books.
SciELO Livros The SciELO Books Portal publishes national and thematic collections of academic books online with the objective of maximizing the visibility, accessibility, use and impact of the research results, essays and studies that are published in them. The books published by SciELO Books are selected by a scientific committee following a peer review process. The digital versions of the books are formatted according to international standards that allow for access and citation controls, and that permit the books to be read on the widest possible variety of ebook readers, tablets, smartphones and internet browsers.

Free Journals Databases

Redalyc Redalyc. Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe,España y Portugal.Impulsada por la UAEM para la difusion de la ciencia en acceso abierto.
SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online SciELO, The Scientific Electronic Library Online - SciELO is an electronic library covering a selected collection of Brazilian scientific journals.

African Diaspora

International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) This link opens in a new window Current content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies. [1902-present]
Covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology, among others.
Black Studies Center (BSC) This link opens in a new window Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more.
Includes three modules: The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience which includes interdisciplinary essays on the Black Experience; International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), a database covering some 150 scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, many of them in full text; and the full text backfile of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender (1910-1975).

The Slave Socities Digital Archive. Slave Societies Digital Archive hosted at Vanderbilt University, the SSDA is dedicated to identifying, cataloging, and digitally preserving endangered archival materials documenting the history of Africans and their descendants in the Atlantic World. Its largest and oldest collections were generated by the Catholic Church; the baptismal records preserved in Slave Societies are the oldest and most uniform serial data available for the history of Africans in the Atlantic World and offer the most extensive information regarding their ethnic origins.
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 36,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. The actual number is estimated to have been as high as 12.5 million. The database and the separate estimates interface offer researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.

Basic Statistical Resources on Latin America

CEPALSTAT CEPALSTAT is the gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized and published by ECLAC.
Human Development Data (1990-2018) United Nations Development Programme
Latin America & Caribbean : The World Bank
Latin American Studies: Statistics/Data Sets/Public Opinion
The Latin American Public Opinion Project
REDATAM REDATAM is a friendly and interactive computer system that facilitates the processing, analysis and web dissemination of information from population censuses, surveys, administrative records, national/regional indicators and any other sources. In 2015 the latest version “Redatam7 Fast&Friendly” was released.
Statistical Abstracts of the World These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations are included.

Latin American Literature

Paid for by UC Berkeley E-Resources

Bibliografia de la Literatura Espanola Desde 1980 This link opens in a new window Includes over 80,000 records for books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congresses, and other miscellaneous material. [1980 - present]
Subjects include literary theory, literary genres, popular literature, Hispanism, bibliographies and authors.
Classic Brazilian Cinema Online This link opens in a new window Classic Brazilian Cinema Online provides access to more than sixty Brazilian movie magazines, from the earliest ones published in the 1910s to later magazines covering the 1960s and early ‘70s. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
Brazilian cinema gained international acclaim through the Cinema Novo of Glauber Rocha, Nelson Pereira dos Santos and other directors in the 1960s. The present collection remedies this situation by providing easy online access to more than sixty Brazilian movie magazines, from the earliest ones published in the 1910s to later magazines covering the 1960s and early ‘70s. By bringing together film magazines from institutions and private collections in both Brazil and the United States, this collection dramatically increases the number of sources available to researchers interested in understanding the role of cinema in the largest country in Latin America. (Source: Brill)
Classic Mexican Cinema Online This link opens in a new window The Golden Age of Mexican cinema is illuminated in this collection of popular movie periodicals. It includes magazines such as Cinema Reporter (1943-1965), Cine Mundial (1951-1955), and El Cine Gráfico. From the Archives of the Filmoteca of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
Mexican cinema, from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its Golden Age (1930s to 1960), was consistently the largest and most important of all the Spanish-speaking countries.
Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 1: “Casa y Cultura” This link opens in a new window Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes articles, newspaper clippings, cable messages, interviews, conference memorabilia, etc. (Brill) [1959 to present]. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
This collection is Part 1: Casa y Cultura” of the so-called Archivo Vertical held in library of the Casa de las Américas.
Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 2: Writers This link opens in a new window This primary-source collection documents the literary, intellectual and cultural milieu of Revolutionary Cuba. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
Sourced from the archives of the Casa de las Américas in Havana, it provides unprecedented access to files covering more than a thousand writers, thinkers and artists from Cuba and abroad.
Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 3: Theater This link opens in a new window This primary source collection documents the history of theater in Latin America and the Caribbean, with a special focus on Revolutionary Cuba. [1959-Present]. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
Founded just three months after the Cuban Revolution, Casa de las Américas in Havana quickly became a fundamental link between the cultural vanguard in Latin America and the Caribbean on the one hand and a diplomatically isolated Cuba on the other. It has amassed a vast amount of information; this collection contains some 45,000 documents organized in 545 folders, covering such materials as articles, newspaper clippings, cable messages, interviews, conference memorabilia, etc., collected from 1959 onward.
Cuban Periodicals: Cultural Magazines Published by Casa de las Américas, 1960–2009 This link opens in a new window Primary-source collection of documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
Founded only three months after the Cuban Revolution, Casa de las Américas in Havana quickly emerged as one of the leading cultural institutions in Latin America and the Caribbean. Among its many activities is the publication of four highly influential journals, the first of which was launched in 1960, a year after the opening of the institution. Over the decades, these journals have covered countless topics pertaining to the culture and cultural history of the region. The journals have published texts by literary authors, musical scores, reviews of books, performances, and exhibitions, op-eds, and news reports.
The Guatemala Collection: Government and Church Documents for Sacatepéquez This link opens in a new window Spanning more than four hundred years, The Guatemala Collection concentrates primarily on the national era, particularly 1824-1948. [full date range: 1587-1991]. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
The vast majority of the documents—correspondence, annual reports, statistics, letters, litigation—found within The Guatemala Collection are copies from the Archivo General de Centroamérica and the Archivo Histórico Arquidiocesano “Francisco de Paula García Peláez” (formerly known as Archivo Eclesiástico de Guatemala) in Guatemala City.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window Authoritative annotated bibliography of Latin American Studies research in all disciplines; most references are in Spanish or English. [1936 - present]
Indexes books, journals and proceedings to create an annual bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, alternating between focusing on the humanities and the social sciences.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window Citations to journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. [1970 - present]
Indexes books, journals, conference proceedings, and official documents on Hispanic America (North, Central, and South), Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Historical Abstracts Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 06/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history.
Excludes US and Canada. Covers from 1450 to the present.
LADB (Latin America Digital Beat) This link opens in a new window Searchable database of weekly newsletters covering Latin American political and economic affairs. (Latin America database) [1986-present]. As of April 2018, LADB is no longer adding new content to their site.
An online news service that provides access to three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). LADB is also a searchable archive of over 24,000 articles.
Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals Online This link opens in a new window This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection of 971 titles provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode in the history of Latin American labor movements. (Brill) [1890-1920]. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
The collection contains numerous rare, and in many cases unique, titles. Included, among many others, are the Argentine periodicals La Protesta, La Vanguardia and Acción Obrera; the Brazilian O Exempio, Jornal do Povo and Battaglia; the Chilean Voz del Mar; and the Mexican Ariete, Redención Obrera, Revolución Social and El Sindicalista.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes journal articles and other literature supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Modern Languages Association Bibliography) [1926 - present]
Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
Prensa Libre Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1951, Prensa Libre is a leading newspaper published in Guatemala City and distributed nationwide.
Prensa Libre has covered critical moments in Guatemalan and Latin American history, including political upheaval, assassinations, and coups; peace treaties and elections; natural disasters; economic and technological developments; Guatemalans on the international stage; Garífuna and Pueblos Originarios communities, immigratiion and much more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California. (Dissertations & Theses - Proquest Digital Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) - Dissertation Abstracts - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global) [1861 - present]
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Search social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform.
An interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window Digital collection of books, periodicals, pamphlets, political tracts, legislation, sermons, and other documents published in Europe and the Americas on the history and civilizations of North, Central, and South America and the West Indies.
Based on the 29-volume bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, by Thomas Sabin, the resource includes over 65,000 titles.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window A comprehensive range of contemporary and historical documents for the region, providing research across the humanities, both for current Latin America and the Caribbean and as a historical perspective back through the colonial period.
Include a comprehensive range of contemporary and historical documents for the region, providing research across the humanities, both for current Latin America and the Caribbean and as a historical perspective back through the colonial period.

Visual Resources

Ephemera Collections

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera - Princeton University The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection - Harvard University Harvard's collections of more than 5,000 scarce and unique 19th century Latin American pamphlets contain political and social commentary. Addressed to fellow citizens, pamphlets document the emergence of the Latin American colonies as independent states and illuminate aspects of their populations' social and cultural life.
Twentieth Century Latin American Pamphlets Hosted by Harvard University's Digital Library