Library Guides: Renewable Energy Business Resources: Home

Market and Industry Research

Frost and Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Technology insights and market research for science/technology-based industries. Good coverage of markets for newly emerging technologies.
Industries include: Aerospace and Defense; Automotive and Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics and Security; Energy and Power Systems; Environment and Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation and Process Control
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
Detailed US industry reports and some global industries. Reports on upstream and downstream industries. Reports on renewable energy industries, and related industries such as window and door manufacturing, air conditioning, residential construction, etc.
Also includes reports on global industries as well as industries in China. Data include market size, market share, major players, and industry trend analysis.
EMIS This link opens in a new window
Coverage or renewable energy sector in many countries. Company profiles. deals, trends, statistics. Keyword searches for renewables, energy, solar, etc. will bring up relevant market research and industry information by country.
In-depth coverage of company analysis, industry research, economic reports, forecasts, market dailies, macroeconomic statistics, deals, and financial reports for emerging market economies. Includes over one million company profiles and ratings from international & local rating agencies as well as company and industry news from thousands of foreign national and international newspapers, magazines, and journals. Additional sources of information include Euromonitor, Business Monitor International, Oxford Economics, Dun & Bradstreet, and Mintel. Information is provided in fifteen of the world's major languages.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Reports and statistics for alternative energy. Worldwide coverage.
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.
FitchConnect This link opens in a new window
Iin-depth coverage of the energy and power sector, and related fields of infrastructure, freight transport, shipping and auto for 55 countries. With quarterly reports and market forecasts. Select Industries tab and then filter by country/region/global -->research reports/insights/news.
Provides quarterly, updated market forecast reports on 14 industry sectors in 55 countries. Industries covered include: Automotives, Chemicals, Banking, Defence and Security, Retail Food and Drink, Freight Transport, IT, Infrastructure, Insurance, Oil and Gas, Petrochemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications and Media, and Tourism. There is also a database of 65,000 multinational company subsidiaries and company profiles.

Renewable energy industry and markets coverage available in Business Source Complete and Factiva:

Economist, WSJ, New York Times, Barrons, Bloomberg.com, Bloomberg Business Week all have good business coverage of energy. Note: Instructions for accessing WSJ and Nytimes.

Funding

i3 Connect This link opens in a new window
Venture and private equity flows into cleantech companies. Directory of cleantech companies by sector.
The i3 platform provides profiles of Cleantech companies, VC investment and M&A data, and research on the Cleantech industry.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Note:UCB Access. Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff. Select "Log in with SSO" and use your @berkeley.edu address for access.
Preqin This link opens in a new window
Private equity and venture capital transaction data and news. Information on firms, funds, and portfolio companies. Preqin is also available via the WRDS platform.
Campus access courtesy of the Haas School of Business

US Infrastructure Law funding opportunities.
US Department of Energy grant, loan and financing programs for energy.

Data/Statistics/Reports

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Historical data series from the Energy Information Administration includes for the US: SEDS (State Energy Data System: energy production, consumption, prices, and expenditures by state for every kind of energy source), electricity, natural gas and petroleum prices and usage by sector for the US, Environmental Protection Agency's data on Air Quality to the MSA level.
International energy data available on the country level.
Detailed OECD data on environment and energy for OECD countries.
NOAA data includes global and US historical climate on a daily basis for some variables. Time range varies for each data variable.
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Worldwide statistics from commercial and government sources on renewables, energy industry, and more.
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.

Global power plants is an open source energy information project to provide energy and industry data on energy production, emissions, storage, technologies, maps of power plants, energy flows, etc. Datasets with documentation are available for download.

Investments in Green Energy

Renewables 2023 Global Status Report from the UN has the latest overview of markets and investment flows in renewable energy worldwide.
Global Trends in Renewable Energy Investment 2020 from Frankfurt School with United Nations Environment Programme and Bloomberg New Energy Finance (BNEF) , which details aggregate government and industry investment in renewable energy worldwide. Some individual country data are available.
Climatescope 2023 looks at investment, goverment policies related to renewables and greenhouse gas targets in emerging market countries.

Worldwide Energy Use & Production

British Petroleum's Statistical Review of World Energy includes Renewable Energy
International Energy Agency (IEA) publishes World Energy Annuals and Book Series. Policies database contains national level energy-related policies taken or planned to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, improve energy efficiency and support renewable energy development and deployment.
International Renewable Energy Association (IRENA) has data, statistics to support renewables policies and deployment. Resource assessments, policy and legal frameworks, and a renewable energy roadmap by country. Costing data for renewable power generation.
UN Energy Statistics - choose Energy Statistics Database from the Databases menu to get international data on trade and production of dozens of types of alternative fuels by country.

U.S. Energy Production & Consumption by Sector

US Energy Information Administration (EIA) - best source of publicly available data on US energy with sources and methodology for all data. Electricity data and tables and Electricity data browser for data on supplies, generation, consumption, market prices, emissions, by source and state. Survey data files data include generation by plant and prime mover for each fuel consumed; retail sales by sector, seller and state; and the quality and volumes of fossil fuels delivered to power plants
Monthly Energy Review (US) from the EIA has data on US renewable energy production and consumption. US energy demand for residential, commercial, industrial and transport sectors by type of use and by region. Has annual consumption by source and sector. Annual Energy Outlook has energy market projections to 2040.
Residential Energy Consumption Survey (RECS) - survey data on residential energy consumption. Lastest data are from 2020 survey.
Commercial Buildings Energy Consumption Survey (CBECS) - Latest data is from 2018.
Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) publications. EERE has technical assistance programs for all aspects of energy efficiency for homes, utilities, transportation, and manufacturing.
Renewable Energy Data Book - US renewable energy data, national and state data for all renewables.
Transportation Energy Data Book - transportation
USDA Economics Research Service reports on Biofuels
Manufacturing Energy and Consumption (MECS) surveys. US Manufacturing Energy and Carbon Footprints 2018 covers Chemicals, Forest Products, Petroleum Refining, Food & Beverage, Iron and Steel sectors' energy use and greenhouse emissions based on MECS data.

US states

Database of State Incentives for Renewable Energy

News

Renewable energy industry coverage available in Business Source Complete and Factiva:

Economist, WSJ, New York Times, Barrons, Bloomberg.com, Bloomberg Business Week all have good business coverage of energy. Note: Instructions for accessing WSJ and Nytimes.

Science Daily Renewable Energy News

Energy Central Professional This link opens in a new window
Contains news, industry data, and company profiles for the oil and gas, nuclear, and alternative energy sectors. Use "News Quick Search" for the last 30 days, and "Archive News" for older stories.
CyberTech
Greenwire This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy from E&E News. Among the key topics covered in Greenwire are: climate change, energy, environmental health, public lands, and natural resources. Related subscriptions are EnergyWire, ClimateWire, and E&E Daily, which focuses on congressional and legislative activity.

Policies Worldwide

From OECDiLibrary:

Energy Policies of countries

Secondary menu

Renewable Energy Business Resources: Home

Market and Industry Research

Funding

Data/Statistics/Reports

News

Policies Worldwide