Skip to main content

Browsing the Shelves: For Printed Music

List of LC Music Call Numbers

Browsing Guide to Printed Music

Printed music is organized on the library shelves in two large groups under the class M—instrumental music and vocal music. Instrumental music is further subdivided by the performing forces used, with each instrument or ensemble assigned identifying numbers. Vocal music has more functional subdivisions, which are also assigned identifying numbers. Looking for scores for a particular instrument or instrumental combination? The class numbers listed below can be used to locate and browse the library shelves for music of interest.

When looking for specific materials, however, (a certain author or title, for example) you should use the library catalog, OskiCat, to locate the exact call number of the item. Summary tables for the three Library of Congress classifications devoted to music—M Music, ML Literature on Music, and MT Musical Instruction and Study—are posted on the ends of ranges in the stacks. If you have any questions interpreting a call number or locating an item or area please don't hesitate to ask at the reference desk.

LC Instrumental Music Classification

 

Instrumental Music: M1—M1494

Collections
M 1.A1-M 1.A15 Collections of music printed or copied in the US before 1860
M 2-2.3 Collections of musical sources
M 3-3.1 Collected works of individual composers
M 5 Collections for 2 or more solo instruments

Solo Instruments 
M 6-19 Solos - Organ
M 15-19 Solos - Harmonium
M 20-39 Solos - Piano
M 40-44 Solos - Violin
M 45-49 Solos - Viola
M 50-54 Solos - Violoncello
M 55-58 Solos - Double bass
M 59 Solos - Other bowed strings 
    M 59.V54 Solos - Viola da gamba
M 60-64 Solos - Flute
M 65-69 Solos - Oboe
M 70-74 Solos - Clarinet
M 75-79 Solos - Bassoon
M 80-84 Solos - Horn
M 85-89 Solos - Trumpet/Cornet
M 90-94 Solos - Trombone
M 95-99 Solos - Tuba
M 100-104 Solos - Saxhorn
M 105-109 Solos - Saxophone
M 110 Solos - Miscellaneous wind instruments 
    M110.R4 Solos - Recorder
M 115-119 Solos - Harp
M 120-124 Solos - Banjo
M 125-129 Solos - Guitar
M 130-134 Solos - Mandolin
M 135-139 Solos - Zither
M 140-141 Solos - Lute
M 142 Solos - Other plectral strings
M 145 Solos - Bagpipes
M 146-147 Solos - Percussion
M 153 Solos - Whistling
M 154 Solos - Concertina
M 165 Solos - Glass harmonica
M 172 Solos - Carillons/Chimes
M 174 Solos - Mechanical instruments
M 175 Solos - Other instruments
M 176 Instrumental music for film 
M 177-179 Collections for miscellaneous combinations

Duets
M 180-181 Duets - Organ (two organs, or organ, four hands)
M 182-186 Duets - Organ (organ and one other instrument)
M 190 Duets - Harmonium (two harmoniums, or harmonium, four hands)
M 191-195 Duets - Harmonium (harmonium and one other instrument)
M 200-204 Duets - Piano (one piano, four hands)
M 205 Duets - Piano (one piano, three hands)
M 207-212 Duets - Piano (arrangements for one piano, four hands)
M 213-216 Duets - Piano (one or more pianos, two or more performers)
M 217-223 Duets - Piano and violin
M 224-228 Duets - Piano and viola
M 229-236 Duets - Piano and violoncello
M 237-238 Duets - Piano and double bass
M 239 Duets - Piano and one other string instrument
M 240-244 Duets - Piano and flute
M 245-247 Duets - Piano and oboe 
M 248-252 Duets - Piano and clarinet
M 253-254 Duets - Piano and bassoon
M 255-259 Duets - Piano and horn
M 260-261 Duets - Piano and trumpet or cornet
M 262-263 Duets - Piano and trombone
M 264-265 Duets - Piano and tuba
M 266-267 Duets - Piano and saxhorn
M 268-269 Duets - Piano and saxophone
M 270-271 Duets - Piano and one other wind instrument 
M 272-273 Duets - Piano and harp
M 274-275 Duets - Piano and banjo
M 276-277 Duets - Piano and guitar
M 278-279 Duets - Piano and mandolin
M 280-281 Duets - Piano and zither
M 282-283 Duets - Piano and one other plectral instrument
M 284-285 Duets - Piano and one other instrument 
M 286-287 Duets - Two string instruments
M 288-289 Duets - Two wind instruments
M 290-291 Duets - One string and one wind instrument
M 292-293 Duets - Two plectral instruments
M 294-295 Duets - One string and one plectral instrument
M 296-297 Duets - One wind and one plectral instrument
M 298-298.5 Duets - Other combinations of instruments

Trios
M 300-304 Trios - Organ and two other instruments
M 305-309 Trios - Harmonium and two other instruments
M 310-314 Trios - Piano and two string instruments
M 315-319 Trios - Piano and two wind instruments
M 320-324 Trios - Piano, one string, and one wind instrument
M 325-329 Trios - Piano and two plectral instruments
M 330-334 Trios - Piano, one string, and one plectral instrument
M 335-339 Trios - Piano, one wind, and one plectral instrument
M 340-344 Trios - Piano and other combinations
M 349-353 Trios - Strings
M 355-359 Trios - Winds
M 360-364 Trios - Strings and winds
M 365-369 Trios - Plectrals
M 370-374 Trios - Strings and plectrals
M 375-379 Trios - Winds and plectrals
M 380-384 Trios - Strings, winds and plectrals
M 385-386 Trios - Combinations of other instruments

Quartets
M 400-404 Quartets - Organ and three other instruments
M 405-409 Quartets - Harmonium and three other instruments
M 410-414 Quartets - Piano and three string instruments
M 415-419 Quartets - Piano and three wind instruments
M 420-424 Quartets - Piano and three string-wind instruments
M 425-429 Quartets - Piano and three plectral instruments
M 430-434 Quartets - Piano and three string-plectral instruments
M 435-439 Quartets - Piano and three wind-plectral instruments
M 440-444 Quartets - Piano and three string-wind-plectral instruments
M 445-449 Quartets - Piano and other combinations
M 450-454 Quartets - Strings
M 455-459 Quartets - Winds
M 460-464 Quartets - Strings and winds
M 465-469 Quartets - Plectrals
M 470-474 Quartets - Strings and plectrals
M 475-479 Quartets - Winds and plectrals
M 480-484 Quartets - Strings, winds and plectrals
M 485-486 Quartets - Combinations of other instruments

Quintets
M 500-504 Quintets - Organ and four other instruments
M 505-509 Quintets - Harmonium and four other instruments
M 510-514 Quintets - Piano and four string instruments
M 515-519 Quintets - Piano and four wind instruments
M 520-524 Quintets - Piano and four string-wind instruments
M 525-529 Quintets - Piano and four plectral instruments
M 530-534 Quintets - Piano and four string-plectral instruments
M 535-539 Quintets - Piano and four wind-plectral instruments
M 540-544 Quintets - Piano and four string-wind-plectral instruments
M 545-549 Quintets - Piano and other combinations
M 550-554 Quintets - Strings
M 555-559 Quintets - Winds
M 560-564 Quintets - Strings and winds
M 565-569 Quintets - Plectrals
M 570-574 Quintets - Strings and plectrals
M 575-579 Quintets - Winds and plectrals
M 580-584 Quintets - Strings, winds and plectrals
M 585-586 Quintets - Combinations of other instruments

Sextets
M 600-604 Sextets - Organ and five other instruments
M 605-609 Sextets - Harmonium and five other instruments
M 610-614 Sextets - Piano and five string instruments
M 615-619 Sextets - Piano and five wind instruments
M 620-624 Sextets - Piano and five string-wind instruments
M 625-629 Sextets - Piano and five plectral instruments
M 630-634 Sextets - Piano and five string-plectral instruments
M 635-639 Sextets - Piano and five wind-plectral instruments
M 640-644 Sextets - Piano and five string-wind-plectral instruments
M 645-649 Sextets - Piano and other combinations
M 650-654 Sextets - Strings
M 655-659 Sextets - Winds
M 660-664 Sextets - Strings and winds
M 665-669 Sextets - Plectrals
M 670-674 Sextets - Strings and plectrals
M 675-679 Sextets - Winds and plectrals
M 680-684 Sextets - Strings, winds and plectrals
M 685-686 Sextets - Combinations of other instruments

Septets
M 700-704 Septets - Organ and six other instruments
M 705-709 Septets - Harmonium and six other instruments
M 710-714 Septets - Piano and six string instruments
M 715-719 Septets - Piano and six wind instruments
M 720-724 Septets - Piano and six string-wind instruments
M 725-729 Septets - Piano and six plectral instruments
M 730-734 Septets - Piano and six string-plectral instruments
M 735-739 Septets - Piano and six wind-plectral instruments
M 740-744 Septets - Piano and six string-wind-plectral instruments
M 745-749 Septets - Piano and six other instruments
M 750-754 Septets - Strings
M 755-759 Septets - Winds
M 760-764 Septets - Strings and winds
M 765-769 Septets - Plectrals
M 770-774 Septets - Strings and plectrals -
M 775-779 Septets - Winds and plectrals
M 780-784 Septets - Strings, winds and plectrals
M 785-786 Septets - Combinations of other instruments

Octets
M 800-804 Octets - Organ and seven other instruments
M 805-809 Octets - Harmonium and seven other instruments
M 810-814 Octets - Piano and seven string instruments
M 815-819 Octets - Piano and seven wind instruments
M 820-824 Octets - Piano and seven string-wind instruments
M 825-829 Octets - Piano and seven plectral instruments
M 830-834 Octets - Piano and seven string-plectral instruments
M 835-839 Octets - Piano and seven wind-plectral instruments
M 840-844 Octets - Piano and seven string-wind-plectral instruments
M 845-849 Octets - Piano and seven other instruments
M 850-854 Octets - Strings
M 855-859 Octets - Winds
M 860-864 Octets - Strings and winds
M 865-869 Octets - Plectrals
M 870-874 Octets - Strings and plectrals
M 875-879 Octets - Winds and plectrals
M 880-884 Octets - Strings, winds and plectrals
M 885-886 Octets - Combinations of other instruments

Nonets and Larger Chamber Ensembles
M 900-904 Nonets - Organ and 8+ other instruments
M 905-909 Nonets - Harmonium and 8+ other instruments
M 910-914 Nonets - Piano and 8+ string instruments
M 915-919 Nonets - Piano and 8+ wind instruments
M 920-924 Nonets - Piano and 8+ string-wind instruments
M 925-929 Nonets - Piano and 8+ plectral instruments
M 930-934 Nonets - Piano and 8+ string-plectral instruments
M 935-939 Nonets - Piano and 8+ wind-plectral instruments
M 940-944 Nonets - Piano and 8+ string-wind-plectral instruments
M 945-949 Nonets - Piano and 8+ other instruments
M 950-954 Nonets - Strings
M 955-959 Nonets - Winds
M 960-964 Nonets - Strings and winds
M 965-969 Nonets - Plectrals
M 970-974 Nonets - Strings and plectrals
M 975-979 Nonets - Winds and plectrals
M 980-984 Nonets - Strings, winds and plectrals
M 985-986 Nonets - Combinations of other instruments
M 990 Nonets - Chamber music for pre-18th century instruments

Orchestral Works 
M 1000 Miscellaneous collections
M 1001 Symphonies
M 1002 Symphonic Poems
M 1003 Suites and cyclical works
M 1004 Overtures, preludes, entr'actes 
    M 1004.5 Collections of solos for instrument(s) w/orchestra 
    M 1004.6 Collections of cadenzas for various instruments 
    M 1004.7 Collections of cadenzas for specific instrument    

M 1005 Solo organ with orchestra
M 1006 Solo organ with piano reduction
M 1010-1011 Solo piano(s) and orchestra
M 1012-1013 Solo violin(s) and orchestra
M 1014-1015 Solo viola(s) with orchestra
M 1016-1017 Solo violoncello(s) with orchestra
M 1018 Solo double bass(es) with orchestra
M 1019 Solos for other bowed strings with orchestra
M 1020-1021 Solo flute(s) with orchestra
M 1022-1023 Solo oboe(s) with orchestra
M 1024-1025 Solo clarinet(s) with orchestra
M 1026-1027 Solo bassoon(s) with orchestra
M 1028-1029 Solo horn(s) with orchestra
M 1030-1031 Solo trumpet(s)/cornet(s) with orchestra
M 1032-1033 Solo trombone(s) with orchestra
M 1034-35 Solos for other wind instruments with orchestra
M 1036-1037 Solo harp(s) with orchestra 
M 1038-1039 Solo percussion with orchestra 
M 1040-1041 Two or more different solo instruments with orchestra
M 1042 Concertos for orchestra
M 1045 General pieces
M 1046 Marches
M 1047-1049 Dances
M 1060 Arrangements of general works
M 1070 Orchestral excerpts (operatic scenes, etc.)
M 1075 Potpourris, fantaisies, medleys, etc.

String Orchestra 
M 1100 Miscellaneous collections
M 1101 Symphonies
M 1102 Symphonic poems
M 1103 Suites and cyclical works
M 1104 Overtures, preludes, entr'actes
M 1105 Collections for different solo instruments with string orchestra
M 1106 Collections for solo instruments with piano reduction
M 1108-1109 Solo organ(s) with string orchestra
M 1110-1111 Solo piano(s) with string orchestra
M 1112-1113 Solo violin(s) with string orchestra
M 1114-1115 Solo viola(s) with string orchestra
M 1116-1117 Solo violoncello(s) with string orchestra
M 1118 Solo double bass(es) with string orchestra
M 1119 Solo other bowed strings with string orchestra
M 1120-1121 Solo flute(s) with string orchestra
M 1122-1123 Solo oboe(s) with string orchestra
M 1124-1125 Solo clarinet(s) with string orchestra
M 1126-1127 Solo bassoon(s) with string orchestra
M 1128-1129 Solo horn(s) with string orchestra
M 1130-1131 Solo trumpet(s)/cornet(s) with string orchestra
M 1132-1133 Solo trombone(s) with string orchestra
M 1134-35 Solos for other wind instruments with string orchestra 
M 1136-1137 Solo harp(s) with string orchestra
M 1138-1139 Solo percussion with string orchestra
    M 1139.4 Solos for other instruments with string orchestra
M 1140-1141 Two or more different solo instruments with string orchestra
M 1142 Concertos for string orchestra
M 1145 General pieces
M 1146 Marches
M 1147-1149 Dances
M 1160 Arrangements

Band Music
M 1200 Miscellaneous collections
M 1201 Symphonies
M 1203 Suites and cyclical works
M 1204 Overtures (preludes, entr'actes, opera overtures)
M 1205 Solo instrument(s) with band
M 1206 Solo instrument(s) with piano reduction
M 1245 General pieces
M 1247 Marches
M 1248-1249 Dances
M 1254 Band arrangements of symphonies, suites, and cyclical works
M 1255 Band arrangements of overtures (including preludes, entr'actes)
M 1257 Band arrangements of solo instruments with band
M 1258 Band arrangements of general pieces
M 1260 Band arrangements of marches
M 1262-1266 Band arrangements of dances
M 1268 Band arrangements of potpourris, fantaisies, medleys
M 1269 Marching routines
M 1270 Fife, bugle and drum music, field music, etc.

Reduced Orchestras
M 1350 General works
M 1353 Solos with accompaniment

Dance Orchestra and Instrumental Ensembles 
M 1356 Dance orchestra - General works
M 1360 Mandolin and similar orchestras of plectral instruments
M 1362 Accordion band
M 1365 Minstrel music
M 1366 Jazz ensembles

Instrumental Music for Children 
M 1375 Solo - Organ and harmonium
M 1378-1380 Solo - Piano
M 1385 Solo - All other instruments
M 1389-1390 Duets - Piano
M 1393-1395 Duets - Piano and violin or viola
M 1400 Duets - Piano and Violoncello or double bass
M 1405 Duets - Piano and Wind instrument
M 1410 Duets - Other instruments
M 1413-1417 Chamber music for three or more instruments
M 1420 Orchestra and band music

Other Instrumental Music
M 1450 Dance music
M 1470 Chance compositions
M 1473 Electronic music
M 1480 Music with color apparatus, etc.
M 1490 Music before 1700

LC Vocal Music Classification

Vocal Music, Secular (M1495—M1999) and Sacred (M2000—M2199) 

Secular Vocal Music: M1495—M1999

Collections 
M 1495 Sacred and secular vocal works by two or more composers
M 1497 Secular vocal works by two or more composers

Operas 
M 1500-1501 Full scores
M 1502-1503 Vocal scores
M 1505-1508 Excerpts
M 1509 Operatic scenes

Incidental Music 
M 1510 Full scores
M 1512-1513 Vocal scores
M 1515-1518 Excerpts

Ballets 
M 1520 Full scores
M 1522-1523 Vocal scores
M 1524-1526 Excerpts

Music for Broadcast 
M 1527-1527.2 Motion picture music
M 1527.5-1527.6 Radio music
M 1527.7-1527.8 Television music

Duets, trios, etc., for solo voices
M 1528 Full scores
M 1529 Vocal scores 

Choruses with Orchestra or Other Ensemble
M 1530-1531 Mixed voices - Full scores
M 1532-1533.3 Mixed voices - Vocal scores
M 1534-1537 Mixed voices - Excerpts
M 1538-1539 Men's voices - Full scores
M 1540-1540.3 Men's voices - Vocal scores
M 1541-1542 Men's voices - Excerpts
M 1543-1543.5 Treble voices - Full scores
M 1544-1544.3 Treble voices - Vocal scores
M 1545-1546 Treble voices - Excerpts
M 1546.5 Children's voices

Choruses, Part-songs, etc., with Accompaniment of Keyboard or Other Solo Instrument, or Unaccompanied
M 1547 Collections of accompanied and unaccompanied works
M 1548-1551 Collections of works with keyboard accompaniment
M 1552-1570 Separate works with keyboard accompaniment
M 1574-1577 Works with accompaniment other than keyboard
M 1578-1581 Collections of unaccompanied works
M 1582-1600 Separate unaccompanied works
M 1608 Choruses, etc., in tonic sol-fa notation
M 1609 Unison choruses with or without accompaniment
M 1610 Cantatas, choral symphonies, etc., for unaccompanied chorus (secular and sacred)

Secular Songs for Solo Voice
M 1611-1614 Original compositions with orchestral, etc., accompaniment
M 1615-1618 Arrangements with orchestral, etc., accompaniment
M 1619-1622 Piano accompaniment, and unaccompanied
M 1623-1624 Accompaniment of one instrument other than piano
M 1625-1626 Recitations and gesprochene Lieder, including sacred works

National Music
M 1627 International collections
M 1628 US - Songsters and broadsides
M 1629 US - General collections 
M 1630 US - Separate works, general 
    M 1630.18 US - Popular music, collections 
    M 1630.2 US - Popular music, separate songs 
M 1631-1659 US - Special topics
M 1660-1665 US - Political movement, party, campaign songs
M 1666-1667 US - Patriotic and other national songs, arranged for piano
M 1668 US - Ethnic music - General 
    M 1668.4 US - Ethnic music - Latin-American
M 1669 US - Ethnic music - Indian
M 1670-1671 US - Ethnic music - Afro-American
M 1672-1673 US - Territories, A-Z
M 1675 US - American songs on foreign wars, etc., in which the United States have not participated
M 1676 US - Patriotic societies and organizations, A-Z
M 1677 US - Old folks concerts of Father Kemp
M 1678-1679 Canada
M 1680 North and South America
M 1681 West Indies, A-Z
M 1682-1683.2 Mexico
M 1684-1685 Central America
M 1686-1688 South America, A-Z
M 1689-1690.2 Brazil
M 1691-1692.2 Chile
M 1693-1694.2 Peru
M 1698 Europe - General
M 1702-1703.2 Austria
M 1704-1705.2 Czechoslovakia
M 1706-1707.2 Hungary
M 1712-1713.2 Bulgaria
M 1714-1715.2 Greece
M 1718-1719.2 Romania
M 1720-1721.2 Yugoslovia
M 1724-1725.2 Albania
M 1726-1729 Belgium
M 1729.3-1729.6 Finland
M 1730-1733 France
M 1734-1737 Germany
M 1738-1739.3 British Isles - General
M 1740-1741.2 England
M 1742-1743.2 Wales
M 1744-1745.2 Ireland
M 1745.3-1745.6 Northern Ireland
M 1746-1747.2 Scotland
M 1748-1751 Italy
M 1752-1755 Netherlands
M 1755.3-1755.6 Poland
M 1756-1757.2 Soviet Union - General
M 1758-1759.2 Latvia
M 1764-1765.2 Ukraine
M 1766-1767 Soviet Union - Other, A-Z
M 1768-1769.2 Scandinavia - General
M 1770-1771.2 Denmark
M 1771.3-1771.6 Iceland
M 1772-1773.2 Norway
M 1774-1775.2 Sweden
M 1779-1780.2 Spain
M 1781-1782.2 Portugal
M 1784-1787 Switzerland
M 1788-1789 Other European countries, A-Z
M 1795 Asia - General
M 1797-1798.2 Saudi Arabia
M 1804-1805.2 China
M 1808-1809.2 India
M 1810-1811.2 Israel and Palestine
M 1812-1813.2 Japan
M 1816-1817.2 Korea
M 1820-1821.2 Iran
M 1822-1823.2 Philippine Islands
M 1824-1825 Other Asian regions or countries, A-Z
M 1828 Middle East - General
M 1830-1838 Africa 
    M 1831 By ethnic group, A-Z
    M 1838 By country, A-Z
M 1840-1841.2 Australia
M 1842-1843.2 New Zealand
M 1844-1849 Pacific islands, A-Z
M 1850-1853 Jews

Songs of special character. Society songs, secular and sacred
M 1900-1901 Masonic, secular and sacred
M 1905-1906 Other secret fraternal societies, A-Z, American publications
M 1920-1921 Other societies, organizations and clubs, A-Z
M 1940-1941 Student songs - International
M 1945-1960 Student songs - United States
M 1961-1967 Student songs - Europe
M 1977-1978 Songs by topic, A-Z
M 1980 Songs by language, A-Z
M 1985 Music Games

Secular Music for Children
M 1990 Kindergarten
M 1992-1994.6 Primary and Secondary Schools
M 1995 Dramatic music
M 1996 Cantatas
M 1997-1998 Choruses, songs, etc.

Sacred Vocal Music: M2000—M2199

Collections 
M 1999 Collections of sacred vocal music by two or more composers

Oratorios
M 2000 Full scores
M 2002-2003 Vocal scores
M 2004-2007 Excerpts

Services
M 2010 Roman Catholic masses - Full scores
M 2011 Roman Catholic masses - Vocal scores and unaccompanied works
M 2012 Roman Catholic masses - Propers
M 2013 Roman Catholic masses - Vocal scores with keyboard accompaniment 
   M 2013.5  Roman Catholic masses - Works for unison chorus  
M 2014 Roman Catholic masses - Excerpts
M 2015 Orthodox
M 2016 Anglican
M 2017 Lutheran 
    M 2017.2 Other Protestant
M 2017.6 Jewish

Duets, trios, etc., for solo voices
M 2018 Full scores with ensemble accompaniment
M 2019 
    M 2019.2-2019.3 
    M 2019.4-2019.5 Vocal scores with piano or organ accompaniment 
    Duets with keyboard or other accompaniment, or unaccompanied 
    Trios, quartets, etc. with keyboard or other accompaniment, or unacc.

Choruses, cantatas, etc.
M 2020-2021 Mixed voices with ensemble accompaniment - Full scores
M 2022-2023 Mixed voices - Vocal scores or unaccompanied
M 2025-2028 Mixed voices - Excerpts
M 2029 Men's voices - Full scores
M 2030 Men's voices - Vocal scores
M 2031-2032 Men's voices - Excerpts
M 2033 Treble voices - Full scores
M 2034 Treble voices - Vocal scores
M 2035-2036 Treble voices - Excerpts
Choruses, part-songs, etc., with accompaniment of keyboard or other instrument, or unaccompanied
M 2060 Collections of accompanied and unaccompanied works
M 2061-2064 Collections with keyboard accompaniment
M 2065 Collections with keyboard accompaniment - Christmas
M 2066 Collections with keyboard accompaniment - Easter
M 2067 Collections with keyboard accompaniment - Thanksgiving/Harvest
M 2068 Collections with keyboard accompaniment - Other occasions, A-Z
M 2069 Collections with keyboard accompaniment - Special
M 2071-2074 Separate works with keyboard accompaniment
M 2075 Separate works with keyboard accompaniment - Christmas
M 2076 Separate works with keyboard accompaniment - Easter
M 2077 Separate works with keyboard accompaniment - Thanksgiving/Harvest
M 2078 Separate works with keyboard accompaniment - Other occasions, A-Z
M 2079 Separate works with special texts, by language, A-Z
    M 2079.5  Separate works with keyboard accompaniment - Jewish
M 2080 Separate works with keyboard accompaniment - Orthodox
M 2080.4-2080.7 Separate works with accompaniment of other instrument

M 2081-2084 Collections of unaccompanied works
M 2085 Collections of unaccompanied works - Christmas
M 2086 Collections of unaccompanied works - Easter
M 2087 Collections of unaccompanied works - Thanksgiving/Harvest
M 2088 Collections of unaccompanied works - Other occasions, A-Z
M 2089 Collections of unaccompanied works - Catholic
M 2090 Collections of unaccompanied works - Protestant

M 2091-2094 Separate works, unaccompanied
M 2095 Separate works, unaccompanied - Christmas
M 2096 Separate works, unaccompanied - Easter
M 2097 Separate works, unaccompanied - Thanksgiving/Harvest
M 2098 Separate works, unaccompanied - Other occasions, A-Z
M 2099 Separate works, unaccompanied - Special texts by language, A-Z 
    M 2099.5  Separate works, unaccompanied - Jewish
M 2100 Collections, unaccompanied - Orthodox 
M 2101-2101.5 Choruses, etc., in tonic sol - fa notation

Sacred Songs for Solo Voice 
M 2102 Collections with ensemble accompaniment
M 2103-2103.3 Separate works - Full scores with ensemble accompaniment
M 2104 Separate works - Vocal scores with piano or organ accompaniment
M 2105-2106 Arrangements - Collections with ensemble accompaniment
M 2107 Arrangements - Separate works, full scores with ensemble
M 2108 Arrangements - Separate works, vocal scores with piano or organ
M 2110 - 2112 Collections of works by one or more composers
M 2113 Separate songs with accompaniment of piano or other instrument
M 2113.2 Separate songs, unaccompanied
M 2113.3 Separate songs with accompaniment of piano and other instrument

M 2113.4 Song cycles
M 2114 Separate works with special texts, by language, A-Z
M 2114.1 Separate songs - Protestant
M 2114.2 Separate songs - Orthodox
M 2114.3 Separate songs - Jewish
M 2114.5 Separate songs - Christmas
M 2114.6 Separate songs - Easter
M 2114.7 Separate songs - Thanksgiving
M 2114.8 Separate songs - Other occasions, A-Z

Hymnals 
M 2115 General
M 2115.5 Descant collections, with or without their hymns
M 2116 United States - Through 1820
M 2117 United States - General
M 2119 United States - Catholic
M 2122 United States - Baptist
M 2123 United States - Congregationalist
M 2124 United States - Dutch and other Reformed
M 2125 United States - Episcopal
M 2126 United States - Lutheran
M 2127 United States - Methodist
M 2128 United States - Moravian
M 2129 United States - Mormon
M 2130 United States - Presbyterian
M 2131 United States - Other, A-Z
M 2132 United States - Non-denominational hymns, non-English language, A-Z
M 2133 Other North American countries
M 2134 Central and South America
M 2135 Europe - Dutch
M 2136 Europe - English
M 2137 Europe - French
M 2138 Europe - German
M 2139 Europe - Russian
M 2140 Europe - Scandinavian
M 2141 Europe - Swiss
M 2142 Other European, A-Z
M 2143 Asia, Africa, Australia (Christian)
M 2144 Jewish
M 2145 Other religions, A-Z
M 2146 Separate hymns, etc.

Liturgy and Ritual 
M 2147 Roman Catholic - Copyists' manuscripts and their facsimiles
M 2148 Roman Catholic graduals, by language, A-Z
M 2148.2 Propers, by compiler or publisher, A-Z
M 2148.23 Propers - Praefationes particulares, by language, A-Z
M 2148.3 Propers - Separate works, by feast day or dedicatee, A-Z
M 2148.4 Kyriales, by language, A-Z
M 2148.5 Single ordinaries
M 2149 Antiphonaries, by language, A-Z 
M 2149.3 Collections of offices by compiler, A-Z
M 2149.4 Holy week rite
M 2149.42 Holy week offices, by language, A-Z
M 2149.5 Single offices, A-Z
M 2149.6 Processionals
M 2150 Special ceremonies and occasions - Roman Catholic
M 2151 Liber usualis, by language, A-Z
M 2152 Directories and manuals for choirs - Roman Catholic
M 2153 Collections of liturgical music for general use - Roman Catholic 
    M 2153.2  Collections of chants - Roman Catholic
M 2154.2 Special Roman liturgies and rituals - Diocesan, A-Z
M 2154.4 Orders and congregations, A-Z
M 2154.6 Special non-Roman liturgies and rituals, A-Z
M 2155.5 - 2155.6 Modern schisms for the Roman Catholic Church
M 2156 - 2160 Orthodox churches
M 2161 - 2164 Protestant churches
M 2167 - 2168 Anglican Communion (Church of England)
M 2169 - 2170 Anglican Communion - Protestant Episcopal Church - U.S.
M 2171 Anglican - Other, by country, A-Z
M 2172 - 2173 Lutheran
M 2175 Methodist
M 2177 Moravian
M 2179 Mormon
M 2181 Presbyterian
M 2183 Other Protestant denominations, A-Z
M 2184 Other Christian churches, A-Z
M 2186 Jewish - General
M 2187 Jewish - Special holidays, rites, and portions of the liturgy
M 2188 Other non-Christian religions, A-Z

Sacred Music for Children 
M 2190 Dramatic and choral works for children - General
M 2191 Dramatic and choral works for children - Special seasons and occasions
M 2193 - 2196 Songs for children (part and solo)

Gospel and Contemporary Worship 
M 2198 - 2199 Gospel, revival, temperance, etc. - Sacred and secular


 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.