Skip to main content

Law 298: Sexual Violence in Armed Conflict & Forced Migration: Search Terms

Guides to resources for Law 298.

Pro Tips

  • An asterisk * serves as a wild card that can retrieve various word endings. For example, child* will retrieve both child and children.
  • Use quotation marks to search for a phrase such as "middle east", or "sexual assault".
  • The Boolean operator OR can be used to find any of the terms. This is good for synonyms or similar concepts.
  • For grey literature - search Google and at the end of your search terms type: -.com (hyphen in front of .com), which will eliminate commercial sites, but leave in .org, .edu, etc. sites.

SGBV & Unaccompanied and Separated Child Refugees

Some terms to try in the various databases and search engines for the topic of SGBV & unaccompanied and separated child refugees. Different terms and various combinations will work better in different databases.

To get at the concept of child:

  • child*
  • youth
  • minor
  • unaccompanied
  • separated

To get at the concept of SGBV:

  • sexual violence
  • gender-based violence
  • gender* violence
  • rape
  • sexual assault
  • sex offenses

Other concepts/terms to consider:

  • refugee*
  • asylum seeker*
  • trafficking
  • smuggling

Combine the terms, such as:

  • (child* OR youth OR minor)  AND  (rape OR sexual violence OR gender-based violence OR sexual assault OR gender* violence OR trafficking OR smuggling) AND refugee* AND (unaccompanied OR separated)
  • (rape OR sexual violence OR gender-based violence OR sexual assault OR gender* violence) AND ("unaccompanied minor*" OR separated child*) AND refugee*
  • (child* OR youth OR minor* ) AND (trafficking OR smuggling) AND (refugee* or asylum seeker*) 

Protection and Support Needs of LGBT Refugees in Beirut

Some terms to try in the various databases and search engines for the topic of Protection and Support Needs of LGBT Refugees in Beirut. Different terms and various combinations will work better in different databases.

To get at the concept of protection and support needs:

  • protection
  • support
  • services
  • needs

To get at the concept of LGBT:

  • LGBT
  • ​Lesbian
  • Gay
  • Bisexual
  • Transgender
  • Queer

To get at the concept of refugee:

  • refugee
  • displaced person
  • asylum seeker

Combine the above terms, such as:

  • (protection OR support OR services OR needs) AND (LGBT OR lesbian OR gay OR bisexual OR transgender OR queer) AND (refugee* OR displaced person* OR asylum seeker*)

Add in (Beirut OR Lebanon OR "middle east" OR north africa)

Improving Evidence Collection of SGBV in Emergency Contexts

Some terms to try in the various databases and search engines for the topic of improving evidence collection of SGBV in emergency contexts. Different terms and various combinations will work better in different databases.

To get at the concept of evidence collection:

  • evidence
  • reporting

To get at the concept of SGBV:

  • sexual violence
  • gender-based violence
  • gender* violence
  • rape
  • sexual assault
  • sex offenses

To get at the concept of emergency contexts

  • war
  • conflict

Combine the terms, such as:

  • (evidence OR reporting) AND (rape OR "sexual violence" OR "sexual assault" OR "gender* violence") AND (war OR conflict)
  • interventions AND (police OR investigat* OR evidence) AND (rape OR "sexual violence" OR "sexual assault" OR "gender* violence")

Sexual Violence and Violent Extremism

Some terms to try in the various databases and search engines for the topic of Sexual Violence and Violent Extremism. Different terms and various combinations will work better in different databases.

To get at the concept of SGBV:

  • sexual violence
  • gender-based violence
  • gender* violence
  • rape
  • sexual assault
  • sex offenses
  • gender

To get at the concept of violent extremism:

  • extremism
  • terrorism

Combine the terms, such as:

  • (rape OR sexual violence OR sexual assault OR gender* violence OR gender)  AND (extremism OR terrorism)
  • (sexual OR gender) AND (violence OR extremism OR terrorism)  AND (Daesh OR Al Shebab OR Al-Qaeda OR Boko Haram OR ISIS)
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.