Skip to main content

ISF Health and Illness: Health Organizations

Organizations

American International Health Alliance (AIHA) 
AIHA operates under a cooperative agreement with the Agency for International Development (USAID). AIHA establishes and manages partnerships between health care institutions in the United States and their counterparts in Central and Eastern Europe and the New Independent States of the former Soviet Union.

CDC--Global Health 
"Through the Global Health Initiative (GHI), the United States will invest $63 billion over six years to help partner countries improve health outcomes through strengthened health systems – with a particular focus on improving the health of women, newborns and children through programs including infectious disease, nutrition, maternal and child health, and safe water." This website includes links to many of the CDC's international programs as well as a link to international health regulations and other resources.

FHI 360 (formerly Family Health International) 
FHI conducts research in family planning and sexually transmitted diseases (including HIV/AIDS) and offers many full text materials online.

Global Environmental Facility 
"An independent financial organization, the GEF provides grants to developing countries and countries with economies in transition for projects related to biodiversity, climate change, international waters, land degradation, the ozone layer, and persistent organic pollutants. " GEF's implementing agencies are the UN Development Programme; the UN Environment Programme; the World Bank; the UN Food and Agriculture Organization; the UN Industrial Development Organization; the African Development Bank; the Asian Development Bank; the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development; the Inter-American Development Bank; and the International Fund for Agricultural Development. An online database of projects is available.

globalhealth.gov 
This site functions as a portal for the U S Department of Health and Human Services Office of International and Refugee Health and describes DHHS projects and programs worldwide. It also has links to world health statistics, as well as OIRH publications.

Global Forum for Health Research 
Only an estimated 10% of the $70 billion spent on health research and development annually is used for research into 90% of the world's health problems. The Global Forum's objective is to help correct this gap by focusing research efforts on diseases representing the heaviest burden on the world's health and facilitating collaboration between partners in both the public and private sectors. This is done by analysis of the burden of disease, cost-effectiveness analysis of investments in health research, and monitoring research flows in health research.

Health Canada 
"Health Canada is the Federal department responsible for helping Canadians maintain and improve their health, while respecting individual choices and circumstances."

Hesperian Foundation (Berkeley, CA) 
"The Hesperian Foundation is a non-profit organization committed to improving the health of people in poor communities throughout the world by making health information accessible. We produce books and other educational resources for community-based health care."

International Center for Research on Women 
"The International Center for Research on Women (ICRW) works to make women in developing countries an integral part of alleviating global poverty. Our research evidence identifies women’s contributions as well as the obstacles that prevent them from being economically strong and able to fully participate in society. ICRW translates these insights into a path of action that honors women’s human rights, ensures gender equality and creates the conditions in which all women can thrive." The ICRW's publications library includes freely available reports, toolkits, policy briefs and position papers on topics such as child marriage, economic empowerment, food security, HIV/AIDS, maternal health, and trafficking, among many others.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) 
The OECD provides the governments of its 30 member nations a setting in which to discuss, develop and perfect economic and social policy. Numerous publications and statistics are available on their web site.

OECD Health Statistics (contains OECD Health Data datasets) 
Note: Access limited to UC faculty, staff, and students. 
OECD Health Statistics is a interactive database covering over 1,200 indicators and offering sophisticated query modules. Some time series go back as far as 1960. Main fields covered include: Health status, Health care utilisation, Health care resources, Health expenditure and financing, Social protection, Pharmaceutical market, Non-medical determinants of health, Demographic references, and Economic references.

OECD iLibrary (replaces SourceOECD) 
Note: Access limited to UC faculty, staff, and students. 
OECD iLibrary provides access to books, papers, statistics, and periodicals produced by OECD since the early 1980s. It is searchable by subject, series, country, and more.

Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) 
PAHO's "essential mission is to strengthen national and local health systems and improve the health of the peoples of the Americas, in collaboration with Ministries of Health, other government and international agencies, nongovernmental organizations, universities, social security agencies, community groups, and many others." The site has many books, periodicals, databases, technical documents and more.

Country Health Profiles for the Americas

Regional Core Health Data Initiative — Table Generator System 
"includes 108 essential health indicators to quantitatively characterize the health situation of 48 countries and territories of the Region of the Americas for the period 1995-2004. With this Table Generator System, you can construct tables by any combination of indicator(s)/country(ies)/year(s)."

Population Reference Bureau 
PRB provides information on U.S. and international population trends and their implications.

United Nations 
» Official Web Site Locator for the United Nations System of Organizations

Food and Agriculture Organization 
Provides access to FAOSTAT, the online searchable database of international statistics for the following areas: Food Supply, Food Security, Trade, Prices, and more NOTE: The free version of the database allows for limited downloads of up to 4000 records. For unlimited and "bulk" downloads a userid and password are required. Ask at any reference desk for assistance. Also available is the FAO Statistical Yearbook.

United Nations Development Programme 
UNDP focuses on helping countries build and share solutions to the problems of democratic governance, poverty reduction, energy and environment, HIV/AIDS, and more. "The Millennium Development Goals are an ambitious agenda for reducing poverty and improving lives." Human Development Reports include global, regional, and national reports and data of the state of human development.

Official Documents of the United Nations 
This database includes "all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards." Several search options are available.

United Nations Statistics Division. Demographic, Social and Housing Statistics 
Includes a database of social indicators "which monitor the results of recent major United Nations conferences on children, population and development, social development and women", a Disability Database, (prevalence data), and more. Also includes information on methodology.

United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) 
» UNICEF Publications: Includes State of the World's Children and other statistical reports.

U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) 
" USAID carries out U.S. foreign policy by promoting broad-scale human progress at the same time it expands stable, free societies, creates markets and trade partners for the United States, and fosters good will abroad. Spending less than 1 percent of the total federal budget, USAID works in over 100 countries to:

  • Promote broadly shared economic prosperity;
  • Strengthen democracy and good governance;
  • Protect human rights;
  • Improve global health,
  • Advance food security and agriculture;
  • Improve environmental sustainability;
  • Further education;
  • Help societies prevent and recover from conflicts; and
  • Provide humanitarian assistance in the wake of natural and man-made disasters."

USAID's Global Health Website 
USAID's global health projects focus areas include HIV/AIDS, nutrition, tuberculosis, maternal and child health, and family planning, among others.

Development Experience Clearinghouse (DEC) 
DEC acquires USAID-funded publications for dissemination to the international development community. Online services include searchable database, document submission, e-mail subscription (for notification of new titles), and ordering documents and CD's. The document database is searchable by topic, country, author, title, and more. There are over 168,600 records in the database, with over 155,500 available for electronic download.

World Bank

World Bank e-Library updated 
Note: Access limited to UC faculty, staff, and students. 
The World Bank eLibrary contains the full collection of all World Bank publications and research including books published since the 1990s; all World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO) since 1996; all the issues of Development Outreach; and all the Policy Research Working Papers since 1995. The updated platform allows better access to book chapters and pdf content, a new country browse option, and mobile access, among other new or imporved features. 
» World Bank eLibrary User Guide

Countries & Regions 
Projects, news, and basic data

HNP FLASH 
A monthly electronic publication, HNP FLASH covers issues on health, population, nutrition, and reproductive health.

Poverty 
"Resources and support for people working to understand and alleviate poverty." Includes several online publications, and a Poverty and Health page.

World Development Indicators Online 
This database, produced by the World Bank, is "the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates." It provides access to over 1100 development indicators with time series for 209 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2009. Data includes vital statistics, demographics, labor force, health expenditures, malnutrition, pollution, trade, consumption, GDP, GNP, investment activity, debt, and much more.

World Health Organization (WHO)

eHealth and innovation in women's and children's health: A baseline review (2014) new 
"This joint publication by the World Health Organization (WHO) and the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) reports the results of the first survey to study the impact of eHealth on women’s and children’s health in developing countries. It highlights many encouraging findings including the development of national eHealth policies, the monitoring of key indicators, and the implementation of electronic information systems."

Global Health Atlas (World Health Organization) 
"WHO's Global Health Atlas is bringing together for analysis and comparison standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels. The analysis and interpretation of data are further supported through information on demography, socioeconomic conditions, and environmental factors. Key components of the Global Health Atlas include:

  • Data Query – that allows users to browse, view, query, search the contents of the WHO's Communicable Disease global database and output data in reports, charts and maps.
  • Interactive Mapping – that provides a user-friendly mapping interface that allows users to select geographic areas of interest and create maps of diseases, the location of health facilities, schools, roads, geographic features.
  • Maps and Resources – that provides access to the public domain to static maps and related documents, publications and statistics on infectious diseases."

International Digest of Health Legislation 
"The International Digest of Health Legislation contains a selection of national and international health legislation. Texts of legislation are summarized in English or mentioned by their title. Where possible, links are provided to other websites that contain full texts of the legislation in question." Searchable by country, subject, keyword, etc.

Public Health Library

For more information about global health organizations, and about public health in general, use the website of the Sheldon Margen Public Health Library.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.