Skip to main content

ISF History and Culture of Capitalism research field: Statistics

Numeric Data in Political Economy

American Factfinder (U.S. Census Bureau).  Interactive database used to find population, housing, industry and business statistics from the U.S. Census.. Allows users to compile census data into tables, maps and downloadable files.

CEIC Global. Database of over 400,000 time series covering countries in Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Includes National Accounts, Industries, Construction, Labor, Foreign Trade, Stock Markets, Banking, Inflation, Monetary, Forex, Investment, and more.

Center for Systemic Peace (Polity IV). Sponsor of the Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research (INSCR) which has data on armed conflict and interventions, political regime characteristics, armed conflict, state fragility,  and much more. 

CQ Voting and Elections Collection. Documents and data, background information and definitions, and historical material on elections and the electoral process in America. A data set of voting/election statistics is available. 

Data Planet. Access to data points from local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, variable of interest, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps. 

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports. Indexes studies that provide analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environments in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports

Global Financial Data (GFD). Contains long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) and macroeconomic trends for over 150 countries: financials, interest rates, exchange rates and more.  Includes online encyclopedias that describe each dataset.

International Financial Statistics (IFS). From the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Includes data on exchange and interest rates, balance of payments, government finance, national accounts, prices, foreign reserves, and more.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Consortium of institutions working to acquire and preserve social science data. Maintained at University of Michigan.  

The Macro Data Guide.  Amazing and close to comprehensive guide to macro data broken down by country and topic.  Includes the following subcategories for politics.

OECD iLibrary.  Publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, reports, and datasets. Includes data for international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories.

Proquest Statistical Insight. Provides access to indexing and statistical tables from three key sources with tables and links to many full text documents from 1994-present.

PRS Group Country Data. Political risk data for 140 countrie from 1980, as well as macroeconomic data and Political Risk Services (PRS) forecasting on bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, and other metrics.

RAND State Statistics.  Statistics from all 50 states on business & economics; population and demographics; education; community; health & socioeconomic; government finance; census; politics & public opinion.

Statistical Abstract of the United States.  Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States as well as selected international data.  Earlier versions of the Statistical Abstract from 1878 to 2012 are available on the U.S Census Bureau's web site. 

VoteWorld. From the UC Berkeley Institute for Governmental Studies, London School of Economics, and the Université Libre de Bruxelles. Data from the European Parliament and US Congress.

Votes in the UN General Assembly. UN General Assembly votes from 1946-2005, from Eric Voeten, George Washington University. Please make an appointment in the library data lab for assistance if needed for this.

World Bank Open Data. Amazing collection of free global data on multiple topics, from the World Bank. The World Development Indicators Database is the best place to start among the many products featured.  

Polling Data

Field Poll.  An independent, non-partisan, media-sponsored public opinion news service. Each year the poll covers a wide range of political and social topics examining California public opinion.

Odum Archive Dataverse. A repository for all Louis Harris public opinion data and Roper Center nonproprietary poll data. A catalog of more than 2800 studies and series in its data holdings arranged by title, principal investigator, and subject.

Polling the Nations.  A compilation of public opinion polls and surveys from more than 6,500 national, state, local and special surveys in the U.S. and over 60 other countries. The surveys date from 1986 and contain information on over 3,000 social, political and economic issues

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.  Domestic and international survey data. The Center's Public Opinion Location Library (iPOLL) gives online access to a database including poll questions asked in US from 1936 to present.

Data Visualization Tools

Datamasher. Mashups of government data about states. Helps citizens see how states compare on important issues. Users can combine different data sets in interesting ways and create custom rankings by state.

Census CD neighborhood change database. (Geolytics). Contains nation-wide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 and 2010 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data iwith variables and boundaries consistently defined across census years.

Gapminder. Non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. Access and cross-tabulate 200 statistical time series. 

Google Public Data Explorer.  Makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. Includes visualizations for data from the World Bank, OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and more.

Many Eyes. Enables users to upload data for visualization and employ tools to generate interactive displays. Includes thousands of user-generated and public domain data visualizations (not all of which are reliable). From IBM.

National Historical Geographic Information System, Contains aggregare U.S. census data and GIS boundary files for each census from 1790 to 2000.

OECD Factbook eXplorer. interactive tool for analysing the OECD country statistical profiles for a variety of major economic, social and environmental indicators.

PolicyMap. US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels: data on demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate, income, jobs, education, crime, and health.

SimplyMap. Requires user registration. Enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and other data.

Social Explorer. Current and historical census data and other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and  demographic and social change

The Library's Data Lab

Library Data Lab can help you locate, retrieve, and use numeric data.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.