Skip to main content

ISF Inequality Studies: Academic Research

Scholarly Article Databases

Databases are tools to search for articles on topics of your choice.  Most of these articles will be secondary sources: a work that interprets or analyzes an event or phenomenon.  It is generally at least one step removed from the event and is often based on primary sources.  Below are selected databases indexing the literature (books, articles, reports, government documents, etc) of poverty intervention.


ABSEES Online Database. Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, selected government publications, and online resources published in the US and Canada on East and Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union.

Africa-Wide NiPAD. A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. Combines the databases previously known as African Studies and South African Studies.

Anthropology Plus. Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. This database combines the resources of Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS). Over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.

Elsevier Geography.  Indexes over 2000 journals, monographs, books, conference proceedings, and theses covering the international literature in human geography, as well as international development issues.

Handbook of Latin American Studies. Indexes books, journals and proceedings to create an annual bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, alternating between focusing on the humanities and the social sciences.

Index Islamicus. Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Indexes over 3000 journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries. More than 70 languages are represented, with 30% percent of records published in languages other than English. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available. 

PolicyFile. Index to public policy in the areas of economics, politics, the environment, and social issues, taken from reports from a wide range of think tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.

Sociological Abstracts. Indexes over 1,900 journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.(Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online). Indexes journals, books, policy briefs, working papers, and conference proceedings from research institutes worldwide related to international affairs analysis and advocacy materials. Also includes links to international affairs Internet sources.

EconLit. Comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). Most citations include a searchable abstract

PAIS International and PAIS Archive. Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only. (Search allCSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research. A free bibliographic database on economics. Offering citations to thousands of full-text working papers, books and book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals.

Urban Studies and Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection. Includes 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers  Economic Development, Planning Practice and Theory, Policy Analysis, Political Science, Public Administration, Regional Geography, Residential and Community Development, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Urban Policy, and Welfare Economics.

Web of Science. Indexes over 8,000 of the leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, providing searching of footnoted citations. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Creating Alerts and Creating an RSS Feed.

Women's Studies International. Indexes books, journals, magazines, and other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy. (Search all style="outline: 0px;">CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)

Where's the PDF?

Many article databases contain information about articles (citations or abstracts), not the entire text of the article.  Once you've used an article database to find articles on your topic, you may need to use this button:uc-eLinks button in order to locate and read the full text of the article. The UC-eLinks button appears in nearly all the databases available from the UCB Library website.

UC-eLinks will link you to the online full text of an article if UCB has paid for online access; otherwise, UC-eLinks will help you locate a print copy on the shelf in the library. If UCB doesn't own the article in print or online format, UC-eLinks can also help you order a copy from another library.

For more information, watch this video tutorial (about 4 min.)

You can also set up UC-eLinks to work with Google Scholar.  For more information, watch this 40-second demo.

Journals in the field

The following is a selection of highly cited journals in the fields of poverty and development.  If looking for articles to support your research try a combined keyword and journal title(s) search in one of the databases listed above. The following entries link directly to the ejournal if all content is online, and to Oskicat if some issues are print only or on multiple platforms.

World Development. Examines solutions to poverty, unemployment, malnutrition, disease, lack of shelter, environmental degradation, debt, gender, ethnic discrimination, civil conflict, and lack of participation in economic and political life.

The Lancet.  One of the world's best known general medical journals, publishing original research,  editorials, book reviews, correspondence,  and news on all aspects of human health, Includes social, economic and political commentary on public health issues, poverty, development, and epidemics.

Journal of Development Studies.  Oldest journal in the field of development studies, publishing interdisciplinary articles on development relating to economics, politics, public policy, and practice. 

Oxford Development Studies.  Provides a forum for critical analysis of conventional theories and policy issues in all aspects of development, including economics, history, politics, anthropology, and sociology. 

Development Policy Review. Covers poverty-reduction strategies, inequality and social exclusion, property rights, sustainable livelihoods, globalisation in trade and finance, and the reform of global governance. Edited by the Overseas Development Institute.

Studies in Comparative International Development.  Addresses political, social, economic, and environmental change, including political institutions, economic growth and income distribution, and the transformation of social structure and culture.

Development and Change.  Interdisciplinary journal known for publishing unconventional analyses in the field of development studies and social change, covering a range of topics from all persuasions concerned with development. 

Journal of International Development.  Research on development issues in economics, politics, international relations, sociology, anthropology, and development studies, focusing on transitional and underdeveloped areas. 

Development.   "Provides dialogue between activists and intellectuals committed to the search for alternative paths of social transformation towards a more sustainable and just world."  From the Society for International Development. 

Third World Quarterly. Examines emerging issues affecting the developing world beyond strict “development studies,” providing analysis of grassroot efforts of development practitioners and planners across Africa, Asia, Latin American and the Middle East.

Some other journals in the field.

Sustainable Development.
European Journal of Development Research.  
Public Administration and Development.
Development in Practice.
Journal of Peasant Studies.
Progress in Development Studies.
African Development Review.
Gender and Development.
Enterprise Development and Microfinance.
Canadian Journal of Development Studies.
IDS Bulletin.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.