Technical Reports: Finding Technical Reports

What is a technical report?

Technical reports describe the progress or results of scientific or technical research and development. They serve as a report of accountability to the funding organizations, usually the federal government or private industry.

Both categories may include national or international reports by university departments, institutes, private industry, or government agencies and laboratories. Publication and dissemination of technical reports is not centrally coordinated; therefore, they can be particularly difficult to identify and locate.

Finding technical reports

The Engineering Library has more than 730,000 uncataloged technical reports dating back to the 1940s. Reports are in three formats: paper, microfiche and microcards; the collection is located on the lower level of the Engineering Library (southeast corner).

The technical report number is the most important piece of information in finding a technical report. First, search the OskiCat to see if there is a record with the report number. If not, search the National Technical Reports Library (NTRL), the government technical report database.

Use Technical Report Databases to find reports on a topic and bring the report numbers to the Engineering Library to locate them.

Full-text reports are available directly from many government agencies. Use the agencies' databases links from Technical Report Databases to find them.

 

UC Berkeley Technical Reports

Earthquake Engineering Research Center Reports 
The Earthquake Engineering Online Archive is a database of significant, publicly-funded research and development literature, photographs, data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering. Full text for UCB faculty, students, staff, and EERC members.

EECS Technical Reports 
Also includes the full text for most Computer Science Department (CSD) Technical Reports (TK7885.A1.R46) and abstracts for Electronic Research Laboratory (ERL) Technical Memoranda (TK7800.C32b). The Library supports the permanent archive of the EECS Technical Reports.

Institute of Transportation Studies Reports 
Indexes ITS Research Reports, Working Papers, and Dissertations; Path Research Reports and Working Papers. Some full text.

International Computer Science Institute 
1987–present

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Publications 
1940–present 
Public repository of Berkeley Lab Scientific Publications.

Statistics Technical Reports
1981–present. Archive of full-text technical reports from the Department of Statistics.

Copyright © 2014 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.