This is a general subject guide for graduate students or undergraduate students in upper division who are enrolled in the Chinese studies program, or for those who take classes and/or have research interest on pre- 1949 China (especially Sinology).
Developed by the Chinese Buddhist Electronic Text Association (CBETA), the website provides free browsing and downloading of a digital collection of Buddhist texts, including most editions of the Tripitaka. Registration might be necessary for better access.
A collection of traditional and excavated ancient Chinese texts. It includes five full-text databases: 1. Oracular inscriptions on tortoise shells and bones; 2. Bronze inscriptions; 3. Excavated texts on silk books and bamboo slips; 4. Traditional texts from Pre-Qin to the end of the Han dynasty (pre-220 A.D.) Traditional Chinese texts; 5. Traditional Chinese texts of Wei Jin and Northern and Southern Dynasties (220-589 A.D.). To use this resource click on the ""For IP User Only"" button on the login page. Access through MS Windows is preferred.
Five full-text databases: 1. Oracular Inscriptions on Tortoise Shells and Bones; 2. Bronze Inscriptions; 3. Excavated Wood/Bamboo and Silk Scripts; 4. The Entire Body of Extant Han and Pre-Han (pre-220 A.D.) Traditional Chinese Texts; 5. Traditional Chinese Texts of Wei Jin and Northern and Southern Dynasties (220-589 A.D.).
On the first screen, click the ""For IP User Only"" button. Requires Microsoft Windows 2000/XP or above and Internet Explorer 6.0 or above.
It is the database that has the most comprehensive coverage of Chinese Classics. Only user can access it at one time. The old Chinese gazetteer database can also be accessed from the same interface. Use traditional characters to search.
This is the digital version of 古今图书集成, the most comprehensive encyclopedia compiled in late imperial China by 陈梦雷(1650-1741). The 10,000 juan work also has a separate 40 juan catalogue. It is divided into 6 sub-collections and 32 categories (6编32典). The database can only be searched with traditional Chinese characters.
This project is a web-based e-text system designed to present ancient Chinese texts, particularly those relating to Chinese philosophy in a well-structured and properly cross-referenced manner. It uses the electronic medium to aid in the study and understanding of these texts.
This database was developed by the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica in Taiwan. It comprises more than 688 titles of classic Chinese works. Users can browse subjects and titles using the traditional Chinese classification system. It is freely accessible.
This is an aggregated website that is composed of several important databases of digitized Chinese classic texts, mostly in history and literature. Most of the sources are freely available, though users need to apply for access to use some databases.
The full text database is based on a large set of print books, 595 titles that were originally published between 1957 and 1972. It includes local histories, official documents of the Ming, Qing and Nan Ming Dynasties. Also included are poems and private collections.
The project was a cooperative effort between Academia Sinica of Taiwan and Korea (South) Committee for the Compilation of National History. It is fulltext searchable in 明實錄 朝鮮王朝實錄 清實錄.
This is a free online full text of Quan Song wen, edited by Yan Kejun. You can browse all the 64 juan and also can do full-text search within each juan.
This is the freely accessible database that was developed by the Institute of Taiwan History, Academia Sinica. 311 titles can be browsed and full-text searchable.
Note: This resource allows for two simultaneous users. If you are having trouble accessing the content, please try again another time.
The Song Tomb Inscriptions Database《宋代墓誌銘数据库》currently includes about 6,400 items, more items will be added in the future. [960-1270]
The texts have been collated from various sources including the Quan Song wen《全宋文》, unearthed epitaphs in recent years, and private rubbing collections. Sources are provided for each epitaph. Wherever available, high quality images of rubbings of original epitaphs have been added to the database and can be viewed side by side with the text. The database is full text searchable.
This database contains rubbing images made from 2,466 Stele Inscriptions collected from Han to the Six Dynasties (206BC – 589). [206B.C. to 589]
Punctuation and annotations were inserted to help understand the texts. It is full-text searchable as well as browsable by dynasty. An online Calendar Conversion tool is available for easy reference from dynasty to years. An important primary source for research on Chinese history.
The Tang Tomb Inscriptions Database contains about 12,500 tomb inscriptions from the Tang Dynasty, Sui Dynasty and Wu Dai time period. The database is full-text searchable. [581-960] Note: This resource is limited to one user. Please try again later if refused.
If available and permitted by the collectors, high quality images of the rubbings were added to the database and can be viewed side by side with the text. This resource allows for one simultaneous user only. If you are having trouble accessing the content, please try again another time.
Compiled by edict of Emperor Qianlong, the Siku Quanshu (Complete Library of Four Treasures) is a compendium of 3,000 years of Chinese knowledge, including literature, history, medicine, science and technology, diplomacy, philosophy, linguistics and so much more.
This database contains rubbing images made from 2,466 Stele Inscriptions collected from Han to the Six Dynasties (206BC – 589). [206B.C. to 589]
Punctuation and annotations were inserted to help understand the texts. It is full-text searchable as well as browsable by dynasty. An online Calendar Conversion tool is available for easy reference from dynasty to years. An important primary source for research on Chinese history.
A collection of more than 1,200 well-known Chinese classics edited and punctuated by Zhonghua Book Company. [Pre-1911]
The database is searchable in full-text by both simplified and traditional characters. Other features include comparison between text version and image version, variant versions of people's names, places and titles can be retrieved simultaneously.
This is a cooperative project with contributions from many libraries in China and the west. There are many volumes of ancient Chinese books and books published in the Republican Period in this collection. You have to register first to have access to this database. This might be difficult for users from institutions that are not current contributors, such as Berkeley.
This online digital archive of Ming Qing Women's Writings currently contains digitized images of 161 collections of writings by women that are in the holdings of participating libraries (Harvard Yenching Library, Peking University Library, Sun Yat-sen University Library, National Library of China, East China Normal University Library). More than 200 collections in the National Library of China are being digitized and will be added to the digital archive in the next two years.
This is the digital collection of the Harvard Yenching Library's rare books. About 1,439 titles can be viewed online from the Harvard-Yenching library's OPAC.
The database includes more than 120, 000 Chinese books published in Mainland China during the period of 1840-1949. Many of them are unique titles and only available through this digital collection from the Shanghai Library. [1840 - 1949].
A platform dedicated to searching Chinese academic materials in book, journal article, conference paper and dissertation formats. Full-text materials can be obtained through a online document delivery service.
Searches over three millions of academic books, journal articles, conference proceedings, newspapers and videos in Chinese. It provides bibliographic information for all materials contained and online document delivery service for full-text book chapters and journal articles. In Chinese.
The database contains over 16,000 genealogies on the Chinese diaspora for academic and genealogy research. Full-text genealogies and other biographical resources can be viewed online, but not downloadable.
It is a digital program of the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica of Taiwan. The rare books held in the Institute can be downloaded and viewed.
The database was developed and maintained by the Institute of Oriental Culture, University of Tokyo. It provides access to 4,109 Chinese rare books in PDF format.
This is another database developed by the Institute of Oriental Culture, University of Tokyo. It includes about 550 titles (3,000 volumes) of Chinese classic dramas and fictional works.
A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. (Hathi Trust)
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Internet Archive searches and displays the full-text of books and other texts on many subjects, mostly published before 1923. This archive was created in part by the Open Content Alliance, which includes the University of California. All materials are in the public domain. Numerous titles about China, in both English and Chinese languages are available through the database.
Ebook platform with access to hundreds academic publishers. The individual ebooks in this collection are also listed in UC Library Search.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.
